| |
||||||
|
|
Health Justice: CIL 1400This research guide provides a starting point for finding information about health justice issues. Health justice encompasses a broad range of topics from racial disparities in health care to the medically uninsured to Medicare reform. This guide is not meant to be an exhaustive list of resources, but some places to begin your search. If you need assistance with library research or accessing and using any of these resources, contact a Reference Librarian at the Minneapolis Campus Library at 651-690-7898 or 651-690-7780. See also guides on: Finding Books: Using CLICnetUse CLICnet, the online library catalog, to search for books and media at CSC and the seven other CLIC libraries. Use the red "Request" button to get items not at the CSC Minneapolis Campus Library. Examples of keyword searches: Health and environmental justice Discrimination and medical care Health and race Gender and health equity Check out these titles: Governing health: the politics of health policy RA395 .A3 W45 2006 Health and social justice: politics, ideology, and inequity in the distribution of disease RA418 .H388 20003 Health care politics, policy, and services: a social justice analysis RA395 .A3 A4795 2007 Health policy: crisis and reform in the U.S. health care delivery system RA395 .A3 H42554 2004 Just health: meeting health needs fairly RA394 .D27 2008 Medicine and social justice: essays on the distribution of health care RA445 .M385 2002 Minority populations and health: an introduction to health disparities in the United States RA448.4 .L38 2005 Multicultural medicine and health disparities RA418.5 .T73 M855 2006 Sick: the untold story of America's health care crisis - and the people who pay the price RA395 .A3 C635 2007 Social justice: the moral foundations of public health and health policy RA427.25 .P69 2006 Unequal treatment: confronting racial and ethnic disparities in healthcare RA563 .M56 U53 2003 Finding Journal Articles: Online DatabasesA multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for nearly 4,500 journals. Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news from the Congressional Quarterly. See reports on Medicaid Reform, Women's Health Issues, Rising Health Costs, Covering the Uninsured, Caring for the Elderly, and Prison Health Care. Provides full-text articles from the Minneapolis Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as 300 other newspapers. The "local" paper for Twin Cities Metro East readers. Please ask a Reference Librarian to suggest additional databases that might be useful. To see if the CSC Library has the journal you need, in print or online, use The Periodical Cat. Be sure to compare the issue dates available to those that you need. Internet ResourcesFederal Government websites USA.gov USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services. See links to Department of Health & Human Services, Administration on Aging, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (initiative on Health Disparities and Environmental Justice), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and the Health Resources & Services Administration. National Healthcare Disparities Report, 2006 http://www.ahrq.gov/qual/nhdr06/nhdr06.htm The 2006 National Healthcare Disparities Report tracks disparities in both quality of and access to health care in the United States for both the general population and for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's congressionally designated priority populations. Office of Minority Health http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/AMH/AMH.htm The mission of this division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling the disproportionate burden of disease, injury and disability among racial and ethnic minority populations. Thomas Thomas, a service of the Library of Congress, provides free legislative information, including bills, resolutions, committees, and access to the Congressional Record.
Minnesota websites Minnesota North Star The State of Minnesota's web portal to government information and services. Contains links to the Minnesota Legislature and state agencies such as the Department of Health, and the Department of Human Rights. Eliminating Health Disparities Initiative - Investing in Minnesota's Populations of Color and American Indians (2007 legislative report) http://www.health.state.mn.us/ommh/legislativerpt2007.pdf The third report to the Minnesota Legislature about the 10-year statewide initiative to address and eliminate racial/ethnic health disparities in Minnesota through community wide activities and tribal grants. Health Disparities, Minnesota Department of Health http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/idepc/refugee/topics/disparaties.html Links to information about health disparities and refugee health in Minnesota. Links to the World - Health http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/links/health.asp A list of websites compiled by the librarians at the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library. Covers public health and policy, health insurance, and mental health issues in Minnesota and nationally. Minnesota Health Information: a Guide to Health Care Quality & Cost in Minnesota http://www.minnesotahealthinfo.org/ A clearinghouse of information about the cost and quality of health care in Minnesota. Office of Minority and Multicultural Health, Minnesota Department of Health http://www.health.state.mn.us/ommh/ The mission of the office is to "strengthen the health and wellness of Minnesota's racial/ethnic, cultural, and tribal populations by engaging diverse populations in health systems, mutual learning, and actions essential for achieving health parity and optimal wellness."
Health-related websites Alliance for Health Reform The Alliance is a nonpartisan, nonprofit group that believes that everyone in the U.S. should have health coverage at a reasonable cost. The Center for Health Care Strategies The Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to "improving the quality and cost effectiveness of publicly financed care for people with chronic health needs, the elderly, and racially and ethnically diverse populations." The Center for Studying Health System Change The Center for Studying Health System Change is a nonpartisan policy research organization that "designs and conducts studies focused on the U.S. health care system to inform the thinking and decisions of policy makers in government and private industry." The Commonwealth Fund The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults. Families USA Families USA is a national nonprofit, non-partisan organization dedicated to the achievement of high-quality, affordable health care for all Americans. KaiserEDU.org KaiserEDU.org is a website of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. It is designed to provide access to the latest data, research, analysis, and developments in health policy. Coverage includes: minority health, women's health, the uninsured, prescription drugs, Medicare and Medicaid. See also Statehealthfacts.org which provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states.
|