This tutorial, from the University of Minnesota's Bio-Medical Library, will introduce you to a 5-step process for evidence based practice. You can also practice these steps, interactively, using case studies and find how to respond to them. Be sure to check out the References tab at the top of the page for more information.
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial for Nurses
Be guided through evidence based nursing by following their 4-step process of Question, Find, Appraise and Apply. Click through the left hand panel of options for easy to understand explanations and suggested questions to ask. Practice using clinical scenarios and use their freely available PICO Worksheet and Search Strategy to work through the steps on your own.
Information Literacy for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice
Follow the links on this web page from the WCSU Libraries and find information on what evidence based nursing is and why to use it. Also, learn how to search for evidence by developing a vocabulary, a search strategy, and about the different resources available.
Presents the terms often used in evidence based medicine and their definitions. Click on the links for calculation examples, treatment effects and much more.
Provides many of the statistical terms and definitions used in evidence based medicine.
Choose between four calculations to find: predictive values, absolute risk reduction, number needed to treat, confidence intervals, statistical significance and much more with this easy to use Calculator. Help bubbles are also available for some portions of the calculator.
From the pull down menu choose between four calculation types:
- Diagnostic Test- calculates Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
- Prospective Study- calculates Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
- Case-control Study- calculates Odds Ratio (OR)
- Randomized Control Trial (RCT)- calculates Relative Risk Reduction (RRR), ARR, and NNT
National Guideline Clearinghouse
An extensive database of evidence based practice guidelines. You can search using a keyword or be more specific with the detailed search option. Or browse guidelines by disease/condition, treatment/intervention or developing organization.
Evidence Based Care Sheets (CINAHL) (through St. Kates)
At the top of the CINAHL database click on Evidence Based Care Sheets. These can be browsed by keyword or alphabetically.
The Cochrane Library (through St. Kates)
This database contains evidence-based information through which health care can be determined. Be sure to check out the search tips on the right side of the page.
CINAHL (through St. Kates)
Contains every significant nursing periodical (in English) as well as several other allied health publications. For evidence based research be sure to limit your search results by clicking on the box next to Evidence-Based Practice under Search Options.
Medline (PubMed) or Medline (EBSCO) (through St. Kates)
Available from the National Library of Medicine, Medline covers numerous fields in medicine and the corresponding research.
TRIP (Turing Research Into Practice) gives the option of searching through evidence based medicine, medical images or patient information leaflets. Or specialize your search with one of their specialist sites.
Use SUMSearch to search for evidence through many databases at once. To maintain the validity of the information SUMSearch provides links mainly from either the National Library of Medicine, DARE or the National Guideline Clearinghouse.
Worldviews On Evidence-Based Nursing (through St. Kates)
From the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International and Blackwell Publishing this journal offers a global perspective of research, policy and practice, education and management.
Evidence-Based Nursing (through St. Kates)
This journal publishes scholarly information pertaining to international nursing research in the areas of treatment, diagnosis, etiology and prognosis. (Only available from 2001 through 2003.)
Find items on evidence based nursing available to you through CLICnet. Be sure to check which school the items are from and don't forget to search for many other materials available to you on evidence based practice and medicine as well.
An extensive list of additional resources for evidence based practice organized into eight different categories: Library, Searching, Appraising, Implementing, Software, Journals, Databases and Organisations. From the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) at the University of Sheffield, UK.
Nesbit Guide to Evidence-Based Resources
Find more online resources for evidence based practice in the following areas: Master Lists of Web Resources, Organizations, Guides & Tutorials, Tools & Search Filters, Systematic Reviews, Critically Appraised Topics, Journals and Practice Guidelines.
Research and Clinical Resources for Evidence Based Nursing (EBN)
From the center list of links find many resources for evidence based nursing. Including more databases, guidelines, statistics and much more.
http://www.uihealthcare.com/depts/nursing/rqom/evidencebasedpractice/iowamodel.html