|

| |
Ethics in Nursing
Contents of this
page:
Finding Books
/ Finding Articles / General Web
Resources / Web Resources by Topic / Web
Search / Citing Sources
Finding Books
- CLICNET
- The online catalog of St. Catherine University and the other CLIC
libraries, to locate books and audio-visual materials.
- MNCAT
- The online catalog of the University of Minnesota.
Finding
Journal Articles
Journal
List
- Bioethics, Nursing Ethics and
Medical Ethics Journals
- A list of journals found at St. Kate's and other local libraries. List also
contains indexing and holdings information.
Journal Indexes and
Online Databases
- BIOETHICS subset on Medline PubMed
- MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic
database covering the fields of medicine, bioethics, nursing, dentistry,
veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more
than 4,300 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70
other countries. Searchers of PubMed may limit to the "bioethics"
journal subset. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language
sources or have English abstracts. See Bioethics
Searching on PubMed for search tips.
-
BIOETHICS ONLINE
SERVICE
- A resource provided by the Medical College of Wisconsin. It is a collection
of abstracts of journal articles and other sources from the bioethics
literature. All entries are abstracted.
- CINAHL
- An index to major journals in nursing, occupational therapy and other
allied health fields. See the Guide to Cinahl
for search assistance.
General Web Resources and Overviews
The
American Society for Bioethics and Humanities (http://www.asbh.org)
From this professional society of individuals, organizations, and institutions
interested in
bioethics and humanities is a website with a helpful list of links for
on-line resources in ethics, including academic centers and programs,
government and public policy, history, law, science and technology.
The
American Society for Law, Medicine, and Ethics (http://www.aslme.org)
From this professional organization, a site that
highlights research, publications and current activities of the organization
and its members.
The
Center for Bioethics (http://www.bioethics.umn.edu)
From the University of Minnesota, the Center's site
offers a good list of web resources on specific ethics topics, as well
as information about the Center's research and publications.
The
Center for Ethics and Human Rights (http://www.ana.org/ethics/index.htm)
From the American Nurses Association, links on ethics
news, human rights issues, and ethical issues of importance to nurses.
MacLean
Center for Clincial Medical Ethics (http://ethics.bsd.uchicago.edu/us.html)
From the University of Chicago, the Center's web page offers an exhaustive
list of both U.S. and international centers and institutes.
Web Resources by Topic
This list of resources is highly selective
and does not include every web site related to these topics. The researcher
should use caution in using and citing sources off the web. See
Evaluating Information Found on the World Wide Web: a checklist
to guide your use of web resources in research projects.
Topic
Index
abortion
/ advanced directives
/ allocation of resources
/ assisted suicide
/ beginning of life /
confidentiality
/ euthanasia / end
of life / futility
/ genetic intervention
/ informed consent
/ life-sustaining treatment
/ medical costs /physician
assisted suicide / religion
/ reproductive technologies
/ spirituality
/ truth-telling / whistle-blowing
- Abortion
- Ethical Issues of
Abortion from Ethics Update (University of San Diego)
- Advanced directives and living wills
- Advanced
Directives Resources (University of Buffalo Center for Clinical
Ethics and Humanities in Health Care)
-
- Ethics
in Medicine: Advanced Directives (University of Washington School
of Medicine)
- Assisted Suicide see Euthanasia
- Beginning of life issues
- Ethics
in Medicine: Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (University of Washington
School of Medicine)
- Ethics
in Medicine: Maternal-Child Conflict (University of Washington School
of Medicine)
- Confidentiality
- Privacy
Issues (University of Buffalo Center for Clinical Ethics and Humanities
in Health Care)
- Ethics
in Medicine: Confidentiality (University of Washington School of
Medicine)
- Euthanasia/Assisted Suicide
- Assisted
Suicide Bibliography (National Resource Center for Bioethics Literature)
- Bioethics.net:
Court decisions and related links on assisted suicide (University
of Pennsylvania)
- Ethics Update resources
on Euthanasia (University of San Diego)
- End of Life Decisions
- Hospice
and Palliative Care Resources (University of Buffalo Center for
Clinical Ethics and Humanities in Health Care)
-
- Ethics
in Medicine: End of Life (University of Washington School of Medicine)
End of Life Care (Center for Bioethics, University of Minnesota)
- Information and Resources (Last
Acts, a member organization for improving end of life care)
- Pain and the Law (Center
for Health Law Studies, American Society of Law and Medicine)
- Futility
- Ethics
in Medicine: Medical Futility (University of Washington School of
Medicine)
- Genetic intervention
- Bioethics.net:
Ethics & Genetics (University of Pennsylvania)
- Genetic
Research Links (HealthWeb by Southern Illinois University School
of Medicine)
-
- Informed consent
- Ethics
in Medicine: Informed Consent (University of Washington School of
Medicine)
- Life sustaining treatment
- Ethics
in Medicine: Terminating Life-sustaining Treatment (University of
Washington School of Medicine)
- Guidelines on Forgoing
Life-Sustaining Medical Treatment for Adolescents
(American Academy of Pediatrics)
- Medical costs/allocation of resources
- Ethics
in Medicine: Managed Care (University of Washington School of Medicine)
- Managed Care Forum (American
Medical Specialty Organization)
-
- Religion and spirituality
- Ethics
in Medicine: Spirituality and Medicine (University of Washington
School of Medicine)
- Reproductive technologies
- Ethics
Update resources on reproductive technologies (University of San
Diego)
- Ethical Issues of Surrogate
Motherhood (American Academy of Pediatrics)
- Truth-telling/Whistle-blowing
- Ethics
in Medicine: Mistakes (University of Washington School of Medicine)
- Ethics
in Medicine: Truth-telling (University of Washington School of Medicine)
WWW
Search Tools
For a more comprehensive search
of web sites in health and medicine, use one of the search tools listed
below.
- Hardin Meta Directory
(Hardin Health Sciences Library at the University of Iowa)
- A subject list of sites that contain lists of resources...a directory
of directory sites.
- HealthWeb (Southern Illinois
University School of Medicine)
- A subject list of health and medicine sites.
- InfoMine (University of California)
- A subject list of scholarly internet sites.
- Medical Matrix
(Medical Matrix, LLC)
- A subject list of health and medicine sites. Must register (free)
to access.
- MedWeb (Robert W. Woodruff
Health Sciences Center Library at Emory University)
- A subject list of health and medicine sites.
- Yahoo Health
(Yahoo, Inc.)
- A subject index of health internet sites.
Citing
Sources
- The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
is often used as a guide for writing
and citing sources. A current copy of the manual is located in the
reference collection (REF BF76.6
.P83 2001). For a short guide to citing common publication types,
see APA Guidelines for Citing
Sources.
[back to top]
The creation of this site was funded,
in part, by a grant from the National Library of Medicine to the Rural
Nurse Practitioner Collaborative Project. This site is maintained by staff
of St. Catherine University Libraries
|