Databases by Subject

Databases by Subject

sort descending
Academic Search Premier An all-purpose academic database that is a good starting point for many topics More Info
Alt HealthWatch A full-text database related to complementary and alternative approaches to health More Info
AMED Indexes publications related to alternative and complementary medicine, mostly European More Info
America: History and Life An index to publications about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present More Info
American Chemical Society Journals Full-text chemistry journals More Info
ArchiveGrid Search detailed descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide More Info
Art Full Text Indexes art publications from around the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes Art Index Retrospective, providing indexing back to 1929. More Info
ArticleFirst Multidisciplinary index of articles from the contents pages of more than 16,000 journals More Info
ARTstor A digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences More Info
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials The premier index to journal articles and other publications in scholarly fields of religion More Info
Berg Fashion Library Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. More Info
BioOne An archive of full-text, high-impact bioscience journals and other scholarly material focusing on the fields of organismal and integrative biology, ecology, and environmental science. More Info
Book Review Index Online Plus A comprehensive guide to book reviews from thousands of publications More Info
Books in Print Search for books, e-books, audio books and video titles currently available or about to be published in the U.S. or internationally. Includes reviews, tables of contents, full-text previews, author biographies, awards information, and more. Use the Complete Connection feature to find books that are similar to other titles you have enjoyed reading. More Info
Britannica Online Browse or search more than 100,000 articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica More Info
British Writers Series In-depth critical and biographical analysis for writers who have made significant contributions to British, Irish, and Commonwealth literature from the 14th century to the present day. More Info
Business Insights: Global A unique source for international business intelligence, offering in-depth industry reports, statistical data sets, and economic information by country, as well as the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. More Info
Business Source Premier A good place to start for most business research topics. Covers all areas of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more More Info
CAIRSS for Music An index to research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. More Info
Cambridge Histories Online Online access to more than 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series, providing scholarly coverage of many academic subjects More Info
CAMIO Search and view images of art works in museums around the world More Info
Canadian Music Periodical Index Indexes 630 Canadian music journals, newsletters, and magazines from the late-19th century to the present day More Info
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index An index to articles about all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle More Info
Childrens Literature Comprehensive Database An online catalog of children's books with full-text book reviews More Info
Childrens Literature Review Biographical and critical essays for hundreds of writers and illustrators for children and young adults More Info
Choice Reviews Online Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More Info
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Indexes nursing journals and the primary journals from 17 allied health disciplines, including occupational therapy and physical therapy More Info
Clase and Periódica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities More Info
Classical Music Library An ever-growing database of classical music recordings supplemented by thousands of program notes, biographies, and images More Info
Cochrane Library A database for locating evidence-based information on the effects of health care More Info
Communication and Mass Media Complete Search for articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and related fields More Info
Computer Database An index to trade journals, industry newsletters, and platform-specific publications covering the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries More Info
Consumer Health Complete Consumer-oriented health information More Info
Contemporary Authors Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information about U.S. and international authors More Info
CQ Researcher Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in U.S. and world news from Congressional Quarterly More Info
Credo Reference A digital reference library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations, and subject-specific titles, covering many subjects, all from leading publishers. More Info
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. More Info
DSM-5 The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, abbreviated as DSM-5, is a standard reference for clinical practice in mental health. It provides a classification of mental disorders to facilitate reliable diagnosis. More Info
EBSCO eBook Collection A collection of more than 12,500 electronic books, including scholarly monographs, reference materials, and more. Formerly known as NetLibrary. More Info
EBSCO MegaFILE A huge multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 16,000 publications More Info
Educators Reference Complete A collection of full-text articles from more than 700 academic journals, plus full-text reports and reference sources More Info
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences Updated to 3rd edition. Contains articles providing overviews of many topics in library and information science. International in scope. More Info
ERIC Indexes journal articles and documents in education and related fields. Please note: ERIC has temporarily disabled access to many full-text documents. More Info
Expanded Academic ASAP A multidisciplinary database; a good starting point for many academic research topics More Info
FASB Accounting Standards Codification PASSWORD REQUIRED The authoritative source for generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) recognized by the Financial Accounting Standards Board to be applied to nongovernmental entities. PLEASE NOTE: Only one person can use FASB at a time. Please be sure to select log out when you are done using it. More Info
FSTA Food Science and Technology Abstracts An index to publications in food science, food technology, and human nutrition. Please note: Only one person can use FSTA at a time. Please be sure to select Logoff when you are done working in FSTA. More Info
Gale Virtual Reference Library A database of encyclopedias and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research. More Info
Gallaudet University Index to Deaf Periodicals A retrospective index to articles in selected deaf-related journals, covering the years 1847-1998 More Info
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music A comprehensive online resource devoted to the music of all the world's peoples. More Info
General OneFile An all-purpose database covering a wide range of subjects, providing access to more than 7,000 scholarly and popular full-text journals More Info
General Reference Center Gold A multidisciplinary database indexing mostly popular or general interest magazines such as you might find in a public library More Info
Google Scholar An Internet search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports More Info
GPO Monthly Catalog An index to U.S. government publications More Info
GreenFILE Indexes information about environmental concerns; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. More Info
Grove Music Online A comprehensive, scholarly music encyclopedia featuring The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and other standard music reference works More Info
Guide to Reference A selective guide to the best reference sources, both print and web-based, organized by academic discipline More Info
HaPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments An index to journal articles about tests and measures in health, behavioral sciences, social work, and other fields More Info
Health and Wellness Resource Center Medical, health, and nutrition information from journals, magazines, and reference books. Includes Alternative Health Module. More Info
Health Reference Center Academic A general health sciences database, with coverage of nursing and allied health More Info
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition More than 400 full-text journals from many medical disciplines More Info
Historical Abstracts The leading bibliography for the history of the world from 1450 to the present More Info
Informe Académico A collection of hispanic magazines with full text, related to topics such as business, health, technology, and culture More Info
Issues and Controversies Explore the pros and cons of hot topics in politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. More Info
Journal of Economic Literature via JSTOR Provides full text of the journal from 1969 up to three years ago More Info
JSTOR An archive of scholarly full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences More Info
JSTOR (including Biological Sciences Collection) An archive of scholarly full-text journals, including the Biological Sciences Collection, which covers biodiversity, cell biology, conservation, paleontology, plant science, zoology, and more. Search tip: On the search screen, try scrolling down and selecting a particular subject area(s), such as Botany & Plant Sciences or Zoology. More Info
JSTOR Global Plants (trial access expires soon) An online environment that brings together content (including plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials), tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides an easy to use interface with powerful functionality that supports research and teaching in botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies. More Info
LegalTrac Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals More Info
LexisNexis Academic Provides the full text of many news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. More Info
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Indexes key library and information science publications with some full text More Info
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Indexes a wealth of publications related to librarianship, online information retrieval, information management, the information industry, electronic publishing, and related topics More Info
Literature Resource Center A current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works More Info
Magill Literary Annual (Salem Literature) Evaluates recent works of fiction and nonfiction across many subjects, genres, and countries. More Info
MasterFILE Premier A multidisciplinary database designed specifically for public libraries More Info
McGraw-Hill Professional eBook Library A collection of McGraw-Hill ebooks in the area of Primary Care More Info
MEDLINE via EBSCO Premier bibliographic database covering all fields of medicine and medical research More Info
MEDLINE via PubMed MEDLINE as provided by the National Library of Medicine More Info
Micromedex REQUIRES LOGIN. This resource provides evidence-based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine that assists in making informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. Note: This resource is for faculty and students enrolled in health sciences programs only. Please select "log out" at the end of your session before closing your browser. More Info
Minnesota Legal Periodical Index (MLPI) A subject index to legal publications from Minnesota publishers More Info
MLA International Bibliography An index to scholarly research in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore produced by the Modern Language Association of America More Info
Music Index An index to more than 700 international music periodicals More Info
NAMTA Montessori Bibliography and Research Guide [password required] A comprehensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources in English concerning Montessori education More Info
National Newspaper Index An index to five top U.S. newspapers More Info
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Provides evidence-based information about natural products (herbs and other supplements) used for various medical conditions. More Info
New Testament Abstracts A bibliography of journal articles and books related to the New Testament and its historical milieu More Info
New York Times via LexisNexis Academic Full text, 1991-present More Info
New York Times via ProQuest Newspapers Full text, 1980-present More Info
NTID Deaf Index An index to articles and other information about interpreting, sign language, deaf studies, deaf history, and related topics. Produced by the National Technical Institute for the Deaf More Info
Nursing Education in Video A collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Includes anatomy and physiology, clinical skills, patient interactions, and more. More Info
OAIster Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections More Info
OCLC Electronic Books Catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide More Info
OED Online Online version of The Oxford English Dictionary, the authoritative guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, from across the English-speaking world More Info
Old Testament Abstracts Indexes journal articles and other publications related to Old Testament studies, covering topics such as archaeology, biblical theology, philology and more More Info
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ODLIS) Defines terms in library and information science, as well as some terms in publishing, printing, book history, and computer science More Info
OT Search The catalog for the American Occupational Therapy Association, covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas. More Info
Oxford Art Online A comprehensive, scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art from prehistory to the present day More Info
Oxford Reference Full-text dictionaries and other reference books in many subject areas from Oxford University Press More Info
PAIS International Indexes publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries More Info
Philosopher's Index An index to journals in philosophy and related fields, covering topics such as ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and logic More Info
PILOTS Database An index to literature about post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Provided by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. More Info
Points of View Reference Center Full-text essays that present multiple sides of a current issue More Info
Professional Development Collection A collection of full text articles from more than 700 periodicals for professional educators More Info
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Search for dissertations and theses from universities around the world, with more than one million in full text More Info
ProQuest Education Journals Provides more than 1,000 leading full-text journals in education and related fields More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Early Minnesota newspapers Full-page images of the Minneapolis Tribune for 1867-1908 and Minneapolis Morning Tribune for 1909-1922. An excellent resource for historical research. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Full-page images of the New York Times from 1851-2009. Very useful for historical research. More Info
ProQuest Newspapers Full text of hundreds of U.S. and international news sources, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post More Info
PsychiatryOnline An online library of books and journals related to psychology and psychiatry from the American Psychiatric Association. Covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-5). More Info
PsycINFO The premier database for psychology research, this resource is the online version of Psychological Abstracts. It includes PsycARTICLES full text journals More Info
PubMed MEDLINE as provided by the National Library of Medicine More Info
Reference Universe A discovery service for information contained in both e-books and print reference books owned by the St. Kate's library. Quickly searches the tables of contents and indexes for thousands of reference books and directs you to the right book, right volume, and even the right page! More Info
Regional Business News Provides full-text coverage of regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas across the United States More Info
Registry of Nursing Research Published and unpublished research studies in nursing More Info
Resources for College Libraries Resources for College Libraries lists essential titles, both print and electronic, that are considered essential for undergraduate study. More Info
SAGE Journals Online (SAGE Premier) More than 700 scholarly e-journals from many fields, including business, health sciences, social sciences, and more More Info
SAGE Knowledge A collection of more than 170 specialized encyclopedias and handbooks. Particularly strong in the social sciences, medicine, and the environment. More Info
Saint Paul Pioneer Press via ProQuest Newspapers Full text from Apr. 2010-present More Info
ScienceDirect More than 2,000 full-text journals, mostly from scientific, medical, and technical fields More Info
SciFinder A research discovery tool for literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, and more. First-time users are required to set up a personal account. More Info
SMART Imagebase A comprehensive collection of downloadable medical illustrations, animations, and interactive multimedia for 26 body systems/regions and 19 medical specialties. More Info
Smithsonian Global Sound This streaming audio database is an archive of music from many of the world's cultures as preserved by Smithsonian Folkways and other record labels. More Info
Social Work Abstracts An index to journals in social work and related fields More Info
SocINDEX with Full Text A comprehensive social sciences research database with strong coverage of sociology, anthropology, education, and social work More Info
Something About the Author Online Read about the lives and works of authors and illustrators of literature for children and young adults. Includes full page images of the entire run of Something About the Author back to volume 1. More Info
SPORTDiscus Definitive research tool for all areas of exercise, sport science, and sports medicine More Info
Standard and Poor NetAdvantage Industry-leading research on companies, industries, stocks, bonds, funds, and the economy More Info
Star Tribune via LexisNexis Academic Full text from 1991-present More Info
Star Tribune via ProQuest Newspapers Full text from 1986-present More Info
Statistical Abstract of the United States Online Edition (ProQuest) A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. More Info
Ulrichsweb Ulrichsweb is source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. More Info
UpToDate [login required] An evidence-based, peer-reviewed medical information resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. More Info
Value Line Research Center Information about stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities More Info
VAST: Academic Video Online VAST is a multi-disciplinary video archive. More Info
Wall Street Journal (Online Edition) Full text from Jan. 2011-present More Info
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Newspapers (Eastern Edition) Full text from 1982-January 2011 More Info
Web of Science Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading citation databases, with authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 of the highest impact research journals in the world, including Open Access journals. More Info
West Encyclopedia of American Law Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. More Info
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 to 2000 An online archive of primary sources related to women's activism More Info
WorldCat The world's most comprehensive bibliography of books and other materials from libraries around the world More Info
WWD Archive WWD.com features daily headlines and breaking news from all Women's Wear Daily publications, providing comprehensive coverage of fashion, beauty and retail news. More Info