Health Statistics on the
Web
Contents:
State and Local / Federal / International
State
and Local Resources
Minnesota
Health Statistics Report from the Minnesota Department of Health
http://www.health.state.mn.us/stats.html
In addition to statewide vital statistics, it's an excellent place to
search for data on public health issues like lead poisoning, child vaccination
rates, sexually transmitted diseases and HIV/AIDS. Also, a good source
of statistics on statewide employment data for healthcare professionals
and for statistics related to health insurance coverage and rates.
Minnesota
Health Profiles from the MN Department of Health
http://www.mnplan.state.mn.us/datanetweb/health.html
County data and cumulative state data including demographics and vital
statistics, morbidity, chemical health indicators, environmental health,
maternal and child health. Easy to navigate, the site offers some of the
most frequently sought health data in a readable format. Particularly
noteworthy are the chemical indicators, which include alcohol and tobacco
use and alcohol related accidents. Also worth noting are the environmental
health indicators that include food-borne and water-borne disease outbreaks
and blood lead levels.
United
States
Directories
/ Databases / Overviews
FASTATS
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/default.htm
From the National Center for Health Statistics this portion of the Center's
site offers an A to Z subject list of health statistics. The subject directory
lives up to its promise to be a one-stop place to find commonly sought
health statistics for diseases and conditions, public health issues and
vital statistics.
FEDSTATS
http://www.fedstats.gov
This gateway site offers access to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal
agencies. The site's most useful feature is the ability to search the
resources of many federal agencies by keyword and subject. It's a good
starting place when searching for federal level statistics.
CDC
Wonder
http://wonder.cdc.gov/
The Centers for Disease Control database that provides access to a wide
variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and publicly available data sets.
Users may register to use the database or may logon anonymously.
State
Health Facts Online
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org
The Kaiser Family Foundation has created a web page that offers recent
state-level data. The site does an excellent job of graphically presenting
demographic data as well as statistics on health and health policy, including
health insurance coverage and access, and health education. Data can be
easily compared state to state. Noteworthy, are the numerous health statistics
by race/ethnicity collected for each state.
ChildStats.gov
http://www.childstats.gov
This web site offers easy access
to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families,
including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health,
behavior and social environment,and education. Also includes links to
international comparisons for the indicators found in the America's Children
report.
AgingStats.gov
http://www.agingstats.gov
The website of the Federal Interagency
Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. The report Older Americans: Key Indicators
of Well-Being is available here (covering 31 key indicators selected by
the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their
families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics,
health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.) The site
also links to aging-related statistical information on Forum member websites.
Agencies
Administration
on Aging
http://www.aoa.gov/aoa/STATS/statpage.html
The Administration on Aging provides statistical information on older
persons, including vital statistics and statistics on disability, health
and access to health care.
Administration
for Children and Families
http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/news/stats/index.html
The Administration for Children and Families site contains statistics
about child well-being and care, including adoption and foster care rates,
child maltreatment and abuse statistics.
Cancer.gov
http://www.cancer.gov/statistics
From the National Cancer Institute, the site offers in-depth information
about most cancers, including cancer statistics, cure or survival rates,
incidence and costs. The Institute's Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End
Results
(SEER) Program also provides annually updated reports on the incidences
of various cancers. The SEER reports identify population subgroups and
geographic areas where national cancer control measures are focused.
Drug
Statistics Master Page
http://www.iprc.indiana.edu/drug%5Fstats/
From the Indiana Prevention Resource Center (IPRC). The site offers statistics
about alcohol, tobacco and other drug use and abuse. While many of the
statistics and publications available here are for the state of Indiana,
the site also provides national and international statistics and links.
Health
Insurance Data
http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/hlthins.html
From the Census Bureau, a summary of relevant collected census data pertaining
to access to health insurance in the U.S.
National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/departments/nrd-30/ncsa/NCSASearch.html
NHTSA's National Center for Statistics and Analysis disseminates statistics
on traffic safety, motor vehicle fatalities, crashes and injuries.
National
Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/publications
The NIAID fact sheet pages are particularly useful in that they provide
statistics on most known infectious diseases both common and rare. The
statistics quoted are authoritative and thoroughly cited.
National
Safety Council
http://www.nsc.org/library.htm
Offers U.S. and some international statistics on accidents and unintentional
injuries. Also offers safety fact sheets on popular topics, some of which
contain statistics.
Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
http://www.drugabusestatistics.samhsa.gov
SAMHSA and its component, the Drug and Alcohol Information System (DASIS)
collects and provides statistics which describe the extent, cost, impact,
and treatments of addictive and mental illnesses. Federal and state statistics
are available here.
International
WHO
Statistical Information System
http://www.who.int/whosis
Access to data from the World Health Organization. Some data are provided
in downloadable Excel spreadsheets. Links to other health agencies in
member countries are also supplied.
Country
Health Profiles
From the Pan American Health Organization, these country profiles for
the Americas provide vital statistics, access to healthcare estimates,
disease incidences, epidemiological data and vaccination rates. Good discussion
of each country's challenges and barriers with regard to healthcare.
World
Health Statistics from global health.gov
http://www.globalhealth.gov/worldhealthstatistics.shtml
A gateway to world health statistics
presented by the Office of Global Health Affairs of the U. S. Department
of Health and Human Services. Includes health, nutrition, and population
statistics from the World Bank and UNICEF among others.
|