Title
Costume
Library and Information Resources
|

|
Contents: Journal Indexes |
Web Sources | Reference Books | Books to check out
Back to FCNS Page | Fashion
and Design | Fabric and Textiles | Food
and Nutrition
Web Sources
Below is a selected listing of Websites with information
and images for costume. Use an Internet
search engine to find more.
Metasites
Costumes.org
http://www.costumes.org/
Provides links to textual information, historical images from classic
costume texts, and a timeline of costume history. Chronological links
to related costume sites are provided as well as links to costume museums,
military costumes, masks and makeup, fabric dyeing, and much more. Good
section on ethnic costume sites.
Costume Page
http://members.aol.com/nebula5/costume.html
Provides over 2,000 links in categories such as museums, history, ethnic,
theatrical, organizations, events and schools. (A recent note to the page
states that the author will not be updating the page after February, 2001,
so we expect some broken links to occur.)
Organizations
International Textile and Apparel Association
http://www.itaaonline.org/
Membership organization for scholars, educators, researchers, and textile and apparel designers. Indexes and publishes the journal Clothing & Textiles Research Journal (not owned by CSC) .
Costume History and Images
Costume Site
http://www.milieux.com/costume/
Index to historical, science fiction and fantasy costumes on the Web.
Particularly good for medieval wear.
Costume Gallery
http://www.costumegallery.com/
Provides over 400 links to costume designers, goods and services, costume
history, and recreational sites such as an online costume ball and online
costume postcards.
Costume Society of America
http://www.costumesocietyamerica.com/
Examines all aspects of dress, and publishes the journal called Dress.
Couturiere Parisienne
http://www.marquise.de/
Fashions of the medieval and Renaissance to early 20th century. Includes
images, articles, instructions and patterns for sewing.
* Elizabethan Costuming Page *
http://www.elizabethancostume.net/
Hands down, the best site we've seen for basic and detailed history
of the costume of this period. Includes clothing and accessories, plus
detailed instructions for pattern making and altering and for sewing clothing.
Museum of Costume, Bath
http://www.fashionmuseum.co.uk/
Housed in the Assembly Rooms in Bath, England, the Fashion Museum "focuses
on fashionable dress for men, women and children from the late 16th century
to the present day." The site features images of highlights from
the collection and lists from the "Dress of the Year" program.
Take a virtual tour of this museum's extensive collection.
The History of Costume
http://www.siue.edu/COSTUMES/history.html
Reproductions of plates in the History of Costume or Zur
Geschichte der Kostume, which was printed from 1871 to 1880 in Munich,
showing 500 costume designs from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.
(Hint: go to the Text, rather than the Index -- it's faster.)
Godeys Ladys Book
Provide images from this mid-19th century women's magazine.
From the University of Vermont.
[Back to top of page]
Reference Books
The books listed below can be found in the reference area of the St.
Paul campus library.
Chronicle of Western Fashion, from Ancient Times to the Present
Day
REF. GT 511 .P42 (1991)
Dictionary of Costume REF. GT 507 .W5D (1969)
Encyclopedia of
Clothing and Fashion 3 vols.
REF. GT 507 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of World
Costume REF. GT 507 .y37 (1978)
Folk Costumes of the World REF. GT 511 .H38 (1999)
Guide to Historical Costume REF. TT 503 .B33 (1995)
Historical Encyclopedia of Costume REF. 510 .R3313 (1988)
History of Men's Costume REF. GT 1710 .S53 (1984)
History of Women's Costume REF. GT 1710 .S53 (1984)
Pictorial History of Costume REF . GT 513 .B763 (1955)
What People Wore REF. GT 513 .G6 (1962)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life REF GN 333 .W67 (1998)
Books you can check out
St. Kate's has a broad selection of books in our circulating collection
on this subject. Use CLICnet to
search by subject for costume or costume design.
[Back to top of page]
|