Ask a Librarian

Census Information and Sources

A majority of Census data is available online through the US Census Bureau website. St. Catherine University Library collection also includes limited print census data.

The purpose of the US Census is to gather statistics and information about the people of this country to understand the nation as a whole and help plan for growth. The first census was taken in 1790 when US Marshals counted 3.9 million inhabitants. In 1902 the Census became a permanent institution by an act of Congress. Today the Census Bureau, under the US Department of Commerce, takes a census of the population every 10 years, conducts censuses of economics and state and local governments every five years, and conducts various other surveys every year.
*Source: US Census Bureau: History


Online US Census Information

American Community Survey
http://www.census.gov/acs/www/index.html
New nationwide survey designed to show how communities change. Part of the Census Bureau's 2010 census plan. Includes data tables with social, economic, and other data.

American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/
Find maps and tables from Census 2000 data on a variety of topics including population, housing, race, economics, and social characteristics. Search for Census data for a specific address, and find annual releases, summaries, and the economic census.
* Learn about how to use American FactFinder from our Guide to American FactFinder or download the Guide

Census '90
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen1990.html
Find information from the 1990 census. Browse 1990 census databases on the 1990 Census Lookup page.

1997 Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html
The economic census is a profile of the economy, taken every five years. Currently economic census data is available for the 1997 Economic Census. The next economic census data will be from 2002. The 1997 Economic Census is also searchable through American FactFinder.

HomeTownLocator Gazetteer
http://hometownlocator.com
This commercial website includes 1.8 million cultural and physical features with links to maps and aerial photos for cities, towns, villages, and neighborhoods. Includes Census 2000 data from the US Census Bureau in an easy to search format.

State & County QuickFacts
http://quickfacts.census.gov/
Use the interactive United States map to find basic population, business, and geographic facts for a particular state and/or county.

US Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
The US Census Bureau website is a portal to all online census information. It includes links to Census 2000 and census data in categories including People, Geography, Business and Special Topics.

United States Census 2000
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
This website is a gateway to Census 2000 data. It includes Census 2000 geographic data, data release schedules, census news, links to publications, and other Census 2000 data. Links to American FactFinder and State & County QuickFacts.

[Back to Top]


Reference Books: US Census Information

Most Census data can be found online at the US Census Bureau website.

Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census
REF HA37 .U55 E53 2000
A comprehensive one-volume work that provides ready reference on the US Decennial Census. Designed to be a concise and accurate way to answer questions about the US Census, past and present.

Understanding the Census
REF HA 201 1990 .L3
This reference source explains the concepts, methods, terminology, and data sources for the US Census and also functions as a guide to help census users find census data.

Your Guide to the Federal Census: For Genealogists, Researchers, and Family Historians
REF HA 37 .U6 H556 2002

This handbook gives a detailed introduction to the US Census and helps researchers use and understand the Census.

[Back to Top]


State and Local Information

2000 Census from Metropolitan Council
http://www.metrocouncil.org/Census/census2000.htm
Basic demographic statistics for the metro area in Excel or PDF (Adobe Acrobat) format compared to other metropolitan areas.

Census 2000 from State Demographic Center
http://www.demography.state.mn.us/Census2000.html
Find specific data for the Census 2000 in Minnesota including county profiles, population estimates and projections, and data on race and ethnicity.

Datanet
http://www.lmic.state.mn.us/datanetweb/
Datanet is an online system providing statistical information for Minnesota schools, businesses, organizations, and citizens. Find links for sources on demographics, criminal justice, and other databases.

Every St. Paul Resident Counts!
http://www.ci.stpaul.mn.us/census/
City of St. Paul Census 2000 information.

Hennepin County Census 2000
From: http://www.hennepin.us
2000 Census fact sheets from Hennepin County.

Minneapolis Census 2000 Information
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/citywork/planning/Census2000/
Links to Minneapolis census data from the City of Minneapolis.

Minnesota Data Center
http://www.demography.state.mn.us/demog_04.html
Find state data centers in your area by clinking on the interactive map of Minnesota. Data centers are affiliated with the US Census and provide access to census, economic, and demographic data.

Minnesota Planning: Census 2000
http://www.demography.state.mn.us/Census2000.html
Contains links for Most Requested Data, Data Tools, and Data Series. These links includes county profiles, population estimates, and race by county data, among others.

State Demographic Center
http://www.demography.state.mn.us/
The State Demographic Center, part of Minnesota Planning, analyzes and distributes data from the state, US Census, and other sources.

[Back to Top]


Current Census News

Census Product Update
http://www.census.gov/mp/www/cpu/cpu.html
A biweekly listing of recently released and upcoming data products from the U.S. Census Bureau.

US Census Bureau: New on the Site
http://www.census.gov/newonsite/
Lists, by date, new items on the US Census Bureau website.

[Back to Top]