Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Help Locating Journal Articles

Find out:

Where to look for articles
How to find the actual text of articles from Databases
How to find an article when I know the title
Where are the Print journals
What to do if you don't have the journal I'm looking for

 

 

 

 

Printable handout: Locating Journal Articles .


Where to look to find articles:

  • Search for journal articles in any of our databases. The databases are paid for by the library and contain articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines.
  • You may also search for articles on the Web (try using Google Scholar, for example)
  • Once you have found an article citation, use the directions below to find the text

Locating articles after searching in Databases (such as Academic Search Premier or CINAHL):

  • Some databases provide some or all articles in full text. Look for the link for either PDF Full Text (which will be a scanned copy of the original article) or HTML Full Text (which will look like a Web page).
  • If the full text is not provided for you, look for one of these links:
    Check for full text CSC
    Find other sources for full text
  • Clicking on the link will open a new window and give the holdings information for that journal
  • If it says Sorry, no holdings were found for this journal you will need to obtain the article through Interlibrary Loan. Click the link to find the request form containing the citation for your article. Enter your St. kate's email address in the Delivery space, then scroll down and enter your name and 14 digit barcode from your college ID. Submit the form. Allow 2 to 5 days for delivery.


If you already have a citation (you know which journal and article you need):


College of St. Catherine Library's Print Holdings

All print journals (meaning, the actual paper journals themselves) are arranged alphabetically by title in the Libraries.

St. Paul Campus Library
If your journal is in print, you will find current issues (the past 3 years for most journals) in the Reference Room on the main floor.
Older issues are located on the lower level of the library.

Minneapolis Campus Library
The current year's periodicals are located across from the Circulation desk. The older periodicals begin after the Reference collection, on the west end of the Library.

You cannot check out journals, but you may make photocopies. Copies are 10¢ per page. Bring cash. Get more information on Photocopying, Printing, and Microforms.


Requesting articles from journals that our Library does not own:

  • Request articles through Interlibrary Loan. We will figure out who owns this journal and obtain a copy, which we will send to you (either by email or in paper). Allow 2 to 5 days for processing and delivery.
  • If your time is short, you may wish to drive to another CLIC college library for your article. You may search in CLICnet by Journal Title to see if another CLIC library owns that journal.