NAICS codes http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
SIC codes http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html
Standard Industrial Classification Manual REF HF1042 .A55 1987
North American Industry Classification System REF HF1042 .N67 2002
Many business databases and reference books provide information on industries using the federal government's SIC and NAICS codes as access points. These codes can be efficient tools to identify companies in an industry and gather information on them.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) system was created by the federal government in the 1930's to facilitate the collection and comparability of data on business activities.
The SIC divides industry into 11 major divisions such as Agriculture or Retail Trade and each division can be sub-divided further. The NAICS updated the SIC codes and replaced the classification systems of Canada and Mexico at the same time. This revision added new industries such as "electronic shopping" and "internet publishing and broadcasting" and reflects the United States' interest in increasing global markets. Codes can be expanded upto six digits.
A comparison of the SIC and NAICs codes for Telecommunications.
| SIC Code | Categories | Division, Group, Industry |
|---|---|---|
| 48 | Major Group | Communications |
| 481 | Individual Group | Telephone Communications |
| 4812 | Industry | Radiotelephone Communications |
There are 20 sectors in the NAICS and over 1100 industries, many of which did not exist in the 1930's.
| NAICS | Categories | Division, etc. |
|---|---|---|
| 51 | Major Group | Information |
| 517 | Telecommunications | |
| 5172 | Wireless Telecommunications Carriers (except satellite) |
SIC and NAICS codes are used by many business research organizations such as Mergent, RMA's Annual Statements, Ward's Directory of Businesses, etc.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text for nearly 2,500 scholarly journals, trade journals and general business magazines. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 500 market research reports and 3,900 industry reports. The database also includes other sources of full-text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
Find in-depth company profiles on 3 million international companies, including key executives and detailed financial information. Great for research on large companies and their foreign parents and subsidiaries. This module also includes industry reviews/data, RMA ratios, STAT-USA, and other important business data sets.
BizStats.com http://www.bizstats.com
Useful financial ratios, business statistics and benchmarks.
County Business Patterns http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html
State and county economic data by industry by NAICS
Current Industrial Reports - U.S. Census http://www.census.gov/cir/www/
Timely, Accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
ITA Basic Industries http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/bi/
International Trade Administration.
LexisNexis Academic
This database provides information in five areas: News, Business, Legal Research, Medical and Reference. With a few exceptions, all information is full text, including 10K reports. For business information search using the News Form. In the Reference Section, the World Almanac and Book of Facts provide information on company affiliations and brands.
FirstSearch (password required)
Twenty plus databases. Business/Industry is among them.
U.S. Business Reporter http://www.activemedia-guide.com/index.htm
Industry and market research
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.Sector Notebooks http://www.epa.gov/compliance/resources/publications/assistance/sectors/notebooks/
Industry profiles of 33 industries.
Value Line Research Center
Also Ref HG4501.V26
90 Industries and 1700 company profiles, history and investment ratings.
Wall Street Journal
Online full text available through the ProQuest Newspapers database.
ProQuest Newspapers online 1986 on. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, New York Times Historical (1851-2004) and many other newspapers.
St. Paul Pioneer Press online from 1988.
Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios, Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68
Measures of operating performance, liquidity, debt servicing ability, profitability, etc. by SIC.
RMA Annual Statement Studies, Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58
Composite finacial dta organized by SIC
Market Share Reporter, Ref HF 5410 .M35
Annual compliation of reported market share data on companies, products and services. Search by SIC or product.
Mergent Industry Surveys, Ref HG4961.M68
Key financial information, operational data and ratios on approximately 6,000 companies arranged by industry. Allows comparison to each other and measurement against industry standards.
Minnesota Business-to-Business: Sales and Marketing Directory, Ref HC 107 .M6 M613
Minnesota Directory of Manufacturers, Ref HF 5065 .M6 H37
Encyclopedia of American Industries, Ref HC 102.E53 yr.
This work provides detailed information on 461 manufacturing industries and 544 service and non-manufacturing industries. It is especially helpful for individual essays on industry overviews, which cover current conditions, industry leaders, employment and the global market.
US Market Trends and Forecasts, Ref HF 5415.1.U7
This annual publication offers market analysis and forecasting reports based on aggregated statistical data. It is well regarded for its graphs and charts.
Wards Business Directory of US Private and Public Companies, Ref HG 4057.A57
This multi-volume guide provides information on over 114,500 companies in alphabetic, geographic and industry arrangements. It ranks companies by sales within 4-digit SIC and 6-digit NAICS codes as provides rankings and analyses of the industry activity of leading companies.