Guide to French Research
MLA
Bibliography
Indexes articles on literature, language, linguistics and folklore from
1963 to present.
JSTOR
Scholarly full-text articles on a wide range of subject areas.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier
Index to articles on a number of multidisciplinary topics.
LexisNexis Academic
Access to news, business, and legal information. Newspapers from around the world are available.
Reference Books
Dictionaries and Language |
French-English Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (English-French) (French-English)
(via Oxford Reference Online - About off-campus access)
The Oxford Business French Dictionary (English-French) (French-English)
(via Oxford Reference Online - About off-campus access)
Grand dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français
Ref. PC2640.G68 1993
French Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionnaire des oeuvres litteraires de langue française
Ref. PQ41.B42 1994
Dictionnaire general de la langue française
Ref. PC2625 H28
(2 volumes)
Encyclopedie du bon français dans l'usage contemporain
Ref. PC2460.D88
(3 volumes)Insiders' French: beyond the dictionary
Ref. PC2680.L38 1999
Le Petit Larousse Illustre*
Ref. AG25. P43 2005
(dictionary and encyclopedia)
[Back to Top]
Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture
Ref. DC33.7 E53 2002
The regions of France: a reference guide to history and culture
Ref. DC33.7.N63 1996
[Back to Top]
Finding Books on CLICnet
CLICnet is the online catalog
for the ACTC schools. You can search CLICnet by keyword by entering
your search terms in the box. You can connect terms using AND, OR, and
NOT. Find out more about searching and using CLICnet through our guide.
Materials in CLICnet are assigned
specific subjects based on the Library of Congress Subject Headings
(Subject). To do a subject search, select Subject and try subject
searches such as:
| Suggested Subject Searches: |
French Literature |
French poetry |
| |
Academie Francaise |
France History |
If you are having trouble finding the exact subject heading, ask a
Reference Librarian for assistance.
You may want to browse the shelves for French language and literature
books just to see the range of books owned by the CSC libraries.
- French language books can be found in the call numbers PC2001
through PC3761.
- French literature books can be found in the call numbers PQ1 through PQ3999.
- General language books can be found in the call numbers PC1 through PC400.
- Books on the history of France can be found in the call numbers DC1 through DC947.
If you want to find books written in French, select Limit or Sort
this search at the top of the results page or choose the Advanced Search option.
| Example: |
Search Subject: France History |
| |
Select Modify this search from
the top of the page |
| |
Use the pull-down menu under Language
to select French |
| |
(This limited your previous list to those
works under the topic France-History, written in French |
[Back to Top]
Internet
Sources
ARTFL
Nearly 2000 full-text titles on French literature, philosophy, art,
and sciences including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/
College of St. Catherine French Department
College of St. Catherine Language Center and Language Lab
Alliance
Française
A non-profit organization for the dissemination of French language and
culture.
http://globegate.utm.edu/french/globegate_mirror/alliance.html
American Association of Teachers
of French
http://frenchteachers.org
ARTFL
Project: French-English Dictionary Form
A simple French-English dictionary with 75,000 terms.
http://humanities.uchicago.edu/forms_unrest/FR-ENG.html
Learning Languages.net
A collection of websites intended for kids learning languages including
French. A good place to practice for beginners of any language.
http://learninglanguages.net/
Collected French
Verse
Choose "Collected French Verse." www.bibliomania.com/0/2/frameset.html
Ministère de la Culture et
de la Communication Includes current events, exhibitions, recent
publications, and much more. web.culture.fr/
ARTFL Nearly
2000 full-text titles on French literature, philosophy, art, and sciences
including dictionaries and encyclopedias. www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/
L'Express
http://www.lexpress.fr/Express/
Le Figaro
http://www.lefigaro.fr/
Le Monde
http://www.lemonde.fr/
Paris
Match
http://www.parismatch.com/site/
Francité
Google: France
Yahoo! France
Tiscali Recherche
Voila
Typing
Accents for French Class
From the University of Illinois French Department
http://www.french.uiuc.edu/Courses/100Level/TypingAccents.htm
Typing
French Accents
For Windows or Macintosh
http://french.about.com/library/bl_faq_accents.htm
[Back to Top]
|