Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

History: A Guide to Resources

"Pathfinders" are guides to help you get started finding information on a topic. A St. Kate's Reference Librarian has written this guide to help you perform Library research for your structured controversy paper and presentation. It is not meant to be an exhaustive list of resources, but some places to begin your hunt.

Please stop or phone the Reference Desk (651-690-6652) if you have questions or need further assistance.

Contents: Finding Books   |  Reference Works: Online or Print 
Journal ArticlesInternet Sites


Finding Books

Use CLICnet to search for books and videos in the Library at St. Kate's and the other ACTC colleges. When searching CLICnet by Keyword, use and between words.

i.e. women and witchcraft

Library of Congress Classifications for History
If you would like to browse through Reference or the Stacks, use the following call numbers:

D History: General and Old World

D General
DA Great Britain
DB Austria. Hungary. Czechoslovakia
DC France
DD Germany
DE Mediterranean Region - Classical
DF Greece
DG Italy
DH Low Countries: Belgium. Luxemburg
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe
DK Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics. Poland
DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DP Spain. Portugal
DR Balkan Peninsula. Turkey
D Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceania. Australia. New Zealand
DX Gypsies

E-F History: Western Hemisphere

E United States
F U.S. local history. Canada. Latin America

HQ Marriage. the Family. Women


Reference Works (Online)

Oxford Reference Online: History
Here's a great place to find an overview of a subject, or to check a fact. This online, searchable collection of more than 20 high-quality reference books from Oxford University Press includes titles like A Dictionary of British History and The Oxford Companion to United States History.

Oxford Reference Online: Military History
Includes titles such as The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military and The Oxford Companion to World War II.


Reference Works (Print)

All locations will be the St. Catherine's Library Reference Room (St. Paul Campus).

Just a note on using dictionaries and encyclopedias: Dictionaries and encyclopedias are often overlooked as valuable resources. Not only do major disciplinary dictionaries and encyclopedias offer extensive background information on topics, they often include bibliographies. These articles and bibliographies can be used to begin research on a given topic.

To find dictionaries of histories of countries, do a search in CLICnet
SUBJECT: (name of country) history dictionaries.
i.e. Russia history dictionaries

The ABC-CLIO companion to the 1960s counterculture in America
E169.02 H3515 1997
Brief definitions of terms and concepts and biographies of people. Limited bibliographies.
HIST310, HIST325, HIST330, HIST372

Conflict in Northern Ireland: An Encyclopedia
DA990 .U46 E33 1999
Definitions of people, events, and concepts of the conflict in Northern Ireland.
HIST328

Dictionary of American History
E174. D52 1976
This multi-volume set includes extensive background articles on topics in American history as well as a bibliography. NOTE: It was published in 1976, therefore, any history made after that date will not be included (i.e. the Gulf War).
HIST120, HIST130W, HIST310, HIST325, HIST330, HIST340, HIST356, HIST357, HIST365, HIST372

The Dictionary of 20th Century World Politics
JA61.S53 1993
Brief definitions of people, terms, movements, and concepts of 20th century world politics.
HIST106, HIST321, HIST328, HIST354, HIST359, HIST360, HIST361, HIST362

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
D114 D5 1982
Multi-volume set with extensive articles and bibliographies on the Middle Ages.
HIST308, HIST309, HIST320, HIST366, HIST376

Encyclopedia of American Political History
E183.E5 1993
Multi-volume set with extensive and thorough articles and bibliographies.
HIST120, HIST130W, HIST325, HIST340, HIST365, HIST372

Encyclopedia of American Social History (excellent place to start research on American history)
HN57 .E58 1993
Multi-volume set with extensive in-depth articles on broad topics in American social history (i.e. Ethnic and Racial Subcultures). Large bibliographies. Includes concepts such as witchcraft in America, health professions, radical movements, colonial America, etc.).
HIST120, HIST130W, HIST 310, HIST325, HIST330, HIST340, HIST356, HIST357, HIST358, HIST365, HIST366, HIST372

Encyclopedia of Asian History
DS31 .E53 1988
Articles on Asian history.
HIST116, HIST354, HIST355

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
DD290.26 .E53 1999
Brief articles on people, concepts, culture, and events of post-World War II German history and culture.
HIST106, HIST360, HIST362, HIST379

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
F1406 .E53 1996
Articles and bibliographies of people, events, countries, and concepts of Latin American history and culture.
HIST359

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture 2 vols.

E184  .S75 E59 2004

Emphasis on Hispanic and Latino pop culture in the U.S.

Encyclopedia of the American Left
HX86.E58 1998
People and concepts of the American Left. Includes bibliographies.
HIST325, HIST372

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
E45.E53 1993
Multivolume set with extensive articles and bibliographies.
HIST120, HIST130W, HIST325, HIST340, HIST356, HIST357, HIST358, HIST 366

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
E740.7 E53 1996
Multi-volume set with extensive articles and bibliographies.
HIST130W, HIST 310, HIST330, HIST356, HIST357, HIST361, HIST362, HIST365, HIST372

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
HA1127.S25 2001
Short essays on women and concepts of the ancient world. Includes some bibliographies.
HIST366, HIST376

Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
HQ1143.L38 2001
Short essays on women and concepts of the Middle Ages. Includes some bibliographies.
HIST308, HIST309, HIST320, HIST366, HIST376

Europe Since 1945
D1058 .E8754 2001
Articles and bibliographies of people, events, countries, treaties, and concepts or post-World War II Europe.
HIST106, HIST321, HIST328, HIST360, HIST362, HIST379

From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics
HQ1236.5 U6 S32 1999
Multi-volume set includes brief articles and bibliographies on people, terms, and concepts in American politics.
HIST120, HIST356, HIST365

The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
JA61 .O95 2001
Extensive articles on people, concepts, and events or world politics since 1993.
HIST106, HIST321, HIST328, HIST359, HIST362, HIST379

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
HQ 1115.R69 2000
Multi-volume set includes extensive articles and bibliographies on concepts and terms dealing with women in history (i.e. witchcraft, midwifery, nursing, etc).
HIST 120, HIST356, HIST357, HIST385, HIST365, HIST366, HIST376, HIST379

20th Century America
E740.5 .T84 1995
Multivolume encyclopedia of newspaper articles from the Associated Press arranged by decade. These are primary source documents (contemporary articles of major events of the 20th century in America).
HIST 310, HIST330, HIST361, HIST362, HIST365

Women in World History
HQ 1115.W 1999
Multi-volume set includes biographies, some photos, and some bibliographies of individual women throughout world history.
HIST120, HIST349, HIST356, HIST365, HIST376, HIST379

Note: Please remember that Reference Books may not be taken from the Library


Internet Sites

Just a note on using the Internet: The Web is a good place to find information. However, it is also a risky place to find information. When you use any resource from the Web, make sure you have evaluated the author. Ask yourself, "Who wrote this page? What kind of expertise or authority does this person have to write this page?" Without these questions you may use information from the web that is incorrect, invalid, unedited, or misleading. Below are a few links on history topics that have already been checked for authority.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
http://memory.loc.gov/

American Radicalism
http://digital.lib.msu.edu/onlinecolls/collection.cfm?CID=1
Michigan State University

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
http://www.stoa.org/diotima/
University of Kentucky

Early Modern Women Database
http://www.lib.umd.edu/ETC/LOCAL/emw/emw.php3
University of Maryland Libraries

European Middle Ages
http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~dee/MA/MA.HTM
Washington State University

Gateway to African American History
http://usinfo.state.gov/usa/blackhis/
United States Department of State

Historical Text Archive
http://historicaltextarchive.com/index.php
Mississippi State University

The History Channel
http://www.historychannel.com/

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/eastasia/eastasiasbook.html
Fordham University

Museum of Witchcraft
http://www.museumofwitchcraft.com
Boscastle, Cornwall, UK

The Witchcraft Bibliography Project
http://www.hist.unt.edu/witch.htm
UW-Madison and University of North Texas-Denton

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1775-2000
http://womhist.binghamton.edu/
SUNY-Binghamton

Women in American History
http://search.eb.com/women/
Encyclopedia Britannica