Ask a Librarian

Business Research Guide

Contents

Web-based Indexes to journal articles and company and industry profiles

Links to webpages:


Accounting   (includes Financial ratios)
Business Law
Business Ethics
Company Research
Economics

Industry Research (includes SIC and NAICS)

International Trade and Business
Investments
Management Information Systems
Sales & Marketing

St. Kate's Business Administration Department home page


Indexes to journal articles and company and industry profiles

Business Source Premier
Provides full text for nearly 2,500 scholarly journals, trade journals and general business magazines. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 500 market research reports and 3,900 industry reports. The database also includes other sources of full-text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

LexisNexis Academic
This database provides information in five areas: News, Business, Legal Research, Medical and Reference. With a few exceptions, all information is full text, including 10K reports. For business information search using the News Form. In the Reference Section, the World Almanac and Book of Facts provide information on company affiliations and brands.

FirstSearch (password required)
Twenty plus databases. Regional Business, Article First, Business/Industry, etc.

Wall Street Journal
Online full text available through the ProQuest Newspapers database.

ProQuest Newspapers online 1986 on. Minneapolis Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & Washington Post. Also try searching ProQuest Historical Newspapers for older issues of the New York Times (1851-2004)

St. Paul Pioneer Press online from 1988.

Worksonwork  http://www.worksonwork.irc.umn.edu/

Free University of Minnesota, School of Industrial Relations Library database of citations to books, journal articles, working papers, proceedings and websites from 1985 on in the fireld of industrial relations. Search by author, title, keyword or subject headings.

[Back to Top]