Economics Resources
Contents:
Web-based Indexes to journal articles
Minnesota Statistics | United
States Statistics | International Statistics
Finance and Banking
Investment
International Trade
General Reference
Books
Students of Economics are interested in books, journal articles and working
papers that answer questions or stimulate their thinking about the economy
of the United States and the rest of the world. The following lists point
out some of the basic resources in the field of economics. Please ask a Reference Librarian
for assistance if you need help with any of the resources given here.
You can contact us at 651.690-6652 or send
us an email.
CSC
Economics Department Web site
Journal of Economic Literature
A comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective
volume articles, working papers, and dissertations in economics. Available
in three ways:
- Online full text via JSTOR
(1969 on - the most recent 3 years are not available)
- Online (citation only, no full text) in the EconLit database in FirstSearch
(1983-present; password required)
- In print at the St. Paul Campus Library, in Periodicals (1969-present)
Resources for Economists on the Internet http://www.rfe.org/
American Economic Association website - with over 1,600 resources on the internet of interest to economists.
Academic
Search Premier
Economics topics are included in this cross-disciplinary database. Access
scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text.
Business Source Premier
Full text for nearly 2,500 scholarly journals, trade journals, general business magazines. coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including international business, country reports economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch.
CIAO:
Columbia International Affairs Online Available on the Web. (http://www.ciao.org)
Contains full-text documents related to the theory and research in international
affairs, 1991 to the present. Includes policy briefs and economic indicators
from the Conference Board, the OECD, and the U.S. Government. Full-text
articles of interest to economists can be found on this database. Examples
include Caucasian Regional Studies, The Journal of Economic Perspectives,
Middle Eastern Review of International Affairs, OECD Observer, and Social
Sciences.
LexisNexis
Academic Available on the Web.
Covers general news, medical, legal, business, arts and sports, foreign
language newspapers. Includes New York Times, Minneapolis Star-Tribune,
St. Paul Pioneer Press in full text. Wall Street Journal citations and
abstracts are on LexisNexis, BUT the Wall St. Journal Full text is accessible
only using the Wall Street Journal site listed below.
PAIS
(Public Affairs Information Service) Available through CSA
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) is a database
of international public policy and social issues literature covering issues
and actions which affect world communities, countries, and governments.
Available on FirstSearch.
Wall Street Journal Available on the Web.
Online, Full text is available through the ProQuest
Newspapers database.
Minnesota Statistics
Minnesota State Demographic Center http://www.demography.state.mn.us/
Minnesota Department of Trade
and Development http://www.deed.state.mn.us/facts/index.htm
Minnesota's database of economic and demographic data.
Minnesota - Export & International Trade Statistics http://www.exportminnesota.com/itradestats.htm
United States Statistics
Web sites
GPO Access
Overall web access to federal government information
American Factfinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/
Census Bureau. 2000 Census data.
Budget of the United
States http://www.access.gpo.gov/usbudget/
Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://www.bea.gov/
One of the Commerce Department's statistical agencies - national, regional, industry and international data.
Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/econ/www/index.html
Latest national and subnational data for major economic programs like
the Economic Census and County Business Patterns, e.g. economic indicators.
2002 Economic
Census http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
Profiles the U.S. economy every five years.
County and City Data
Books http://fisher.lib.Virginia.EDU/ccdb/
Web access to the 1994, 1998, and 2000 County and City Data Books (also in print
in the Reference collection) Includes data on states, counties, cities
and places in the U.S.
CPI
http://minneapolisfed.org/research/data/us/calc/#calc
How the CPI is calculated. CPI and inflation rates 1913- .
http://stats.bls.gov/cpihome.htm The Bureau of Labor Statistics' CPI for
the U.S. city average and Minneapolis-St. Paul can be found here.
Economic Report of the President
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/
Also (Reference HC106.6 .A272 2002) Annual report of the Council of Economic
Advisors assessing the state of the United States' economy
Economics Statistics Briefing Room http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
Access to federal economic indicators: employment, income, international, money, output, prices, production and transportation.
Inflation Calculators
http://www.jsc.nasa.gov/bu2/inflate.html
Consumer Price Index (CPI), Employment cost Index (ECI), GDP Deflator
Calculator, International Price Index (IPI), Producer Price Index (PPI)
are all accessible on this site.
Statistical Abstract
of the U.S. (Latest print copy at the Reference Desk HA 202)
Internet site: http://www.census.gov/compendia/stab/
Well arranged, easy-to-read tables summarizing international financial
statistics, for example, central bank discount rates, exchange rates,
external public debt by country, etc.
Statistics International
Web sites
(also see International Trade for additional Web sites)
OFFSTATS:
Official Statistics on the Web
Excellent site with links to many country Web sites
http://www.library.auckland.ac.nz/subjects/stats/offstats/
Country Studies
Each country study provides economic, political, historical and social
information on a country (published by Library of Congress in a program
sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army from 1986-1998). The Library does own print
copies housed in the circulating collection. On CLICNET do a
title search for the name of the country and "country study",
e.g. India Country Study (DS407 .I4465 1996) http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Portals to the World
Library of congress website with business, economics, history for over 140 countries.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Background Notes
U. S. Department of State updates and revises based on reports received
from regional bureaus. Information on countries and regions of the world
can be found. Gives an overview of the economics of the country, but also
history, people, politics, foreign relations, U.S. relations, and travel
and business. http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn
Country Briefings
The Economist provides news, country profiles, forecasts, statistics for
countries.
http://www.economist.com/countries/
Gini Coefficient (measure of world income inequalities) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gini_coefficient
Gini coefficient is a measure showing the degree of inequality in a frequency
distribution; i.e. it is a way of characterizing inequality.
United Nations Department
of Economic and Social Affairs Statistics Division
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/
Global data - e.g. Millennium Indicators Database lists 48 social and
economic indicators by country and years since 1985.
Reference Books
Demographic Yearbook (Reference HA17 .D45 yr.)
United Nations annual collection of demographic statistics.
A Dictionary of Economics (via Oxford Reference Online)
Provides definitions for thousands of economic terms, covering all aspects of economic theory, from microeconomics to public finance and international trade. Also defines mathematical and statistical terms widely used in economics.
Economic Indicators (Reference HC 59.3 .E26 2004)
Data required for long term economic projections to assess long-term risk and economic projections. .
The Europa World Yearbook (Reference JN1 .E85 yr.)
The Europa Yearbook and the Statesman's Yearbook are excellent places
to start to gather data and information on countries of the world
Nations of the World (Reference HF 1010 .N37 2004)
Political, economic & business handbook with individual country and regional profiles. Includes Business directory and websites.
South America, Central America, and the Caribbean (Reference F1401 .S68)
Europa publication. Survey of political and economic life, and issues of regional significance, e.g. trade agreements.
The Statesman's Year-Book (Reference JA 51.S7 1997/98)
Basic data on the economy, energy & natural resources, industry, foreign
economic relations, etc. for individual countries and international organizations.
World Development Report 2005 (REference HC 59.7 .W59 2005)
Investment climate study based on data from 53 developing countries.
Banking, Finance, Monetary Policy
Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve Bank http://www.federalreserve.gov
The Federal Reserve is the central bank of the United States. The Fed
oversees the nation's monetary policy, banking institutions, etc.
Currency Converter http://www.xe.com/ucc/
Interactive foreign exchange currency rate calculations
Exchange Rates
http://pacific.commerce.ubc.ca/xr
Provides access to current and historic daily exchange rates.
FDIC
http://www.fdic.gov
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation was created in congress to maintain
stability in the banking industry. Included at this site are statistics
on banking, banking quarterly profile, consumer information, etc.
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
http://minneapolisfed.org
Contains information on interest and exchange rates charts, news releases,
economic research publications, banking and regulatory information.
Federal Reserve Bank of St.
Louis http://research.stlouisfed.org
FRED database of economic data e.g. business/fiscal, CPI, employment &
population, balance of payments, trade data, PPI, banking, etc.
Central Banks on the web
http://www.bis.org/cbanks.htm
Maintained by the Bank for international settlements- provides links to
Web sites for central banks, e.g. Albania
International Trade (See International Trade and Business course guide also)
Web sites
A Basic Guide to Exporting http://www.unzco.com/basicguide/
Joint publication of the Dept. of Commerce and Unz & Co. Practical guide to exporting.
Country Commercial
Guides http://www.export.gov/
Country commercial Guides are prepared annually by U.S. Embassies.
These reports provide a comprehensive look at commercial environments
using economic, political and market analysis.
United States
International Trade Statistics http://www.census.gov/ftp/pub/foreign-trade/www
Produced by the Census Bureau, this site provides links to historical
trade data, country by commodity data and international trade statistics.
GlobalEDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
Michigan State University site with current information on business climate,
news, history, political structure, economic landscape, and relevant
statistical data for 196 countries. You can compare and rank countries
using statistical indicators.
International Monetary Fund http://www.imf.org
Global Finance information. Country information - http://www.imf.org/external/country/index.htm#A
International Economic Trends. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
http://research.stlouisfed.org/publications/iet/
U.S. Bureau of Industry & Security http://www.bis.doc.gov/
Export Administration Regulations
World Bank http://www.worldbank.org
Country and Region information, data, activities of the World Bank and
programs. Some pdf files, some text provided. Includes newsletters, different
choices for each regional survey. For example, some data such as debt,
trade, found for Countries and Regions - search Finance and banking. Hot
links to other international monetary organizations, e.g. IMF, Inter-American
Development Bank, and Asian Development Bank (At the bottom right hand
side of page for "About the World Bank Group".
WTO/GATT Research http://www.law.nyu.edu/library/shortguideto.html
An authoritative guide to print, microfiche, and electronic resources
on the World Trade Organization and the General Agreement on Tariffs and
Trade.
International Monetary Fund http://www.imf.org
Has FAQ section, Fact sheets. Fact Sheets in "About the IMF' links
you to reports
Penn World Tables
http://datacentre.chass.utoronto.ca
Data from 152 countries and 29 subjects - Search Countries by Regions
(left hand side of page)
Web Resources for International Trade http://www.fita.org/webindex/index.html
Federation of International
Trade Associations. Links to international trade/Import-Export web
sites.
Books
Books in CLICNET, the Library's
online catalog, are assigned subjects based on the Library of Congress
Subject Headings (LCSH). If you are having trouble, you may wish to consult
LCSH for subject headings appropriate to your topic. The books are located
behind the Reference Desk. E-books in NetLibrary will be useful in your research.
Browsing shelf areas relevant to your topic can be a useful strategy.
Books in the Reference and circulating collections are shelved in general
subject categories according to the Library of Congress classification
system. Below is a brief listing of some of the shelf locations in the
field of economics.
HA Statistics
HB Economics theory; includes price, wealth, capital, profit, consumption,
business cycles
HC Economic history and conditions; by region and country
HD Economic history and conditions; production, agriculture, industry,
labor
HE Transportation and communications; railways, communications, air transportation
HF Commerce; boards of trade, tariffs
HF 1371 - International Trade
HG Finance; money, banking, credit, stocks, investment
HJ Public Finance
|