Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Resources for Evidence Based Practice

 

Databases and Indexes

Practice Guidelines

Critically Appraised Topics

Other Guides and Tutorials

 

Databases and Indexes

Use these databases to locate published evidence based journal articles like systematic reviews and practice guidelines. 

Cochrane Library --Systematic reviews of the literature

For searching assistance, see CSC's Guide to the Cochrane Library

PubMed-Clinical Queries --Evidence based filters in Medline

For searching assistance, see CSC's Guide to Medline and PubMed

CINAHL --systematic and integrated reviews

for searching assistance, see CSC's Guide to CINAHL

Practice Guidelines

These sources provide guidelines which use evidence based methodologies.

CDC Recommends: Prevention Guidelines - Searchable store house of documents

CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse**- EBM practice guidelines

National Institute for Clinical Excellence - UK Clinical Guidelines

Primary Care Clinical Practice Guidelines - University of California, SF

Critically Appraised Topics (CATs)

These sources offer abstracted and appraised articles that are clinically relevant.

ACP Journal Club - Articles reporting original studies and systematic reviews

Bandolier - Reviewed literature with subjects by medical speciality

Prime Answers - Portal from University of Washington

University of North Carolina - Index of CAT Sheets by Subject

Other Tools and Tutorials

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) from independent researcher Jon Brassey

The TRIP database, really a meta-search engine, allows searching across many web sites and online journals on evidence based topics.

SUMSearch from the University of Texas Health Science Center

This meta-search engine combs various internet sites for medical evidence. The majority links provided by SUMSearch come from three Internet sites - the National Library of Medicine (NLM), DARE, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC).

Evidence Based Medicine from the University of Hertfordshire

A thorough and up to date list of EBM web resources along with listings of EBM conference, courses, journal citations and other useful tools.

Netting the Evidence from the University of Sheffield, U.K.

An exhaustive EBM site with resources for searching for, implementing, and appraising medical evidence, as well as links for databases and other web-based resources.