Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Early Books and Manuscripts /
History of the Printed Book

Contents:

Indexes to journal articles:
   Web-Based
   Print
World Wide Web Sites
Books


Electronic Indexes

About off-campus access

Search for journal articles in the following databases:

 
Academic Search Premier
A broad database covering many disciplines. Includes more than 4,600 full-text academic journals.  Covers 1975-
 
FirstSearch (password required)
Choose Arts and Humanities databases.  These may be the most helpful:
Online Arts & Humanities Citation Index
ECO
 
Art Full Text
Indexes 400+ art periodicals and museum publications from 1984-present. More than 100 titles in full text from 1997 forward.
 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Index to journal articles and other literature in the field of religion and theology.  Some of the journals indexed here may not appear in other databases.  Covers 1949-
 
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly full text journals, mostly in the humanities and social sciences.  Browse by journal or search by using keywords.
  
Project MUSE
Full text of 45 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.  Subjects include arts, culture, history, literature, and philosophy.
[back to top]

Print Indexes

Located on the Index Shelves on the Lower Level.  (You will find them along the left-hand wall as you reach the bottom of the front stairs.)

Essay and General Literature Index:  1900-1996
    Author and subject index to essays published in collections, with emphasis on materials in the humanities and social sciences.  Covers arts, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, education, law, political science, psychology, sociology, and science.
    AI3 .E752

Humanities Index:  1974-1994
    Author and subject index to periodical articles in the area of archaeology, classics, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
    AI3 .H85

International Index to Periodicals         1907-1955
International Index                                1955-1965
Social Sciences and Humanities Index 1965-1974
    Author and subject index to older periodicals and books useful in college and reference libraries.
    AI3 .R49

[back to top]


World Wide Web Resources

The following is a selected list of web resources that focus on the study of early books, illuminated manuscripts, and the history of printing.  Many of these sites contain links to other web resources.

Creating Illuminated Manuscripts

 Binding Time and Space
 Catholic Encyclopedia: Illuminated Manuscripts

 

Early Books and Illuminated Manuscripts

 Aberdeen Besitary: University of Aberdeen
 Cantigas de Santa Maria
 Catalan Manuscripts
 Choix de miniatures des manuscrits de l'Université de Liège
 Creating French Culture: Monarchs and Monasteries
 Digital Scriptorium
 DScriptorium Home Page
 Paging Through Medieval Lives
 Hill Monastic Manuscript Library
 Hypertext Book of Hours
Medieval Manuscript Leaves
 NetSERF: Medieval Art
 Planctus for William Longsword
 Rare Book & Manuscript Library: Columbia University
 Très riches heures du Duc de Berry
 WebMuseum: Les très riches heures du Duc de Berry

History of Printing

 Gutenberg Homepage: English version  
 History of Printing

 History of Printing and Printing Processes 
 PrintersMark: History of Printing Quick Links    

 Resources for the History of Books and Printing

[back to top]


Books

You will find a very good selection of materials about early books, illuminated manuscripts, and the history of the printed word in the CLIC libraries.  Moreover, you will find excellent examples of rare books and illuminated manuscripts in the Archives and Special Collections Department of the College of St. Catherine.  Please ask at the Reference Desk for the hours of the department, or contact S. Margery Smith, (651-690-6553) for an appointment.

Search  CLICnet    [Connect]

As you begin your search you may want to try browsing by subject or by call number within the broad range of these topics.
 
Subject Library of Congress Call Number
Book industries and trade Z116-Z550
Bookbinding Z266-Z275
Books - History Z4-Z8
Illumination of books and manuscripts ND2890-ND3416
Manuscripts Z105-Z115
Paleography Z105-Z115
Printing Z116-265
Publishers and publishing Z278-Z550

[back to top]