Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Immigrants and Refugees: SSCS 2300 Research Guide

This research guide provides a starting point for finding information about immigrants and refugees.  This guides is not meant to be an exhaustive list of resources but some places to begin your search.

If you need assistance with library research or accessing and using any of these resources, contact a Reference Librarian at the Minneapolis Campus Library at 651-690-7898 or 651-690-7780.

Contents:

Immigrant and Refugee Web Pages

Minnesota Immigrants and Refugees
    Somali / Latino / Hmong

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Books: Using CLICnet

Reference Books

See also guides for:

Global Studies Seminar: SSCS 1300

Global Search for Justice


General Internet Resources

American Refugee Committee

Department of Homeland Security Immigration Statistics

The Center for Victims of Torture

Cultural Orientation Resource Center

Human Rights Library from the University of Minnesota: Asylum and Refugee Resources

Migration Policy Institute

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)

Back to Top


Minnesota and Twin Cities Resources

Immigration in Minnesota: Discovering Common Ground from The Minneapolis Foundation (2004)

Minnesota Refugee Health Services from the Minnesota Department of Health

Immigrants in Minnesota: an increasingly diverse population from the Minnesota State Demographic Center (2000)

Immigrants in Minnesota, resources from the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Immigration in Minnesota-Challenges and Opportunities from the League of Women Voters of Minnesota Education Fund (2002)

Minnesota's Population Continues to Become More Diverse from the Department of Administration, Office of Geographic and Demographic Analysis, State of Minnesota (2005)

Speaking for Themselves: A survey of Hispanic, Hmong, Russian, and Somali immigrants in Minneapolis-Saint Paul (2000) from the Wilder Research Center

Faces of Minnesota from the Minnesota Public News Radio provides information about the 2000 U.S. Census

Back to Top


Somali Immigrants

Africans / Somali in Minnesota from Minneapolis Foundation's Immigration in Minnesota

Somali Culture and Customs from the Minnesota Department of Human Rights

Somalis in Minnesota from the Minnesota Public News Radio

The Somali Bantu: Their History and Culture from the Center for Applied Linguistics (scroll down page and download pdf)

Somalia from Middle Eastern Studies Links at the University of Oklahoma

Back to Top


Latino Immigrants

Latinos in Minnesota from the Minneapolis Foundation's Immigration in Minnesota

Chicano/Latinos in Minnesota reports and statistics from Chicano Latino Affairs Council

HACER (Hispanic Advocacy and Community Empowerment through Research) reports and publications on Hispanic people in Minnesota

Back to Top


Hmong Immigrants

Southeast Asia - focus on the Hmong from the Minneapolis Foundation Immigration in Minnesota

The Hmong in Minnesota from Hmong-American Partnership

Lao Family Community of Minnesota

Learn about Hmong

Hmong Cultural Center includes Hmong Links and Resource Center Library

Hmong Studies Internet Research Center

Asian & Pacific Islander Minnesota Profile from the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans

Back to Top


Finding Journal Articles: Online Databases

Here are some of the most useful databases for the study of immigrants and refugees:

Academic Search Premier

An all-purpose academic database covering many disciplines with full-text articles for nearly 4,500 journals.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

Contains full-text documents related to theory and research in international affairs.

Expanded Academic ASAP

A multidisciplinary database; a good starting point for many academic research topics.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides the full text of many news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including national and regional newspapers, wire services, and broadcast transcripts.

PAIS International

Indexes publications about public policy and social issues from 120 countries.

ProQuest Newspapers

Provides full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, as well as 300 other newspapers.

Saint Paul Pioneer Press

The "local" paper for Twin Cities Metro East readers.

Please ask a Reference Librarian to suggest additional databases that might be useful.

To see if the CSC Library has the journal you need, in print or online, use The Periodical Cat. Be sure to compare the issue dates available to those that you need.

Back to Top


Finding Books: Using CLICnet

Use CLICnet to search for books and media in the CSC Library and the seven other CLIC libraries. Use the red "Request buttom to get items not at the CSC Minneapolis Campus Library.

When searching CLICnet by Keyword , use and between words. Some examples of searches follow:

Hmong Americans

Minnesota and Somali


Mexico and immigra* (will find immigration, immigrants, etc.)

Back to Top


Reference Books

Reference books are a good place to start to find background information and overviews on a variety of topics. Reference books (labeled REF) cannot be checked out of the library.


American immigrant cultures: builders of a nation
REF E184 .A1 A63448 1997

Countries and their cultures

REF GN307 .C68 2001


Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
REF E184 .A1 G14 1995


Endangered peoples of the world
Reference call numbers vary 2001


Illegal Immigration: Opposing viewpoints
REF JV6483 .I54 2002

Immigration in America today: an encyclopedia

REF JV6465 .I4754 2006


Immigration: opposing viewpoints
REF JV6483 .I5533 2004


Immigration and illegal aliens: burden or blessing?

REF JV6463 .I5 2005


Migration and immigration: a global view
REF JV603 .M54 2004


Peoples of the world
Reference call numbers vary 1993


Encyclopedia of world cultures
REF GN307 .E53 1991


A profile in Minnesota (The Center for Cross-Cultural Health)
REF RA 418.5 T73

Electronic Reference Book

The New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965

This guide provides "an authoritative account of the most recent surge of immigrants. Twenty thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education and family relations. These are followed by comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin."

 

Back to Top