|

| |
Resources for Children's and Young Adult Literature
Contents:
General Resources | Authors
& Illustrators | Criticism |
Book Awards
Resources for Selecting Books | Multicultural/International Resources
Journals for Children's and Young Adult Literature
CSC Library Juvenile Collection
General Resources
- Children's Book Council
-
- Children's Books and Their Creators
Ref PN 1009 .A1 C5424
-
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
- An online catalog of more than 1,400,000 children's books with more than 280,000 full-text book reviews
About off-campus access
- The Children's Literature Dictionary
Ref PN 1008.5 .L38 2002
- Definitions of literary terms, along with learning activities to help children understand them
- Children's Literature & Language Arts
- Part of the Internet School Library Media Center
- The Children's Literature Research Collections
- at the University of Minnesota
- Children's Literature Web Guide
- Comprehensive and well-organized site
- The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Ref PN 1008.5 .C66
-
- Horn Book
- "Publications about books for children and young adults"
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
- Contains book reviews and ideas for ways to use books in the classroom
- International Children's Digital Library
- New project currently providing access to over 1000 children's books in more than 30 languages. The Library will continue to expand over time.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature 4 vols.
Ref PN 1008.5 .O94 2006
-
- Kay E. Vandergrift's Special Interest Page
- Covers many aspects of children's and young adult literature
Authors and Illustrators
- Something About the Author
Ref PN 451 .S6
- Biographical information about children's authors and illustrators. It is a companion to Children's Literature Review, which contains criticism of their works.
How to use: Turn to the index in the last volume, and look up the author's or illustrator's name. The numbers show which volume has an entry for that person. Volume numbers following the abbreviation "SATA" are in Something About the Author, while numbers following "CLR" are in Children's Literature Review.
- Junior Authors and Illustrators
Ref PN 1009 .A1 J86
-
- Twentieth-Century Children's Writers
Ref PN 1009 .A1 T9
-
- Index to Children's and Young Adults' Authors & Illustrators
- Part of the Internet School Library Media Center
- Books & Authors in Your Classroom
- From Scholastic, which also provides resources for teachers
Criticism
- Children's Literature Review
Ref PN 1009 .A1 C5139
- Criticism of books for children and young adults. It is a companion to Something About the Author, which contains biographical information about children's authors and illustrators.
How to use: Turn to the index in the last volume, and look up the author's or illustrator's name. The numbers show which volume has an entry for that person. Volume numbers following the abbreviation "CLR" are in Children's Literature Review, while numbers following"SATA" are in Something About the Author.
Book Awards and Honors
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
- Entries for over 3,000 books that have won awards for children's literature
- The Newbery & Caldecott Medal Books
- Ref Z 1037 .A2 N48
- The Newbery & Caldecott Awards
- Ref Z 1037 .A2 N46
- The Newbery Companion: book talk and related materials for Newbery Medal and Honor books
- Ref PS 490 .G55 2001
- Newbery/Printz Companion
- Ref PS 490.G55 2006
- The Randolph Caldecott Medal & John Newbery Medal
- The Caledcott and Newbery Medals are awards for distinguished children's books, given annually by the Association for Library Services to Children. Also, see ALSC's Literary & Related Awards page for more outstanding children's books.
The Printz Award, established in 1999, recognizes the best in young adult literature. It is given annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association.
- Booklists & Bookwards
- Information from the Young Adult Library Services Organization
- The Kerlan Awards in Children's Literature 1975-2001
Ref PN 497 .K47
- Sponsored by the Kerlan Collection at the University of Minnesota.
- Coretta Scott King Award
- Presented to authors and illustrators of African descent.
- Pura Belpré Award
- Award given to "a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays,
affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an
outstanding work of literature for children and youth."
- Amelia Bloomer Project
- Chosen annually, these books "celebrate the authors, illustrators, editors, and publishers who create and produce feminist books for young readers."
- Américas
Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature
- Recognizes "U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction...published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States."
Resources for Selecting Books
- Children's Catalog
Ref Z 1037 .C5443
-
- Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6
Ref Z 1037 .G48
-
- Best Books for Young Adults
Ref PN 1009 .A1 C34
-
- Best Books for Young Teen Readers Grades 7-10
Ref Z 1037 .B55
-
- Beyond Picture Books: a guide to first readers , 2nd ed.
Ref PN 1009 .A1 B278 1995
-
- Books for the Teen Age
Ref Z 1037 .N568
- Compiled by the New York Public Library
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
- An online catalog of more than 700,000 children's books with more than 110,000 full-text book reviews
- Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
- Search abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children from preschool to third grade
- Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog
Ref Z 1037 .W765
-
- The New York Times Parent's Guide to the Best Books for Children
Ref PN 1009 .A1 L724
-
- The New Books Kids Like
Ref Z 1037 .N39
-
- Senior High School Library Catalog
Ref Z 1035 .S42
-
- Sensitive Issues: an annotated guide to children's literature K-6
Ref PN 1009 .A1 R23 1992
- Guide to books to help children deal with difficult problems such as divorce, death, abuse, prejudice, and others
- Subject Guide to Children's Books in Print
Ref Z 1037 .A1 C53
-
- Turning the Paige: Books for Young Readers
- Search for books, or browse reviews by age level, grade, series, or genre
Multicultural/International Resources
- The New Press Guide to Multicultural Resources for Young Readers
Ref Z 1037 .N57
- "Over 1,000 reviews of multicultural children's books organized by theme and reading level." Also essays about important issues in multicultural education
- Our Family Our Friends Our World: an annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and teenagers
Ref PN 1009 .A1 M654
-
- Multicultural Resources for Children
- Part of the Internet School Library Media Center
- Against Borders: promoting books for a multicultural world
Ref PN 1009 .A1 R6
- Part 1 covers themes common in literature; Part 2 lists specific resources
- Children's Books from Other Countries
Ref Z 1037 .C5428
- Guide to English versions of books first published outside the US
- Black Authors and Illustrators of Books for Children and Young Adults
Ref PN 1990 .A1 B53
- Biographical information for 274 authors and illustrators
Journals for Children's and Young Adult Literature
- ABC-Lit: An Index to Children's Literature Scholarship
- Currently indexes 13 journals covering analysis and criticism of children's literature
The following journals are available from the CSC Library:
ALAN Review
Full text available on journal
website, Winter 1994 - Fall 2004, and on Education Journals, Fall 2002 - present
About off-campus access
Book Links: connecting books, libraries, and classrooms
Full text available on Education Journals, 1998 - present
CSC has 1999 - present
About off-campus access
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Full text available on Education Journals, April 1998 - present
CSC has September 1958 - present
About off-campus access
Children's Literature
Full text available on Education Journals, 1998 - present
About off-campus access
Children's Literature in Education
Full text available on Academic Search Premier, 1993 - 1 year ago
CSC has Spring 1975 - present
About off-campus access
Horn Book Magazine
Full text available on Education Journals, 1992 - present
CSC has 1945 - present
About off-campus
access
Kliatt: reviews of selected current paperbacks, hardcover fiction, audiobooks, and educational software
Full text available on General OneFile, 2002 - present
About off-campus access
Reading Teacher
Full text available on Education Journals, 1988 - 1 year ago
CSC has October 1967 - present
About off-campus access
School Library Journal
Full text available on Education Journals, 1996 - present
CSC has September 1961 - 2005
About off-campus access
|