Students of education need information regarding the methods and theoretical foundations of teaching, and about the subjects that they will teach. The following lists point out some of the basic resources in the field of education, both in the St. Kate's Library and on the World Wide Web.
Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1949-2001)
Index shelves HQ 750 .A1 C47
Education Index (1929-1995)
Index shelves L11 .E38
Full-Text Journals |
Several library databases contain full-text journals for education. Here are some options:
The following journals are available over the Web:
The Future of Children
Provides access to research and policies on all aspects of children,
including education.
EEK! Environmental Education for Kids
Online environmental magazine for grades 4-8 from the Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources.
From Now On: The Educational Technology Journal
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
(online from SAGE eReference)
Educators' Reference
Desk (formerly AskERIC)
Links
to lesson plans, ERIC resources, guides for finding information, and
lots of other education related resources. The wealth of information
here makes it a good place to start.
Encyclopedia of American Education 3rd ed. 3 vols.
Ref LB 17 .U54 2007
Encyclopedia of Education 2d ed. 8 vols.
Ref LB 15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Educational Research 6th ed. 4 vols.
Ref LB 15 .E48 1992
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
(online from SAGE eReference)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Education
Ref LB 15 .S43 1988
The International Encyclopedia of Education 2d ed. 12 vols.
Ref LB 15 .I569 1994
The
Internet Public Library--Education
Resources for Teachers & Administrators, Early Childhood and Preschool,
K-12 Education, Higher Education, Alternative Education, Special Education,
and more.
The Language of Learning: A Guide to Educational Terms
Ref LB 15 .M32 1997
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Ref LB 17 .P485 1996
Teacher/Pathfinder:
An Educational Internet Village
Click on the Schoolhouse for links to assessment sites, resources
by subject, special needs resources, and other topics. Follow other
links to resources for professional development and parents.
Literacy | Special Education | Multicultural Education | Other
Handbook of Early Literacy Research
Ref LB 1139.5 .L35 H37 2001
Handbook of Language and Literacy
Ref LC 149 .H36 2004
Literacy in America: an encyclopedia of history, theory, and practice 2 vols.
Ref LC 151 .L487 2002
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation 4th ed.
Ref LC 3957 .V471997
Encyclopedia of Disability 5 vols.
Ref HV 1568 .E528 2006
Encyclopedia of Special Education 3rd ed. 3 vols.
Ref LC 4007 .E53 2000
Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Ref LC 1099 .D53 1997
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
(online from SAGE eReference)
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
(please read our special instructions)
Multicultural Pavilion: Teacher's Corner
A complete source for information about multicultural education. Includes resources for teachers, links to awareness activities, and multicultural research resources.
Catholic Schools in the United States
Ref LC 501 .C3483 2004
Education and Technology 2 vols.
Ref LB 1028.3 .E17 2004
Educational Measurement
Ref LB 3051 .E266 2006
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education
Ref LB 1139.25 .E53 1992
Encyclopedia of Education Law
(online from SAGE eReference)
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration 2 vols.
Ref LB 2805 .E527 2006
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
(online from SAGE eReference)
The Encyclopedia of Higher Education 4 vols.
Ref LB 15 .E49 1992
Encyclopedia of Multimedia Technology and Networking
(please read our special instructions)
This encyclopedia has several articles related to education issues
Gender and Education 2 vols.
Ref LC 213 .G425 2007
Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain 2 vols.
Ref LB 1060 .P683 2006
Gateway to
21st Century Skills (GEM)
"Thousands of free lesson plans and other teaching and learning resources at your fingertips!"
The Awesome Library
In addition to a collection of K-12 education resources arranged by subject, this site has lesson plans and multicultural and special education resources. There is also information for students and parents.
Also see the collection of elementary and secondary textbooks and teachers' guides in our Curriculum Collection, which you can search on CLICnet.
The Almanac of American Education, 2005 3 vols
Ref LA 217.2 .A45 2005
Digest of Education Statistics
Print volumes for the years 2001-2006 are available in the Reference Area, the years 1979-2000 are in the stacks. Both have call number L11 .D54
National Center for Education Statistics
A variety of data is available on this site
Online Education Database
Collection of international education statistics. This site also contains links to publications based on this data, including Education at a Glance and Education Policy Analysis.
Books in CLICnet, the Library's online catalog, are assigned subjects based on the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). If you are having trouble, you may wish to consult LCSH for subject headings appropriate to your topic. The books are located behind the Reference Desk.
CLICnet includes over 500 electronic books on education topics. These books can be accessed directly from your computer via NetLibrary. For more information, see our guide to NetLibrary.
Browsing shelf areas relevant to your topic can be a useful strategy. Books in the Reference and circulating collections are shelved in general subject categories according to the Library of Congress classification system. Below is a brief listing of some of the shelf locations in the field of education.
| BF | 712-720 | Developmental Psychology |
| 721-723 | Child Psychology | |
| LA | History of Education | |
| LB | Theory and Practice of Education | |
| 1025-1050 | Teaching (Principles and practices) | |
| 1051-1091 | Educational Psychology | |
| 1101-1130 | Child study | |
| 1140-1140.5 | Preschool education. Nursery schools | |
| 1141-1489 | Kindergarten | |
| 1501-1547 | Primary education | |
| 1555-1602 | Elementary or public school education | |
| 1603-1695 | Secondary education. High schools | |
| 1705-2286 | Education and training of teachers | |
| 2300-2430 | Higher education | |
| 2801-3095 | School administration and organization | |
| LC | Special aspects of education | |
| 8-63 | Forms of education, including: self, home and private | |
| 65-245 | Social aspects of education | |
| 251-951 | Moral and religious education | |
| 1099-1099.5 | Intercultural education | |
| 1390-5158 | Education of special classes of persons (including women) |
For assistance with any of the resources in this guide,
or for help doing research in education, contact:
Deborah Kloiber, Reference Librarian
Liaison for Education
Image at top of page from http://geocities.com/EnchantedForest/5229