Ask a Librarian

Classics

Electronic Reference Books
Reference Books
Books
Indexes to Journal Articles
World Wide Web Sites


Electronic Reference Books

Oxford Reference Online: Classics
Here's a great place to find an overview of a subject, or to check a fact. This online, searchable collection of high-quality reference books from Oxford University Press includes titles like The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization and Who's Who in the Classical World.


Reference Books

The following is a selected list of reference books that deal with the civilization and literature of ancient Greece and Rome. See the Reference Librarian for other library materials that cover topics related to the ancient world.

Mythology, Legends, Gods and Goddesses  |  The Classical World Classical Literature | Classical Philosophy | Classical Dictionaries

Mythology, Legends, Gods and Goddesses

Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology. 
REF  BL715 .M37 1998

The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. 
REF  BL715 .G713 1986

A Dictionary of World Mythology.
(via Oxford Reference Online)

Goddesses in World Mythology. 
REF  BL473.5 .A66 1993

Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology. 
REF  BL715 G67G

Illustrated Dictionary of Mythology: Heroes, Heroines, Gods, and Goddesses from
    Around the World. 
REF  BL303 .W55 1998

The Macmillan Illustrated Encyclopedia of Myths & Legends. 
REF  BL303 .C67 1989

Mythology, an Illustrated Encyclopedia. 
REF  BL311 .M95 1980

Myths and Legends of the World
REF BL311.M97 2000

Room's Classical Dictionary : The Origins of the Names of Characters in Classical
    Mythology. 
REF  BL727 .R58 1983

Women of Classical Mythology : A Biographical Dictionary.
REF  BL715 .B445 1993

The Classical World

Atlas of Classical History
REF G 1033 .A833 1985b

Atlas of the Classical World. 
REF  DE29 .H512 1960

Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. 
REF  G1033 .A84 1981

Atlas of the Roman World. 
REF  DG77 .C597 1982

Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women
REF HQ1136.L54 2000

A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature: A Guide to Their Identification in Works of Art. 
REF  N7760 .P68 1983
Guide to the identification and appreciation of works of visual art based on Greek and Roman myth and legend.

A Dictionary of Roman and Greek Antiquities. 
REF  DE5 .R37 1901

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World.
REF HQ1127.S25 2001

Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Classical World. 
REF  DE5 .I55

The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 
REF  DE5 .O9 1996

The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900. 
REF  NX650.M9 R45 1993

Place-Names in Classical Mythology : Greece. 
REF  DF16 .B45 1989

The Praeger Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Civilization. 
REF  DF16 .D513 1967c

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. 
REF  DE59 .P7 1976

Who Was Who in the Greek World. 
REF  DF208 .W48 1982

Classical Literature

Harper's Dictionary of Classical Literature and Antiquities.
REF  DE5 .P36 1896

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Literature. 
REF  PA31 .F4

Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000. 
REF  PA31 .G7

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 
REF  DE5 .H34 1969

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 
REF  PA31 .H69 1989

Concise Dictionary of Greek Literature. 
REF  PA31 M31C

Dictionary of Latin Literature. 
REF  PA31 M31D

Ancient Writers : Greece and Rome. 
REF  PA3002 .A5 1982

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama. 
REF  PA3024 .H35

Dictionary of Literary Biography
REF  PS21 .D5  v.176   Ancient Greek authors.
                           v.211   Ancient Roman authors.

Classical Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
REF B163 .E53 1997

Greek Philosophical Terms
REF B49 .P4G

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B54 .O94 1995

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
REF B51 .R68 1998

World Philosophy
REF B29 .W68 1982

Classical Dictionaries
A selection of Greek and Latin dictionaries can be found in the reference collection in the following area: REF PA445-PA2365


Books

Browsing

Browse for books that have the following call numbers.

B108-708 - Philosophy
BL700-820 - Classical Mythology
DE - History of the Greco-Roman World
PA201-899 - Greek Philology and Language
PA2001-2915 - Latin Philology and Language
PA3000-3049 - Classical Literature
PA3050-4505 - Greek Literature
PA6000-6971 - Roman Literature

You will find a good selection of materials in CLICnet that focus on the civilization and literature of ancient Greece and Rome.  Here are some suggestions for searching by Subject:

Classical antiquities Greece--Antiquities Rome--Antiquities
Classical biography Greece--Biography Rome--Biography
Classical dictionaries Greek language--Dictionaries Latin language--Dictionaries
Greek literature--Dictionaries Latin literature--Dictionaries
Classical drama Greek drama Latin drama
Classical fiction Greek fiction Latin fiction
Classical geography Greece--Maps Rome--Maps
Classical languages Greek language Latin language
Classical letters Greek letters Latin letters
Classical literature Greek literature Latin literature
Classical poetry Greek poetry Latin poetry

[back to top]


Indexes to Journal Articles

About off-campus access
Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from a number of academic journals across all disciplines, including classical studies journals.
 
MLA Bibliography
Covers literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in journals, series, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, etc. International in scope.
 
Philosopher's Index
An index to books and journals in philosophy and related areas, including ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, etc. Includes links to selected full text articles.
 
[back to top]

World Wide Web Resources

Just a note on using the Internet: The Web is a good place to find information. However, it is also a risky place to find information. When you use any resource from the Web, make sure you have evaluated the author. Ask yourself, "Who wrote this page? What kind of expertise or authority does this person have to write this page?" Without these questions you may use information from the web that is incorrect, invalid, unedited, or misleading. Below are a few links on history topics that have already been checked for authority.

Mythology, Legends, Gods, and Goddesses | The Classical World  | Classical Literature  | Classical Philosophy | Classical Dictionaries

Classical Mythology

 Bullfinch's Mythology
 Classical Myth: the Ancient Sources     
 Encyclopedia Mythica
 Mythography: Exploring Greek, Roman and Celtic Mythology and Art
 Myths and Legends

The Classical World

 Ancient World Web  
 Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World
 Exploring Ancient World Cultures
 Parthenon Graphics
 Perseus Digital Library
 The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

Classical Literature  
 
 Internet Classics Archives

Classical Philosophy

Greek Philosophy Archive
Greek Philosophy: Hellenistic
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Classical Dictionaries

Greek Grammar
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
Latin Grammar
Let's Review Greek Grammar