|

| |
Biology Resources
- Contents:
Databases and Indexes
-
- Reference Resources: Online
-
- Reference Resources: Print
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
|Additional Resources
Finding Books
- CLICnet
| Library of Congress Classifications for Biology
-
- Internet Resources
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
| Subject Guides and
Directories | Government and Private Health
Information | Government Science Sites |
Electronic Science News Magazines
Reference
Resources (Online)
Oxford
Reference Online: Biological Sciences
Here's a great place to find an overview of a subject, or to check a fact.
This online, searchable collection of high-quality reference books from
Oxford University Press includes titles like A Dictionary of Plant
Sciences and The Oxford Companion to the Body.
Reference
Resources (Print)
The following list contains
print resources located in the reference area, or at the reference desk,
of the CSC St. Paul campus library. (Call numbers for reference resources
that are held at the CSC Minneapolis campus library are noted in parentheses.)
Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias
-
- Concise Encyclopedia of Biology. Trans. & Rev. Thomas
A. Scott. Berlin: Walter de Gruyter, 1996.
CSC St. Paul and Mpls. Libs: REF QH302.5 .A2313 1996
Desk Encyclopedia
of Microbiology. Ed. Moselio Schaechter. Amsterdam; Boston:
Elsevier/Academic Press, 2004.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QR9 .D47 2004.
Dictionary of Biology.
Bill Indge. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QH 302.5 .I534 1999
Dictionary of Zoology.
Ed. Michael Allaby. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QL9 .C66 2003
Encyclopedia of
Biodiversity. Ed. Simon Asher Levin. San Diego: Academic
Press, 2001.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QH541 .I5 .B56 E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
Ed. Warren T. Reich. New York: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1995.
CSC St. Paul and Mpls. Libs: REF QH332 .E52 1995 v.1-5
-
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology.
Ed. William A. Nierenberg. San Diego: Academic Press, 1995.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QH540.4 .E52 1995 v.1-3
-
- Encyclopedia of Human Biology. Ed. Renato Dulbecco.
San Diego: Academic Press, 1997.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QP11 .E53 1997 v.1-9
Encyclopedia of
Life Sciences. London: Nature Publishing Group, 2002.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QH302.5 .H54 2002 v. 1-10
- Encyclopedia of Microbiology. Ed. Joshua Lederberg.
San Diego: Academic Press, 1992.
CSC St. Paul and Mpls. Libs: REF QR9 .E53 2000
-
- Encyclopedia of Reproduction. Eds. Ernst Knobil and
Jimmy D. Neill. San Diego: Academic Press, 1998.
CSC St. Paul Lib:REF QP251 .E635 1998 v.1-4
-
- The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Wildlife. Lakeville,
CT: Grey Castle Press, 1991.
CSC St. Paul Lib:REF QL7 .I44 1991 v.1-15
-
Marshall Cavendish Illustrated
Encyclopedia of Plants and Earth Sciences. Ed. David M. Moore.
New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1988.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QK7 .M37 1988.
-
- Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary.
(5th ed.) Eds. Kenneth N. Anderson, Lois E. Anderson, and Walter D.
Glanze. St. Louis: Mosby, 1998.
CSC St. Paul and Mpls. Libs:REF R121 .M89 1998.
-
- Walker's Mammals of the World. (6th ed.) Baltimore:
Johns Hopkins University Press, 1999.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QL703 .W222 1999 v.1-2
Additional
Resources
- Bibliography of Bioethics. Eds. LeRoy Walters and Tamar
Joy Kahn. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University, 19uu.
St. Paul Lib: REF R724 .B43 v.1-25+
Mpls Lib: REF R724 .B53 v.15,20-24
-
- Innovations in Biology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO,
1999.
St. Paul Lib: REF QH307.2 .I56 1999
-
- Spector, David L., Robert D. Goldman, and Leslie A. Leinwand. Cells:
A Laboratory Manual. Cold Spring Harbor, NY: Cold Spring Harbor
Laboratory Press, 1998.
St. Paul Lib: REF QH583.2 .S64 1998 v.1-3
Using the Biological Literature: a
Practical Guide. Diane Schmidt and Elisabeth B. Davis, Pamela
F. Jacobs. New York: Marcel Dekker, c2002.
CSC St. Paul Lib: REF QH 303.6 .D38 2002
Back to Top
Finding
Books
- CLICnet
- Use the CLICnet library catalog to locate books on your topic. CLICnet
is the shared online library catalog for the College of St. Catherine
Library as well as Augsburg, Bethel, Concordia, Hamline, Macalester,
Northwestern, and St. Thomas. You may also browse either the catalog
or the library bookshelves in the following call number ranges to get
a sense of the available books.
Library
of Congress Classifications for Biology
-
| Call Number Area |
Subject |
| QH 1 - 278.5 |
Natural history (General). Biology
(General) |
| QH 75 - 77 |
Nature conservation. Landscape protection |
| QH 201 - 278.5 |
Microscopy |
| QH 301 - 705 |
Biology (General) |
| QH 426 - 470 |
Genetics |
| QH 471 - 489 |
Reproduction |
| QH 501 - 531 |
Life |
| QH 540 - 549 |
Ecology (Including general and animal
ecology) |
| QH 573 - 671 |
Cytology |
| QH 705 |
Economic biology |
Library
of Congress Classifications for Fields Related to Biology
| Call Number Area |
Subject |
| QK 1 - 989 |
Botany |
| QL 1 - 991 |
Zoology |
| QM 1 - 695 |
Human Anatomy |
| QP 1 - 981 |
Physiology |
| QR 1 - 500 |
Microbiology |
Back to Top
Internet
Resources
Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias
- The Animal Diversity Web
- http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification,
and conservation biology created and maintained by the University of
Michigan Museum of Zoology. Includes text, pictures, photographs, movies,
and/or recordings of specimen activities and sounds.
-
- BioTech's Life Science Dictionary
- http://biotech.icmb.utexas.edu/search/dict-search.html
A resource with over 8300 terms related to biochemistry, biotechnology,
botany, cell biology and genetics. Terms are also available for the
fields of ecology, limnology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine.
From the University of Texas at Austin.
-
- The Tree of Life
- http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
The Tree of Life is a multi-authored project containing information
about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics.
Information is linked together in the form of the evolutionary tree
that connects all organisms to each other.
Subject
Guides and Directories
-
-
- BEN
- http://biosciednet.org/portal/
- Ben is the National Science Digital Library pathway for teaching and
learning resources in the biological sciences.
-
- Bio Netbook
- http://www.pasteur.fr/recherche/BNB/bnb-en.html
A directory of Web pages relating to biology. Search by word, topic,
or a combination of word and topic. A geographical directory is also
provided. Maintained by the Institut Pasteur of Paris.
-
- The Scout Report
- http://scout.wisc.edu/Reports/ScoutReport/Current
Offers a selective collection of Internet resources covering
topics in the sciences, physical sciences, and engineering fields. Selections
chosen by librarians and content specialists in the given field of study.
-
- Virtual Library: Biosciences
- http://vlib.org/Biosciences.html
A gateway to important sites in the biosciences including biotechnology,
botany, cell biology, developmental biology, genetics, medicine, microbiology,
neurobiology, physiology, and zoology.
-
- Government
and Private Health Information
-
- Mayo Clinic
- http://www.mayoclinic.com/
Up-to-date information on a wide variety of health and medical topics.
-
- National Health Information Center
- http://www.health.gov/nhic/
A health information referral service, the National Health Information
Center (NHIC) puts health professionals and consumers who have health
questions in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide
answers.
-
- National Institutes of Health
- http://www.nih.gov/
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the mission
of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is to uncover new knowledge
that will lead to better health for everyone. Browse the Health
and Research sections.
-
- National Women's Health Information Center
- http://www.4woman.gov/
The National Women's Health Information Center, or NWHIC, is a gateway
to women's health information developed by the Department of Health
and Human Services. It is a federal clearinghouse of informaton links
to over 1800 organizations and 4,300 publications.
-
Government
Science Sites
- Human Genome Project Information
http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/home.shtml
The major web site for human genome project information. The site is
divided into broad sections for easy navigation, and provides history
of the project, definitions, informaton resources, as well as a section
on the ethical. legal and social issues of genetic research.
National Center for Biotechnology
Information
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
The National Center for Biotechnology Information, or NCBI, creates
public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops
software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical
information in order to further understanding the molecular processes
affecting human health and disease.
Natural Resources Conservation
Service
- http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/
A division of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Natural Resources
Conservation Service works in partnership with citizens to conserve
the country's natural resources. Site contains information, surveys,
maps, images and technical tools for the study and preservation of air,
soil, water, plant and animal resources.
-
- National Science Foundation
- http://www.nsf.gov/
The National Science Foundation, or NSF, is an independent U.S. government
agency responsible for promoting science and engineering through programs
supporting research and education projects. See the program area of
Biology.
-
-
- Electronic
Science News Magazines
Current Biology
http://www.current-biology.com/
General journal which publishes
original research across all areas of biology plus editorials. Extensive
collection of full-text primers, quick guides, and question and answer
interviews with scientists.
- New Scientist
- http://www.newscientist.com/
A weekly magazine offering information about science news and career
resources.
-
- ScienceDaily Magazine
- http://www.sciencedaily.com/
An online magazine and Web portal devoted to science, technology, and
medicine. Articles are selected from news releases submitted by leading
universities and other research organizations around the world.
-
- Scientific American
- http://www.sciam.com/
Includes selected full-text articles from the print version of this
magazine. Tracks the breaking science news stories and provide readers
with links to related sites.
-
- The Scientist - The News Journal for the Life Scientist
- http://www.the-scientist.com/
Provides an open forum for examination and discussion of issues in research,
technology, employment, funding, policy and other subjects important
to the life science field.
Back to Top
|