Food and Nutrition--
Library/Information Research Guide
Back to FCSN page |
Fashion and Design | Fabric and Textiles
| Costume
Reference Books
The following books are shelved in the Reference Room of the St. Paul
Campus Library, unless otherwise noted:
An A-Z of Food and Drink (via Oxford Reference Online)
Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used.
REF. TX 551 .B64 (1998)
Cambridge World History of Food REF. TX 353 .C255 (2000)
2 vols.
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition (via Oxford Reference Online)
Encyclopedia of Diet Fads. REF. RM 222.2 .B535 (2003)
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. REF. QP 141
.E526 (1999) 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Food Science, Food Technology, and Nutrition.
REF. TX 349 .E47 (1993) 8 vols.
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise (via Oxford Reference Online)
Foods & Nutrition Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. REF.
TX 349 .F575 (1994)
Food Safety REF. TX 531 .R44 (2000)
Handbook of Food Additives: an international guide to more than
7,000 products by trade name, chemical name, function and manufacturer.
REF. TX 553.A3 A84 (1995)
International Dictionary of Food and Cooking REF. TX 349
.S55 (1998)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. REF. TP
9 .E685 (1991- 97)
Larousse Gastronomique: The New American Edition of the World's
Greatest Culinary Encyclopedia. REF. TX 349 .M613 (1988)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. REF.
Q 121 .M3 (1997)
Oxford Companion to Food REF. TX 349 .D36 (1999)
Webster's New World Dictionary of Culinary Arts. REF. TX
349 .W42 (1997)
[Back to Top]
Web Resources
General nutrition information
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
http://www.usda.gov/cnpp/
An agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Dietary and Food Pyramid
guidelines, reports and research, full text of the semiannual newsletter
Family Economics and Nutrition Review.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/
The FNIC is based at the National Agricultural Library. Provides info
on hundreds of topics, as well as sections on food composition, dietary
supplements and guidelines, a consumer corner and several searchable databases.
Highly recommended site.
Martindale's Health Science Guide - The "Virtual" Nutrition Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/HSGuide.html
Nutritional information, including full-text documents on cooking, food
science, food management, safety, recipes and online journals
MayoClinic.com
http://www.mayoclinic.com/findinformation/healthylivingcenter/
Select "Food and Nutrition." Features useful, sound eating guides,
calorie counter, special diets, weight control, cooking, food safety and
recipes.
Nutrition.gov
http://www.nutrition.gov (site
under construction as of 10-20-04)
Web site providing portal access to multiple agencies of the U.S. Federal
government. Provides info on nutrition, food safety, dietary guidance,
exercise and weight control, management of diabetes and heart disease,
and more. Also, provides links to federal programs such as food stamps,
WIC, school lunch, and much government-funded research.
Tufts University Nutrition Navigator
http://www.navigator.tufts.edu/
Metasite that links to and rates Web sites on a wide range of topics,
including women, men, seniors, health professionals, weight control and
general nutrition.
Food safety
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/
A service of the FDA (Food and Drug Administration), this site provides
a wealth of information of food safety, storage and preparation, nutrition,
labeling, importation, food additives, cosmetics and more.
[Back to Top]
Recipes,
Ethnic Foods and Special Diets
For information about foods and recipes for countries worldwide, try
one of the following sites. Or, use an Internet search engine (links follow)
and in the search box, type countryname and
recipes or countryname and
foods .
To find books on a country, search CLICnet
and perform a subject search for cookery (examples:
cookery french or cookery italian or cookery greek)
or a subject keyword search for food and countryname.
African Cookbook
http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/Cookbook/about_cb_wh.html
Menus and recipes from 10 African nations.
Bread.Com
http://www.bread.com/
All about bread and grains, including history, nutritional info and
recipes.
Candy USA
http://www.candyusa.org/
All about candy, including recipes, news, history, a kids' page, statistics
and nutritional information. Site from the National Confectioners and
Chocolate Manufacturers Associations.
Cheese Site
http://www.cheese.com
Search for cheese by name, country, milk or texture. Find cheese facts
and cheese recipes. In other words -- all about cheese!
Cook It Quick: Finding Recipes on the Internet
http://lancaster.unl.edu/food/ciqj.htm
Sites and advice on finding food info and recipes, from the University
of Nebraska's extension service.
Diabetic Recipes
http://www.diabetic-recipes.com
Searchable by ingredient or by menus. Each recipe includes food exchange
and nutritional information.
Diana's Gourmet Corner
http://belgourmet.com/
Recipes and food info from hundreds of countries,
as well as vegetarian and vegan selections.
FoodFit.com
http://www.foodfit.com/
Handy recipes search feature.
Latin American Recipes
http://www.ma.iup.edu/Pueblo/latino_cultures/recipes.html
Low-fat recipes provided by the American Cancer Institute, part of a Website
on Latino
Cultures and History site from the Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
LowCarbFriends Recipe Room
http://www.atkinsfriends.com/recipes/
Hundreds of low-carbohydrate, Atkins-type recipes.
Meals For You
http://www.mealsforyou.com/
Special diets, quick & easy, nutritional requirements, a newsletter,
and more.
Recipe Source
http://www.recipesource.com/
New name for SOAR, the Searchable Online Archives of Recipes from UC Berkeley.
Search by country or type of dish. Scroll down to Restricted and
Special Diets for baby food, diabetic, gluten-free and vegetarian
diets. Highly recommended source.
Sally's Place Ethnic Foods
http://www.sallys-place.com/food/ethnic_cusine/ethnic_cusine.htm
Coverage of selective countries' cuisine and restaurant fare.
Soul Food Cookbook
http://www.soulfoodcookbook.com/
The Soul Food Cookbook is a collective cookbook of recipes from the
Black/African American, Jamaican and Caribbean cultures.
VeganCooking.com
http://vegancooking.com/
Recipes made without animal products.
Vegan Mania
http://www.veganmania.com
Easy to search and extensive range of recipes. Sure to please the vegans
among us!
Vegetarian Resource Group
http://www.vrg.org/
Recipes and other resources for vegetarians.
VegWeb
http://vegweb.com/food/
This site features meal planners, thousands of recipes and other resources
for vegetarians.
Search engines for
performing subject searches on the Web are available from the St. Catherine
Library Home Page. Try AltaVista, HotBot or your own favorite. Yahoo!
also provides a listing of Web sites on nutrition.
[Back to Top]
Professional
Organizations and Higher Education
American Dietetic Association (ADA)
http://www.eatright.org/Public/
Contains information about careers, conferences, continuing education,
government actions, food and nutrition, more. Provides indexing and abstracts
of scientific articles in the Journal of the American Dietetic Association
since January 1998.
American Society for Clinical Nutrition
http://www.ascn.org/
Provides text of ASCN Position Papers, Congressional testimony, press
releases, jobs, and links to related organizations.
American Society for Nutritional Sciences
http://www.asns.org/
Canadian Society for Nutritional Sciences
http://www.nutritionalsciences.ca/
Dietitians of Canada
http://www.dietitians.ca/
Provides professional as well as consumer information.
Institute of Food Technologists
http://www.ift.org/cms/
Web page of this nonprofit, scientific professional society. Includes
membership information and directory, and indexing of several of their
publications.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
http://www.fshn.uiuc.edu/
Website of the department Food Science and Human Nutrition.
University of Minnesota Department of Food Science and Nutrition
http://fscn1.fsci.umn.edu/
Information on the U's graduate and undergraduate programs in food Science
and Nutrition.
[Back to Top]
Health, disease and eating disorders
American Diabetes Association
http://www.diabetes.org/
Research, advocacy, prevention, nutrition, exercise, legal resources and
more.
American Heart Association
http://www.americanheart.org/
Food Allergy Network
http://www.foodallergy.org/
Advocacy, research and advice for managing various food allergies.
National Eating Disorders Association
http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/
Children
Kidnetic.com
http://www.kidnetic.com/
Fun interactive site for kids and parents promoting healthy eating and
exercise.
Nutrition Explorations
http://www.nutritionexplorations.org/
Nutrition education interactivity for kids, parents, teachers and school
food services workers.
Hunger action
Food Action Research Center
http://www.frac.org/
Research and public policy center focused on reducing hunger in the U.S.
Oxfam America
http://www.oxfamamerica.org/
Advocacy for worldwide hunger issues.
[Back to Top]
|