Ask a Librarian

Catholic Resources and Research Guide

Page contents:

Periodicals & journal indexes

Websites:

The Catholic Church
Church documents and texts
People--Saints and Popes
Bible resources
Social justice
Catholic higher education
Catholic news & general interest

Reference books & directories

Finding books

Pope John Paul II

PERIODICALS AND JOURNALS

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (print)
Reference Indexes shelves: A13 .C286
Covers 1930 to the present.

Electronic indexes
See list of recommended databases for Religion and Theology.
(Restricted to use by St. Kate's community members.)
http://www.stkate.edu/library/connect/religion.html

St. Kate's holdings of Catholic periodicals
The periodicals listed here are in the collection of St. Kate's, either in print or electronic. Both are available from on-campus; off-campus access to electronic holdings is restricted to the St. Kate's community.

Periodicals with "catholic" in the title
Religion and philosophy category: subheading Roman Catholic

Periodical holdings at other college libraries
Search CLICnet for the complete journal holdings of all St. Kate's and other ACTC colleges (including St. Thomas, Augsburg, Hamline, Macalester, Bethel University and Seminary and Northwestern). Instead of "All collections," select "Journals."


WEBSITES

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH

Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church
http://www.fiu.edu/~mirandas/cardinals.htm
Century by century listing of all cardinals, biographies, photos when available, links to cardinals' Web sites, more. Created by Miranda Salvador of the Florida International University Library.

The Official Vatican Web site
http://www.vatican.va/
Official news releases of the Vatican, Catechism of the Catholic Church, information and virtual tours of the Vatican museums, library and secret archives. Holiday and celebration info, biographies and pictures (when available) of those canonized and beatified during the Pontificate of Pope John Paul II. Full-text papal documents, including speeches, audiences, encyclicals, homilies, messages, travels, and more for popes beginning with Leo XIII (who was the pope 1878-1903).

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
http://www.nccbuscc.org/
Site includes news of the bishops, an online Bible and catechism, movie reviews, publications, more.

[Back to Top]


CHURCH DOCUMENTS AND TEXTS

Catechism of the Catholic Church
http://www.scborromeo.org/ccc.htm
Online, searchable second edition English translation of the Catechism of the Catholic Church includes the corrections promulgated by Pope John Paul II on 8 September 1997.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
http://www.ccel.org/
Site from Calvin College, Grand Rapids, Michigan. Contains a great number of books (in public domain) from many authors, as well as audio books as MP-3 files. Also includes the World Wide Encyclopedia of Christianity, described as "a single reference source with links to the contents of the Catholic Encyclopedia, Easton's Bible Dictionary, Torrey's Topical Textbook, and Elwell's Dictionary of Christian Theology."

Code of Canon Law
http://www.intratext.com/X/ENG0017.htm
From the IntraText Digital Library project

New Advent
http://www.newadvent.org/
Full text of the 1914 Catholic Encyclopedia, list of all popes and links to biographical info, "Church Fathers," which includes links to early letters, speeches and books from early Christians, links to Catholic resources for many topics, more.

Papal Encyclicals
http://www.papalencyclicals.net/

Theology Library: Official Documents of the Catholic Church
http://www.shc.edu/theolibrary/docs.htm
Councils, papal documents, catechisms, American and other Episcopal documents. Provided by Spring Hill College, a Jesuit college in Mobile, Alabama

All Catholic Church Ecumenical Councils-All the Decrees
http://www.piar.hu/councils/


PEOPLE -- SAINTS AND POPES

Patron Saints Index
http://www.catholic-forum.com/saints/indexsnt.htm
Many ways to search for saints, feast days, topics

Saints and Angels, from Catholic Online Web site
http://www.catholic.org/saints/

Backgrounder: Making Saints
From the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
http://www.usccb.org/comm/SaintsFinal.pdf

Popes - from New Advent
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/12272b.htm
Listing of popes

The Papacy
http://www.stkate.edu/library/guides/papacy.html
Information about Pope Benedict XVI and Pope John Paul II

[Back to Top]


BIBLE RESOURCES

Bible Gateway
http://bible.gospelcom.net/bible
Search 18 versions of the Bible in 31 languages by passage or keywords.

The New American Bible
http://www.nccbuscc.org/nab/bible/
Online, full text of the New American version of the Bible, from a Website sponsored by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops.

New Testament Gateway
http://www.ntgateway.com/
From the University of Birmingham, England

Old Testament Gateway
http://www.otgateway.com/
From Tabor College, Victoria, Australia

Resources Pages for Biblical Studies
http://www.torreys.org/bible/
Links to numerous full-text documents, and described as "a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world."


SOCIAL JUSTICE

The Catholic Worker Homepage
http://www.catholicworker.com/
Social justice organization begun by Dorothy Day and Peter Maurin in 1933. this is the unofficial Catholic Worker site. At last look, the official CW site (catholicworker.org) was not available.

Office for Social Justice
http://www.osjspm.org/
Web site from the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis. Information on issues, educational tools, legislative advocacy, Catholic social teaching documents, more.

Papal and Episcopal Documents related to Catholic Social Justice Teaching
http://www.justpeace.org/docu.htm

Theology Library: Catholic Social Documents
http://www.shc.edu/theolibrary/cstdocs.htm
Provided by Spring Hill College, a Jesuit college in Mobile, Alabama.

[Back to Top]


CATHOLIC HIGHER EDUCATION

Cardinal Newman Society
http://www.cardinalnewmansociety.org/
Sponsors and assists lectures, conferences, debate and publications on the nature and value of Catholic higher education. Includes a list and links to U.S. Catholic colleges.

Ex Corde Ecclesiae
http://www.vatican.va/holy_father/john_paul_ii/apost_constitutions/documents/hf_jp-ii_apc_15081990_ex-corde-ecclesiae_en.html
Pope John Paul II on Catholic Higher Education


CATHOLIC NEWS AND GENERAL INTEREST SITES

Catholic Information Network
http://www.cin.org/
Extensive Catholic evangelism site. Notable on this site include Vatican II and other church documents.

Catholic.net
http://www.catholic.net/
Catholic news and magazines, links to church and papal documents.

Catholic News Service
http://www.catholicnews.com/

Catholic Online
http://www.catholic.org/
Catholic Online has many features, including current news of the Church in the U.S. and internationally, Saints and Angels, searchable directories of dioceses, parishes and Catholic schools, full text of the New American Bible, prayers, Catholic beliefs, and much more.

Catholic Press Association of the United States and Canada
http://www.catholicpress.org/

National Catholic Register
http://www.ncregister.com/
Portions require that users subscribe, but much information is available to for free.

[Back to Top]


REFERENCE BOOKS

Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils
The text of all the decrees of all 21 councils from Nicaea I to Vatican II.
Call number: Ref. BX825 .A (1990)

Encyclicals of John Paul II
Texts of the encyclicals plus a commentary on each.
Call number: Ref. BX860 .A213 (1978)

Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
Call number: Ref. BX 1406.2 .E53 (1997)

Handbook of Catholic Theology

Meaning and significance of the central teachings of the Catholic Church.
Call number: Ref. BX1745.5 .L4913 (1995)

HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism
A one-volume encyclopedia of over 4,000 brief articles on significant aspects of Catholicism.
Call number: Ref. BX841 .H37 (199)

Modern Catholic Encyclopedia
Another recent collection of articles on Catholic doctrine, faith, and institutions.
Call number: Ref. BX841 .M63 (1994)

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Coverage of the teachings, history, organization and activities of the Catholic Church, and all developments affecting the Church from its beginning to the present.
Call number: Ref. BX841 .N44 (2003)

New Commentary on the Code of Canon Law
Call number: Ref. BX 1935 .N49 (2000)

New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought
Dictionary covering central themes of current Catholic social thought, especially in connection with the modern social encyclicals. Call number: Ref. BX1753 .N497 (1994)

New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality
A wide-ranging look at the spiritual issues of our times. Authors of the entries are leaders in contemporary spirituality. Call number: Ref. BX2350.65 .N49 (1993)

New Dictionary of Theology
Defines Catholic traditions and theology. Call number: Ref. BR 95 .N3 (1987)

New Jerome Biblical Commentary
Bible study tool written by Roman Catholic scholars. Call number: Ref. BS 491.2 N485 (1990)

The Oxford Dictionary of Popes (via Oxford Reference Online)

The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (via Oxford Reference Online)

Papacy: An Encyclopedia
Call number: Ref. BX 955.2 D53 (2002) 3 vols.

Sacramentum Mundi: An Encyclopedia of Theology
The central Roman Catholic encyclopedia of contemporary theological developments. Ecumenical treatments. Call number: REF. BR95 .S23

Sacramentum Verbi
A Roman Catholic Guide to the Bible and the "truths of faith in their biblical form."
Call number: Ref. BS440 .B4313 (1970)

DIRECTORIES (Print)

Official Catholic Directory
Call number: Ref. BX 845 .C5 (current year)

Official Minnesota Catholic Directory
Call number: Ref. BX 1417 .S3 O3 (current year)

[Back to Top]


FINDING BOOKS

Use CLICnet to search for books at St. Kate's and the other ACTC colleges (including St. Thomas, Augsburg, Hamline, Macalester, Bethel University and Seminary and Northwestern). Please see a Reference Librarian for assistance with search terms and subject headings.