|

| |
Folk Art and World Art
A guide to library research
Contents of this page:
Introduction
Find Books Search
for Articles
Web resources Encyclopedic
Art Sites Local Resources Folk
Art and Outsider Art
Crafts World Art
Finding, citing, and evaluating sources on the WWW
Introduction
Welcome to the Folk Art and World Art Subject Guide. Here you will find
some tips to get you started on your research in the area of Folk and Outsider
Art as well as World Art. This page will give you suggestions on how to
find information on the art of many different cultures and groups not only
in Minnesota but around the world as well.
The World Wide Web sources on this page have been chosen for their content
as well their ability to allow you to explore further on your chosen topic.
This page is by no means comprehensive. There is a lot of information
out there on the various issues surrounding this topic. Please ask a Reference
Librarian for assistance with any of the resources given here or if you
would like some personal help in exploring further.
Visit the CSC-M Voice
and Vision Student Gallery or Folk Art instructor Carolyn
Erler's webpage.
back to top

Books
Search CLICnet, our electronic
card catalog, for books on your culture or medium of choice. You may request
books from other libraries in our consortium as well as find materials available
right here at St.Kate's.
A tip : Art subject headings follow the format of "art, ethnic group".
So, try looking up subjects like "art, african" or subject keywords like
"art and bangladesh". For a more specific search, you might try something
like "sculpture, african."
See the Guide to CLICnet for more information.
Browsing shelf areas that are relevant to your topic can be a
useful strategy. Books in the Reference and circulating collections are
shelved in general subject categories according to the Library of Congress
classification system. Below is a brief listing of some of the shelf locations
| N |
|
Visual arts (general) |
| NA |
|
Architecture |
| NB |
|
Sculpture |
| NC |
|
Drawing. Design. Illustration. |
| ND |
|
Painting |
| NE |
|
Print media |
| NK |
|
Decorative arts. Applied arts. Folk Art. Decoration
and ornament. Including antiques in general. |
| NX |
|
Arts in general, including works dealing with two or
more of the fine arts media. |
| TR |
|
Photography |
| TT |
|
Crafts |
Articles
- Academic
Search Premier
- The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic
Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications,
including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage
spans virtually every area of academic study, including the arts.
-
MasterFILE Premier
-
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database
provides full text for more than 2,050 general periodicals with full
text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area
of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes more than 350
full text reference books (for example, the World Almanac, Magill Book
Reviews, and American Heritage Dictionary), 84,074 biographies, 86,132
primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos,
maps and flags.
Search Art
Full Text for citations to articles about a whole host of art-related
subjects.
back to top
World
Wide Web sources
Encyclopedic Art Sites | Local Resources
| Folk Art and Outsider Art | Crafts
| World Art
Encyclopedic Art Sites
- Artcyclopedia.com
- Allows you to browse by movement, medium, subject, nationality. Each
artist has links to one or more current online exhibitions. Also a good
set of links to many other art resources on the web.
- ArtDaily
- This online magazine is updated daily, allowing you to find out what
happened today in the world of art. A lot about "the current scene."
Plus links to other art magazines on the web. Don't miss the comprehensive
artists list.
- Art History Resources
on the Web
- An award-winning website. Covers art history from the Prehistoric
to the Modern. A very nice breakdown of history and styles and movements
by century. Also a section on Non-European Art, Research Resources and
Museums and Galleries.
- ArtSeek
- The focus here is "Art on the Internet." A good listing of virtual
art galleries, art museums online and art publications online.
Local Resources
- Artsnet Minnesota
- A webpage created by four local museums, the Walker
Institute, Minneapolis Institute
of Arts, Minnesota Museum of American
Art, and the Weisman Art Museum
from the University of Minnesota. This site explores such concepts as
: "What is Art" "Identity" "Environment" "Designing spaces and places"
and "Inner Worlds".
-
- Needlework Guild of Minnesota
- A non-profit organization. Check out their needlework tips.
-
- Minnesota Crafts Council : A Regional
Arts Organization
- Their mission is "to foster, encourage and promote the creation,
use and enjoyment of crafts." See some award-winning local crafts.
Folk Art and Outsider Art
Folk Art Society of America
- Read their bulletin, the Folk Art Messenger. Check out articles featuring
individual folk artists and also links to more folk art sites.
- Intuit : the center for intuitive
and outsider art
- Good for Outsider Art Environments.
- Museum of American Folk Art,
New York New York
- See some of the "finer" pieces of American Folk Art.
- Museum of International Folk Art
- In Santa Fe New Mexico. Several online exhibits as well as information
about their permanent collections : World Folk Objects, Spanish Colonial
Art, International Textiles and Costumes, and Contemporary Southwestern
Hispanic Art.
- Raw Vision
- This online version of the "International Journal of Intuitive and
Visionary Art" provides access to many articles from back issues as
well as a very good set of links to other folk and outsider art pages.
Don't miss their statement on the history and ideology of "outsider
art."
Crafts
- Crafts Fair Online! The
hotlinks page
- For all Arts and Crafts on the Web. Includes : ideas and instruction,
crafts message boards and crafts publications.
-
- Yahoo's Crafts Directory
- From Basketry to Origami to Woodworking.
World Art
Arts of Many Cultures | African Art | African-American
Art | Asian Art | Native
American Art | Hispanic/Latin America
Art
Arts of Many Cultures
- WWW Virtual Library : Regional
Studies
- A thorough listing of cultures from around the world. Pages listed
here will lead you to information on art as well as other cultural
phenomena.
- World Art Treasures
- 100,000 slides available online from the Jacques-Edouard Berger
Foundation. Go through 16 itineraries which include the art of Japan,
Egypt, Cambodia, Thailand, Burma. Robust essays accompany the
images.
-
- Yahoo's
Art Links : Cultures and Groups
- Something for almost everyone. Cultures from Afghan to Yoruba.
Also includes : disabilities, lesbians and gays, women, religion,
seniors and children.
African Art
- Sub-Saharan
African Art
- From the Michael C.Carlos Museum of Emory University, a nice selection
as well as detailed information on African Art objects.
- African
Art : Aesthetics and Meaning
- An electronic exhibition catalog from the Bayly Art Museum at the
University of Virginia. Exhibition images are accompanied by essays
and a bibliography.
- Africa
: Arts and Architecture
- Nicely annotated set of links on this subject from the University
of Pennsylvania's African Studies website.
African
American Art
- Afro-American Arts : Visual
Arts and Poetry
- From the African-American Web connection.
Asian Art
- Asiannet
- Look for links to art pages in this database which covers a wide
range of cultural and commercial sites. Countries covered include
: Hong Kong, Japan, China, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia,
Philippines, Korea, and Taiwan. Warning : you may have to ask for
the English version of a page.
- Many Faces -
Many Paths : Art of Asia, Glenbow Museum
- An online exhibition of sacred objects from the Buddhist and Hindu
Cultures of Asia.
Native
American Art
- NativeTech
- This is an amazing website "dedicated to disconnecting the term
'primitive' from perceptions of Native American Technology and Art".
It offers a great selection of topics on Native American Culture,
notable crafts e.g. beadwork, birds and feathers, clay and pottery
to name a few. Also information on museums, music and performance,
stories, history, .... This site also contains a well-selected set
of links to many other websites on specific tribes and aspects of
Native American culture. And, there is a very good page here entitled
"Techniques for evaluating American Indian Websites.
Hispanic/Latin
American Art
- Azteca Web Page
- "The Azteca Web Page contains information especially accumulated
for Mexicans, Chicanos and/or Mexican Americans." Pages here are in
Spanish, English, or both. Check out the link to "Art and Dance" as
well as other links to cultural information pertaining to this group.
- Latin American Art Museum
- This site has both a Spanish and an English version. It is the
"first visual art institution in Florida to foster and promote
both established and emerging contemporary artists of diverse Latin
American, Caribbean and Spanish heritage." A contemporary art
museum; don't expect to find Pre-Columbian or historical art here.
- Museum of Latin American Art
- "MOLAA encourages the understanding of the work of living artists
in Mexico, Central and South America." Take a virtual tour. Investigate
further with a good set of links to related websites.
back to top
Searching the World Wide Web
Search the Internet Worldwide A St.Kate's
library guide, this page lists search engines and subject guides and also
gives you some description and pointers on how to search them.
Evaluating Information Found on the World
Wide Web : a checklist, by Amy Shaw, College of St. Catherine
Library.
See St.Kate's Style Manuals guide to learn how
to cite web pages in your research.
back to top
|