|

| |
Quick Guide to APA Citation Style
All entries should be DOUBLE SPACED with a HANGING INDENT
Journal, magazine and newspaper articles
| General form |
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (2007). Title of the article. Title of Periodical, x(x), xxx-xxx. |
| Journal article, one author |
Kim, E. A. (2007). Evaluation of three fall-risk assessment tools in an acute
care setting. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 60(4), 427-435. |
| |
In-text citation: … based on Kim (2007). or …other research (Kim, 2007). |
| Journal article, two authors |
Sands, L., & Shaevitz, B. (2007). Kale in every pot. Orion,26(4), 12. |
| |
In-text citation: (Sands & Shaevitz, 2007). or According to Sands and Shaevitz (2007),… |
Journal article, three to five authors |
Geller, L. A., Schrader, K., & Nansel, T. R. (2007). Healthy eating practices: Perceptions,
facilitators, and barriers among youth with diabetes. Diabetes Educator, 33(4), 671-679. |
| |
In-text citation: (Geller, Schrader, & Nansel, 2007). or Research by Geller, Schrader and Nansel (2007)… |
| |
Note: After the first time the citation is used, shorten to first author’s name and et al. Example: Geller et al. (2007). |
| Journal article, six authors |
Follow the general form, including all six authors in the reference list citation. |
| |
In-text citation: Firstauthor et al. (year). (Use this form each time it is used in the paper) |
| |
Note: For more than six authors, use et al. following the sixth author’s name and initial.
Follow examples under Books, more than six authors. |
| Magazine article |
Padgett, T. (2007, July 16). Gay family values. Time,170, 51-52. |
| |
In-text citation: …other people (Padgett, 2007). or …research by Padgett (2007). |
| Daily newspaper, no author |
Driving + talking = drain on brain? (2001, July 31). Star Tribune, pp. A1, A9. |
| |
Note: Use author if provided. If no author, move the article title to the first position and alphabetize in the reference list by the first word. Give all page numbers, separated by a comma, on which article appears. |
| |
In-text citation: (“Driving,” 2001). or According to “Driving + talking” (2001)... |
| Review of a book or motion picture |
Blake, R. A. (2004). Lovers in the ruins [Review of the motion picture Cold
Mountain]. America, 190, 22. |
| |
Note: If the review has no title, simply remove the brackets, as below: |
| |
|
Elliot, P. (2004). Review of the book Music library instruction. Journal of
Academic Librarianship, 30, 508-509. |
Books and reference books
| General form |
Author, A. A. (2006). Title of the book. Location: Publisher Press. |
| One author |
Dillard, A. (1974). Pilgrim of truth. New York: Harper and Row. |
| |
In-text citation: …of learning (Dillard, 1974). or ...according to a study by Dillard (1974) the… |
| Two authors |
Kerrigan, W., & Braden, G. K., Jr. (1989). The idea of progress. Chicago: Avalon Press. |
| |
In-text citation: (Kerrigan & Braden, 1989). or …Kerrigan and Braden (1989) … |
| Three to five authors |
Follow the general form, including the names of all authors. |
| |
In-text citation: Cite the surnames of all authors the first time the reference occurs in your paper.
In subsequent citations, use only the first author followed by et al. and the year. |
| |
|
Examples: Rott, Rickert, Newsome and Humeston (2005) reported … (Use as first citation in text)
Rott et al. (2005) found substantial evidence… (Next time citation is used)
Rott et al. also concluded… (Omit year from next citation if it is within the same paragraph) |
| Six authors |
Follow the general form, including the names of all six authors. |
| |
In-text citation: Firstauthor et al. (year). (Use this form each time it is used in the paper) |
| Seven or more authors |
Conway, R., Frederick, C. L., Abbott, D. E., Jr., Young, P., Taylor, L. M.,
Weiss, K., et al. (2001). The complexity of forests. New York: Dover. |
| |
Note: Following the sixth author’s name and initial, use et al. |
| |
In-text citation: (Conway et al., 2001). or Conway et al. (2001) find… |
| Edited books |
Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. N. (Eds.). (1998). Children of color: Psychological
interventions with minority youth (2nd ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. |
| |
In-text citation: (Gibbs & Huang, 1998). or Gibbs and Huang (1998) contend… |
| No author or editor |
Webster’s new explorer dictionary and thesaurus (2nd ed.). (1999). Springfield, MA:
Merriam-Webster. |
| |
Note: alphabetize in the reference list by the first word, Webster’s |
| |
In-text citation: (Webster’s new explorer dictionary and thesaurus, 1993).
You may also shorten the name: … according to Webster’s (1993)… |
| Articles in edited books |
Rose, P. (1987). Modernism: The case of Willa Cather. In H. Bloom (Ed.), American fiction
1914 to 1945 (pp. 123-197). New York: Chelsea House. |
| |
In-text citation: (Rose, 1987). or …Rose (1987) contends that… |
| Signed entry in encyclopedia |
Smith, T. (1991). Drug addiction. In The encyclopedia Americana
(Vol. 4, pp. 16-21). New York: Grolier. |
| |
In-text citation: (Smith, 1991). or Smith (1991) writes that… |
| Unsigned entry in a reference book |
Leary, Timothy (1920-1996). (1997). In N. A. Hamilton (Ed.), The ABC-CLIO companion
to the 1960s counterculture in America (pp. 178-182). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. |
| |
In-text citation: …about Timothy Leary’s beliefs (“Leary,” 1997). |
Brochures and pamphlets with a corporate author
Cite brochures, manuals, reports and pamphlets the same as a book.
| General form |
Name of Organization. (2007). Title of work. Location: Publisher. |
| |
Carmen Pampa Fund. (2007). Carmen Pampa Fund 2006 annual report.
St. Paul, MN: Author. |
| |
|
Note: When the author and publisher are identical, use the word Author as the publisher. |
| |
In-text citation: (Carmen Pampa Fund, 2007). or ...gave to the Carmen Pampa Fund (2007). |
Personal communications
Examples of personal communications may include personal or telephone interviews, letters, memos, email messages, chat or other types of discussion formats. Personal communications are cited in the text of the paper only (because they are not considered recoverable, they are not included in the reference list). Provide the date as exact as is possible.
| General form (example) |
J.M. Newsome (personal communication, May 28, 2007) expressed concern regarding…. |
| |
…of their lives and their jobs (V.P. DeLuca, personal communication, November 9, 2007). |
Motion pictures and videos
| General form (example) |
Donnelly, L. (Producer), & Raisz, K. (Field Producer/Director). (1994). Toxic racism
[Motion picture]. Boston, MA: WGBH Boston. |
| |
|
Note: APA refers to all movies, DVDs and videos as motion pictures. |
| |
In-text citation: …was clearly shown in the video Toxic racism (Donnelly & Raisz, 1994). |
Citing specific parts of a source
| To cite a specific part of a source, APA requires that the page number be included in the in-text citation. This includes references to specific pages, chapters, figures, tables or equations. (See Section 3.34 of the APA manual for quotations.) |
| Examples: |
… (Edeline & Weinberg, 1991, p. 302). or According to Edeline and Weinberg (1991, p. 302)… |
| |
… (Pepperberg, 1998, chap. 21). or Research by Pepperberg (1998, chap. 21) found… |
Many electronic sources do not provide page numbers (unless they are PDF reproductions of printed material).
If paragraph numbers are visible, use them in place of page numbers. Use the ¶ symbol or the abbreviation para. |
| Examples: |
As Myers (2000, ¶ 5) phrased it . . or …(Jostad, 2001, para. 6). |
| If there are headings in the document and neither paragraph nor page numbers are visible, cite the heading and the number of the paragraph within this section where the information was found. |
| Example: |
(Beutler, 2000, Conclusion section, ¶ 1) |
| |
If neither numbers nor headings are present, it may be necessary to omit a location reference altogether. |
Electronic (Online) Resources
APA no longer requires a retrieval date if the information is unlikely to change (such as a PDF document). Web pages and articles in HTML form are likely to change, therefore the citation should include a retrieval date. (See examples above for multiple authors.)
Another change is the addition of a DOI in citing. DOI is a unique number assigned to articles by publishers. Publishers may prefer a DOI when available. View the updated Style Guide to Electronic Documents (PDF - login required)
Articles from online databases (free and subscription)
| General form (no DOI given) |
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (2005). Title of the article. Title of Periodical, x(xx),
xxx-xxx. Retrieved from xxxxxx database. |
| |
Volek, J. S., VanHeest, J. L., & Forsythe, C. E. (2005). Diet and exercise for weight loss:
A review of current issues. Sports Medicine, 35(1), 126. Retrieved from Academic
Search Premier database. |
| |
Note: Give the page range or simply the beginning page, as provided. |
| |
|
In-text citation: (Volek, VanHeest, & Forsythe, 2005). or
Volek, VanHeest and Forsythe (2005) have also found that… |
| General form (with a DOI) |
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (2005). Title of the article. Title of Periodical, x(xx),
xxx-xxx. doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx |
| |
Roth, L. M. (2000). Effects of caffeine on cognitive, psychomotor, and affective
performance of children with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder.
Journal of Attention Disorders, 4(1), 27-47. doi:10.1177/108705470000400103 |
| |
|
In-text citation: … (Roth, 2000). or Roth (2000) found that… |
| Abstracts from an online database |
Unterhalter, G., Farrell, S., & Mohr, C. (2007). Selective memory biases for words reflecting sex-specific body image concerns. Eating Behaviors, 8(3), 382-38 [Abstract]. Retrieved from PsycINFO database. |
| Online book, dictionary or encyclopedia |
Brophy, J. E. (2004). Motivating students to learn. Retrieved from NetLibrary database. |
| |
Feminism. (2005). Encyclopedia.com. Retrieved February 10, 2007, from http://encyclopedia.com |
| |
|
In-text citation: (“Feminism,” 2005). or According to “Feminism” (2005), the most… |
| |
Moore, Henry (1898-1986). (2005). The concise Oxford dictionary of quotations. Retrieved from Oxford Reference Online database. |
| |
|
In-text citation: …(“Moore,” 2005). or …whereas “Moore” (2005) tells us that… |
| |
Moulakis, A. (2002). Civic humanism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Retrieved October 12, 2007, from http://plato.stanford.edu |
Other Web sites
There is much variation in Websites. Follow the examples as closely as you can. Give the date you accessed (or retrieved) the page and the URL (Web address) unless the document is in a permanent form such as a PDF. To avoid mistyping, we advise that you copy and paste the URL into your paper. If the source gives no copyright or “last updated” date, use (n.d.) -- no date. Do not end the URL with a period, and remove underlines.
| General form |
Author, A. B. (2006). Title of the page. Retrieved month day, year, from http://www.source.html |
| Multipage Web site created by a private organization or company |
National Families in Action. (2004). A guide to drugs and the brain. Retrieved October 4, 2007,
from http://www.nationalfamilies.org |
| |
|
Note: When a site has many pages with multiple extensions, give a URL for the home (or entry) page for the site. |
| Document on university program or department Web site |
Lindsley, C. (2001). Cal Ripken's retirement highlights life-transition issues. Retrieved September 30, 2007, from University of Maryland Medicine Web site: http://www.umm.edu/features/ripken.html |
| Report from an organization, available on the organization’s Web site |
American Academy of Pediatrics. (1994, March). Guidelines on foregoing life-sustaining medical treatment (RE 9406). Retrieved September 9, 2007, from http://www.aap.org/policy/00118.html |
| Daily newspaper article, from the Web site of the newspaper |
Jostad, K. G. (2001, October 13). Helping out: Friends honor teacher by helping kids.
Star Tribune [Minneapolis-St. Paul]. Retrieved October 13, 2006, from http://startribune.com/ |
| Brochure (in PDF form) |
United States Department of Agriculture. (2006). Avian influenza: Protecting the United States [Brochure]. Retrieved from http://www.usda.gov/documents/AvianFluBrochure.pdf |
| Stand-alone document, with no author identified and no date given |
Faculty survey. (n.d.). Retrieved November 15, 2006, from http://faculty.maryvillecollege.edu/library/libreview/faculty_survey.PDF |
| |
In-text citation: …for this group (“Faculty survey,” n.d.). |
| Reference to entire Web site |
When referring to an entire site, give the URL in the text but do not include it in the reference list. |
| |
|
Example: Witchcraft in Europe and America is a Web site that presents the full text of many essential works in the literature of witchcraft and demonology (http://www.witchcraft.psmedia.com/). In contrast… |
| PowerPoint slides |
Sprott, J. C. (n.d.). Is global warming for real? [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from http://sprott.physics.wisc.edu/lectures/warming.ppt |
| |
|
Note: If the PowerPoint was made by your own professor, list him or her as the author. If the slides are on Blackboard, begin as above, then:
Retrieved from the College of St. Catherine Blackboard site: http://blackboard.stkate.edu |
More Help with APA
APAStyle.org Electronic References
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html -- summary and examples
Get help on citing Web sources and other electronic sources.
Bibliography Style Handbook (APA)
http://www.english.uiuc.edu/cws/wworkshop/writer_resources/citation_styles/apa/apa.htm
From the Writers' Workshop at the University of Illinois, this site provide a quick reference source for how to cite works in research papers.
OWL Online Writing Lab: APA
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html
From Purdue, a guide to using the APA style. Includes formatting help and specific citing examples. See also the OWL APA Style Workshop .
|