Inogolo
An easy-to-use website devoted to the English pronunciation of the names of people, places, and various things. Contains thousands of pronunciations, each with phonetic and audio.
Merriam-Webster Online
Links to an online dictionary and thesaurus, plus other word information.
OneLook Dictionaries Indexes 215 general and subject specific dictionaries on the web.
Oxford Reference Online (requires St. Kate's login)
Full text of 100 authoritative dictionaries and reference books from Oxford University Press. It covers 20 different subject areas including the arts, biology, business, classics, computing, the environment, folklore, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, nutrition, medicine, philosophy, politics, religion, and the sciences.
Wordsmyth
A dictionary and thesaurus in one. Wordsmyth also contains links to a children's dictionary and other language resources.
yourDictionary.com
This site provides links to many other dictionaries. Especially useful for foreign language dictionaries, there are also subject dictionaries, thesauri, rhyming dictionaries, and much more.
Encyclopedia Britannica Concise
Shorter entries than the fee-based encyclopedia, but still authoritative (although heavily laden with online ads!)
Wikipedia
Wiki-produced encyclopedia that allows registered users to edit contnet. For this reason, some have questioned the authority of this source. Still, may be useful for background info as long as the content is carefully evaluated.
Almanacs
InfoPlease
Online version of the Time Almanac. Keyword search or browse by topic. Includes almanac, encyclopedia, dictionary, thesauri, atlas, timelines, country info, biographies, government data, and more.
GeoHive: Global Statistics
Population statistics by region, country or city, plus other economic factors such as wealth and income.
Old Farmers' Almanac Covers weather conditions and forecasts, recipes, gardening, tides, and other natural Earth events.