Culturally Assessment in Nursing: Guide to Research and Resources

Page Contents

Booklist / Finding Articles / Web Sites

Recommended Books on Cultural Assessment

Reference

Center for Cross-Cultural Health Ethnic Profiles  
Encyclopedia of World Cultures REF GN 307 .E53 1991
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America REF E 184 .A1 G14 1999
Health and Illness: a Cross Cultural Encyclopedia REF R733 .L477 1997
Multicultural Clients: a Professional Handbook... REF RA 418.5 .T73 L37 1995
Pocket Guide to Cultural Assessment REF RT 86.54 .G45 2003  
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind REF GN 307 .I44 1989

Books to check out

View the availability of selected books or all books in CLICnet that contain the super keywords "transcultural and nursing"

Caring for Patients from Different Cultures RT 86.54 .G35 2004   Availability
Cultural Diversity in Health & Illness RA 418.5.T73 S64 2004   Availability
Culture Care: Guides to Heritage Assessment and Health Traditions RA 418.5.T73 S643 2000   Availability
Society, Health and Disease: a Transcultural Perspective RA 418.3 .D48 S63 1996 Availability
Transcultural Communication in Nursing RT 23 .L83 1999 Availability
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care RT 86.54 .A53 2003   Availability
Transcultural Nursing : Assessment & Intervention RT 86.54 .T73 2004   Availability

Transcultural Nursing : Concepts, Theories, Research and Practice

RT 86.54 .L44 2002   Availability

Finding Articles

About off-campus access

To find journal articles related to transcultural nursing or cultural assessment, use CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health). You may access this database from a St. Kate's Libraries computer or from your home or office by using a password or proxy. Use these subject heading or descriptor terms:

  • culture

  • health-beliefs

  • cultural-values

  • attitude-to-health

  • health-behavior

  • transcultural nursing

Combine these terms with appropriate terms for the ethnic group you are interested in. Link alternate search terms with OR. Link unrelated concepts with AND.

Sample searches:

native americans and health-beliefs

hispanics and health-behavior

(health-behavior or health-beliefs or attitude-to-health) and hmong

Other databases to try:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost
Features nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
(Guide requires Adobe Acrobat Reader--free download)
Useful search terms: transcultural and (medical or health), cross-cultural and (medical or health), or multiculturalism-health aspects.
 
 
 
 
 
MEDLINE
Index for medical research journals. While international in scope, many journals indexed here are not in English and relate to non-human research. Useful search terms: cultural-diversity, transcultural-nursing, transcultural, attitude-to-health, or nurse-patient-relations.
PsycINFO
Index to journals and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. Useful search terms: same as those used in MEDLINE.

Journal of Transcultural Nursing (EbscoHost EJS articles from 1999- )

Covers a wide range of topics of interest to nurses, educators, researchers and practitioners including: theory development, clinical practice, research methodology, education / pedagogy, international perspectives, and information resources.


Useful Web Sites

Immigrants and Refugees Guide contains information and resources about specific ethnic groups in Minnesota.

Center for Cross Cultural Health a Minnesota organization with resources and links about cultures.

Cultural Profiles Project Canadian site offering profiles of many countries.

CulturedMed Refugee and ethnic health resources from SUNY Utica/Rome.

Diversity Rx Models and practices, policy, legal, and networking resources.
EthnoMed From Harborview Medical Center, University of Washington, offers ethnic health and history profiles and articles about traditions and diets.
HealthWeb: Minority Health A list of minority health sites on the web.
Office of Minority Health includes newsletters, publications, statistics, and links to federal government clearinghouses and information centers
Pan American Health Organization profiles of North and South American countries, including primary health issues and risks.
The Provider's Guide to Quality & Culture provides data and information on health disparities, culturally competent care, and various ethnic groups.