Atlas of World Art Ref G
1046 .E1 O9 2004
Uses maps to present art from prehistory through the present, showing how artistic
developments were influenced by location and culture
Bloomsbury
Guide to Art
Available on Credo Reference. Also see Credo's other Art sources.
Critical Terms for Art History
Available on Credo Reference. Contains essays on different themes
in and approaches to art
The Dictionary of Art, 34 vols. Ref N
31 .D5 1996
Comprehensive art encyclopedia, international in scope. It covers all the visual
arts from prehistory to the present, including Western and non-Western art
Encyclopedia of World Art, 16 vols. Ref N
31 .E533
While older than the Dictionary of Art, this set has many color plates
Oxford
Dictionary of Art
Available on Oxford Reference Online. Also see Oxford's other Art & Architecture sources
Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Timeline is "a chronological,
geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the
world"
Voice
of the Shuttle
A web resource for research in the humanities. There are sections on Architecture, Art
(Modern and Contemporary), Art
History, and Photography
Art
History Resources on the Web
ArtSource
BUBL Link:
The Arts
The History of Art
Virtual Library
Intute: Visual
Arts
The
Mother of All Art History Links Pages
Several sites with comprehensive lists of art and art history links
Modern and Contemporary Art | Earlier
Periods | Religious Art | Symbols
in Art
Sculpture | Architecture | Photography
and Graphic Arts
These are just a few of our reference books--browse the shelves for others
1913
Armory Show
"Lauded as one of the most influential events in the history of American
art, the Armory Show has a mythic legacy." This site presents a virtual
tour of the show, along with commentary and essays.
Contemporary Chicana and Chicano Art 2
vols.
Ref N 6538 .M4 C664 2002
A
Dictionary of Modern Design
Available on Oxford Reference Online
A
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
Available on Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Art
Rer N 6490 .O94 1988
Baroque Art: A Topical Dictionary
Ref N 6415 .B3 E18 1996
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture 2
vols.
Ref N 5610 .G76 2007
Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary
Ref N 7850 .R67 1996
Focuses on Christian pictorial art, especially the subjects, symbols and
themes of early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art
Renaissance Art: A Topical Dictionary
Ref N 6370 .E27 1987
The Dent Dictionary of Symbols in Christian Art
Ref N 7825 .S68 1994
Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
Ref N 7830 .M87 1996
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography 2 vols.
Ref N 7560 .E53 1998
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western
Art
Ref N 7740 .H35 1994
Encyclopedia of Sculpture Techniques
Ref NB 1170 .M55 2005
Sculpture 4 vols.
Ref NB 60 .S38130 1996
Coverage from early Greek, Roman, and Etruscan sculpture to the twentieth
century
A
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Available on Oxford Reference Online
The Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior
Architectural Details from 1485 to the Present revised edition
Ref NA 2850 .E44 1996
Encyclopedia of American Architecture 2nd edition
Ref NA 705 .P3 1995
Thames & Hudson
Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
Available on Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography 3
vols.
Ref TR 642 .E5 2006
The Photography Encyclopedia
Ref TR 9 .M39 1999
Thames & Hudson
Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
Available on Credo Reference
Typography
Ref Z 250 .A2 F76 1998
Artcyclopedia--the
Fine Art Database
Search or browse a database of over 8000 artists
AskART.com
Information about 120,000 artists, including biographies (available free
every Friday), books and journal articles about them, museums owning
their work and a few images.
Biographical
Dictionary of Artists
Available on Credo Reference
Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Available on Oxford Reference Online
Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists
Ref N 6512 .C854 1994
Dictionary of Women Artists 2 vols.
Ref N 8354 .D53 1997
This set has entries for women artists in Europe, America, and Australia
from the Middle Ages to the present, plus essays about training and work
opportunities of women artists. It concentrates on painting and sculpture,
but also covers printmaking, textiles, ceramics, and metalwork.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era
Ref N 6502.4 .S45 2003
Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists & Innovators
Ref TR 139 .B767 1983
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century
Ref N 6503 .N67 1995
Oxford
Dictionary of American Art and Artists
Available on Oxford Reference Online
Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975
Ref N 6536 .W56 1999
Women Artists of Color
Ref N 8354 .W656 1999
Virtual
Library Museums Pages
An online directory of museum home pages around the world supported by
the International Council of Museums
Museums in the Metro Area
Goldstein
Museum of Design
Minneapolis Institute
of Arts
Minnesota Museum of American Art
Museum of Russian Art
Walker Art Center
Weisman Art Museum
ArtsConnectEd
A joint project of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and the Walker Art
Center, ArtsConnectEd is an art education resource for teachers, parents,
and students
Artchive
View web images of more than 2000 works of art from over 200 different
artists
Art Images
for College Teaching (AICT)
Images are arranged into 5 broad categories: Ancient, Medieval Era, Renaissance & Baroque,
18th-20th Century, and Non-Western
Bridgeman
Art Library Archive
Not the complete Bridgeman archive, but a large part of it--over 16,000
images
CAMIO
A collection of art works from museums around the world
SILS
Art Image Browser
From the Univ. of Michigan, a database of art, architectural, and museum
object images
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture
of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods
(1100-1850)
Books in CLICnet, the Library's online catalog, are assigned subjects based on the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
Browsing shelf areas relevant to your topic can be a useful strategy. Books in the Reference and Circulating collections are shelved in general categories using the Library of Congress system. Below is a brief listing of some of the shelf locations in the field of art.
|
N |
Visual arts in general |
| NA | Architecture |
| NB | Sculpture |
| NC | Drawing. Design. Illustration. |
| ND | Painting |
| NE | Print media |
| NK | Decorative arts. Applied arts. Decoration and ornament. Including antiques in general. |
| NX | Arts in general, including works dealing with two or more fine arts media. |
| TR | Photography |
For assistance with any of the resources in this
guide, or for help doing research in art and art history, contact:
Deborah Kloiber,
Reference Librarian for Art and Art History