Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Business Law

This guide is designed to provide an overview of Business Law resources available in the library and on the web. Ask a Reference Librarian if you need help locating these materials.

 


Contents:

Online Databases and Indexes

Web Resources

Reference Books


Online Databases and Indexes

LegalTrac (Gale)      

Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.  

LexisNexis Academic

This database provides information in five areas: News, Business, Legal Research, Medical and Reference. With a few exceptions, all information in the database is full-text. For legal information search using the Legal research form. The database includes articles in law reviews, and newspapers, case law, codes and regulations, international legal materials and patent research. For information on business or companies, use the News or Business tab. Includes helpful guides to researching companies and industries and Edgar (10k) reports.

 

Business Source Premier

Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, indistry research and more. The database also includes other sources of full-text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

 

PAIS    ( Public Affairs Information Service)
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) is a database of international public policy and social issues literature covering issues and actions which affect world communities, countries, and governments.

 

Minnesota Legal Periodical Index

MLPI is a bibliographic database maintained by Minnesota State Law Library staff since 1984. Currently nineteen Minnesota legal publications (nine law reviews published by three law schools, six bar association publications, and four commercial publications) are indexed.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

 


Websites

 

Findlaw   www.findlaw.com

Part of West Group is a source of free legal information.

 

Hieros Gamos      www.hg.org/index.html

Legal and business resources from the U.S. and internationally.

 

Catalaw       www.catalaw.com

Legal resource search engine finds sites on legal topics.

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL)   www.nccusl.org

The National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws has worked for the uniformity of state laws since 1892. It is a non-profit unincorporated association, comprised of state commissions on uniform laws from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)   www.eeoc.gov/index.html

Information on employment discrimination, EEOC regulations etc.

 

OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)  www.osha.gov

 

CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commmission)  www.cpsc.gov

 


Reference books

Black's Law Dictionary. REF KF 156  .B53 1999

Legal Information: How to Find it, How to Use it.  REF KF240 .O365 1999

Oxford companion to American Law   REF KF 154 .O96 2002

West's Encyclopedia of American Law     Online & in print REFKF 154 .W47 yr. -