Spanish/Hispanic Studies

Find resources for research:

For resoruces on Spanish language or literature see our guide or speak with a librarian.


 

Culture and History

Arts and Culture

Artes e Historia México
http://www.arts-history.mx/
Mexican arts and culture. In Spanish.

Encyclopedia of World Art REF N31 .E533 v.13 (See South American Cultures and Spain)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. REF DP233.5 .E63 1999

Native Web
http://www.nativeweb.org/
A resource for and about Indigenous Cultures around the world. Includes Mexico and South America in the Resource Center.

News and Current Events

LANIC: Latin American News Resources
http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/news/
Links to online news sources from Latin American countries. Listed by country. From the University of Texas-Austin.

Spanish Language News
http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/types/flnews/
spanish.html

From MIT Libraries. Links to Spanish language news sources listed alphabetically.

History and People

Biographías y vidas
http://www.biografiasyvidas.com
Spanish language biographies of famous people.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. REF F1406 .E53 1996

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. REF F1406 .C36 1992

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Civil War, 1936-1939. REF DP269 .H54

Dictionary of Literary Biography. REF PS21 .D5
~ v. 82 Chicano writers. 1st ser.
~v.113
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. 1st ser.
~v.117
20th Century Caribbean and Black African Writers. 1st ser.
~v.122
Chicano writers. 2nd ser.
~v.125
20th Century Caribbean and Black African Writers. 2nd ser.
~v.145
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. 2nd ser.
~v.209
Chicano writers. 3rd ser.

Politics and Economic

Federal Research Division Country Studies
http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Online books published by the Federal Research Division on the history, politics, economics, and society of countries throughout the world. Searchable and browsable.

GlobalEDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
History, culture, government, and economy of over 200 countries including Latin American countries and Spain.

South American Handbook. REF F1401 .S71 1998

Statistical Abstract of Latin America. REF HA935 .S8 (multiple volumes)

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Americas. REF G63 W67 2001 v. 3

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Europe. REF G63 W67 2001 v. 5

Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC
http://www.lanic.utexas.edu/
Provides access to Internet-based information on Latin America. From the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin.


 

Latinos and Hispanics in the US

American FactFinder from the US Census
http://factfinder.census.gov/
Use the American FactFinder to compile information about the United States' Hispanic population. For general population overviews, see People and go to Race and Ethnicity.

CENTRO (Centro Cultural Chicano)
http://www.centromn.org
A multifaceted service agency providing social services to the local Latino community for over 24 years. Located in Minneapolis.

Pew Hispanic Center
http://www.pewhispanic.org/
Understanding and chronicling the diverse Hispanic population in the US. Reports on a variety of issues covering demography, economics, education, immigration, health and identity.

Dictionary of Literary Biography. REF PS21 .D5
~ v. 82 Chicano writers. 1st ser.
~v.122
Chicano writers. 2nd ser.
~v.209
Chicano writers. 3rd ser.