Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Title

 

Fashion and Design

Library & Information Resources

Contents:
Journal Indexes

Web Resources:
Metasites
| Fashion Images & News | History of Fashion
The Apparel Industry | Designers | Schools | Magazines & E-zines


Reference Books
Books

Return to FCNS page | Costume | Fabric and Textiles | Food and Nutrition


Web Resources

The Web provides a wealth of information on the fashion industry. Below is a selective list of Websites that might interest you. For more options, use an Internet search engine.

Metasites

Angel of Fashion
http://www.fashionangel.com/linkpages/
The site links to alternative fashion sites, e-zines, designers, modeling, and much more. Starting at this site gives an excellent overview of the richness of fashion information available.

Fashion Directory
http://www.fashion.tripnet.se/
Links to photography from some of the top fashion magazines.

Fashion Net
http://www.fashion.net/
This site sponsors live chat and bulletin boards as well as job listings, a fashion-specific search engine, and links to related beauty and modeling sites.

World Fashion sites
http://www.bgfashion.net/int/index.htm
This site links to designers, magazines, fashion schools, collections, textiles, models, and fashion museums. From Fashion.bg (Bulgaria!).

Fashion Images and News

Fashion India
http://www.fashionindia.net/index1.htm
Includes a wide array of fashion news from Indai, including stores, industry news, professional listings, becoming a model in India, trends, more.

FirstVIEW: Collections Online
http://www.firstview.com/home.html
Regarded as the premiere Internet publication for fashion show photographs from both the haute couture and ready-to-wear collections shown in Paris, New York, Milan, and London. Some current shows are available only by expensive subscription, but you will find some great images here.

Lucire
http://www.lucire.com/
Fashion news from New York, with updates for the current season. Features photography and articles.

History of Fashion

Digital History of Fashion
http://alpha.furman.edu/~kgossman/history/
Digital images of 2,500 years of fashion. Site from Furman University, Greenville, S.C. Scroll down for links to terms, fashion timeline, books, and further Web site recommendations.

Fashion Era.com
http://www.fashion-era.com/
World fashion beginning in the 1800s.

Solemates: The Century in Shoes
http://www.centuryinshoes.com/home.html
All about shoes, 1900 to the present.

The Apparel Industry

Apparel.net: The Online Guide for the Apparel Industry
http://www.apparelnews.net/
This comprehensive clearinghouse of links to over 2,000 apparel resources includes information on trade events, organizations, statistics, and news.

Fashion Windows: The Internet’s Database on Fashion Designers, Visual Merchandising, and Mannequins
http://www.fashionwindows.com/default.asp
This site is divided into four main areas: mannequins, visual merchandising, store windows, and fashion designers. Of special interest is the windows section, which include examples of successful window displays. Site also includes a good newsletter.

Designers

Yahoo!'s list of sites for designers is pretty comprehensive. For others not listed here, use an Internet search engine. (Also, consult the CSC Reference books, listed below.)

Schools

Yahoo!'s partial listing of schools of design

Fashion Institute of Technology
http://www.fitnyc.suny.edu/
FIT, a SUNY college, offers AA and BA degrees for those interested in careers in the apparel industry, with degrees in textile and surface design, restoration, fashion merchandising management, and more.

Magazines and E-zines

Yahoo! has a comprehensive list of online magazines

Elle Magazine
http://www.elle.com/

Fashion Click : The Online Fashion and Style Magazine
http://www.fashionclick.com/index.htm
Covers fashion and collections as well as standard fashion magazine topics.

Fashion Planet
http://www.fashion-planet.com/
This online magazine includes daily updated news items relating to the fashion industry, with a special topic in each issue.

Fashion Icon
http://www.fashion-icon.com/
One of the first fashion e-zines Fashion Icon offers analysis and opinion about current fashion trends.

Lumiere
http://www.lumiere.com/
One of the earliest online sources of in-depth and up-to-the-minute information on fashion, beauty, and contemporary culture.

New York Times: Fashion and Style on the Web
http://www.nytimes.com/library/style/index-style.html

[Back to top of page]


Reference Books

The books listed here are available in the Reference Room of the St. Kate's St. Paul campus Library.

Apparel Design and Production Book/A Technical Reference
Ref. TT 497 .A67 (2001)

Contemporary Fashion Ref. TT 505 .A1C66 (2002)

Dictionary of Costume and Fashion Ref. 503 .P49 (1999)

Dictionary of Interior Design 3 vols.

Ref. NK 1165 .P4 (1983)

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion Ref. GT 507 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Fashion Ref. GT 507 .O53 (1986)

Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions Ref. TT 617 .S36E (1973)

Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion 13th ed. Ref. TT 503 .C34 (2003)

Fairchild Encyclopedia of Fashion Accessories Ref. GT 2050 .T67 (2003)

Fashion and Fashion Designers Ref. GT 507 .O53 (1998)

Fashion Book Ref. TT 503 .F37

Fashion Directory Ref. TT 495 .E34 (1992)

Fashion in History, Western Dress, Prehistoric to Present Ref. GT 510 .B47 (1979)

Guide to Historical Costume Ref. TT 503 .B33 (1995)

Guide to Textiles for Interiors 3rd ed. Ref. NK 2115.5 F3 J32 (2003)

Pictorial Encyclopedia of Fashion Ref. GT 513 .K813f (1968)

St. James Fashion Encyclopedia Ref. TT 505 .A1S7 (1996)

Who's Who in Fashion Ref. TT 505 .A1S74 (1996)


Books you can check out

Consult CLICnet for books in the circulating collection of the ACTC colleges. Perform a subject search for fashion, then look at the many subheadings for that topic.

[Back to top of page]