Investments: a resource
guide
Contents:
Electronic Indexes
Websites
Reference Sources
Videos
Books
CSC
Economics Department home page
The following lists point out some useful resources on investing, both
in the St. Paul Campus Library and on the worldwide web. Please ask a
Reference Librarian for assistance if you need help with any of the resources
here. You can contact us at 651-690-6650 or send
us an email.
About
off-campus access
Electronic Indexes: How to find journal articles
Journal of Economic Literature
Available on the Web via JSTOR,
FirstSearch
(password required) and in print.
A comprehensive index of economics journal articles, books, book reviews,
collective volume articles, working papers, and dissertations in economics.
Fulltext is available from 1969 to three years ago in JSTOR (see below),
in print (St. Paul campus library, Reference Room) 1969 to the latest
issue, and citation only format through FirstSearch.
EBSCO Databases
Three databases of use to those interested in business topics. Plenty
of articles on investing, company profiles, and financial information
with lots of full text.
- Academic
Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly periodicals from many
subject areas
- Business
Source Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including
full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
- MasterFILE
Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database
provides full text for more than 2,050 general periodicals with full
text dating as far back as 1975.
LexisNexis
Academic
Covers general news and business, plus medical, legal, arts and sports,
and foreign language newspapers. Industry and Company information, news
and financials. Includes New York Times, Minneapolis Star-Tribune,
St. Paul Pioneer Press. Wall Street Journal citations and abstracts
are on LexisNexis, BUT the Wall St. Journal fulltext is accessible only
using the Wall Street Journal site listed below.
Wall Street Journal
Online, fulltext is available through the ProQuest
Newspapers database on the Library webpage.
Minneapolis Star Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles
Times newspapers are all available on the ProQuest
Newspapers database from 1986 on on the Library webpage.
Websites
SEC Edgar http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
Electronic filings of public corporations to the Securities and Exchange
Commission from 1994 on. 10Q & K reports.
Investment FAQ http://www.invest-faq.com
MultexInvestor http://marketguide.com/
Free company and industry reports, quotes, news from Reuters and Business
Wire, price charts, stock screening tools, industry, sector and company
rankings.
Path to Investing http://www.pathtoinvesting.org/
Valuable resource for beginning student or investor who want to learn the basics of investing.
Public Register Online
Annual Report Service http://www.annualreportservice.com
Direct links to annual reports for thousands of companies.
Value Line Research Center
Investment survey reports for over 1700 company listed on the major U. S. stock exchanges. Ratings and reports by industry sectors with industry overview. Requires password. (Also in print in the Reference collection.)
American Stock Exchange http://www.amex.com
Bond Market Association
http://www.investinginbonds.com
Brief overview of U.S. Bond Markets, including broad statistics, full-test
research reports and articles and Associated Press releases. Some reports
restricted to members. Gateway to bond market links.
Bonds Online http://www.bonds-online.com
This site covers the U.S. municipal and fixed income markets. Some parts
of the database are by subscription only.
Finance (Yahoo) http://finance.yahoo.com
Particularly useful for historical stock prices (daily, weekly, monthly)
as well as historical figures for major U.S. and international indices.
Frequently
Asked Questions about T-Bills, Notes & Bonds
http://www.publicdebt.treas.gov/sec/secfaq.htm
Information on Treasury bills, notes and bonds and how investors buy or
sell them.
Futures and
Options Resources on the Web http://w3.aces.uiuc.edu/ACE/ofor/resource.htm
An extensive list maintained by the Office of Futures and Options Research
at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champagne
IPO Central http://www.ipocentral.com
Part of Hoover's online, this site provides background on the IPO process,
as well as a directory of filings. A section called "IPOs in registration"
covers companies that have filed with the SEC, but have not yet begun
trading.
Morningstar http://www.morningstar.com
Useful site for stock and mutual fund info with advice for investors ready
to go back into the market.
Mutual Fund Connection
http://www.ici.org/index.html
Home page of the Investment Company Institute, the national association
of the American investment company industry. Provides background reports,
demographics, legislative updates, and statistics. Links to related sites
are listed under "additional online resources".
NASD, National Association
of Securities Dealers http://www.nasd.com
The National Association of Securities Dealers is the largest securities-industry
self-regulatory organization in the United States. Includes downloadable
market statistics as well as various full-text publications.
NASDAQ Stock Exchange http://www.nasdaq.com
New York Stock Exchange http://www.nyse.com
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC) http://www.sec.gov
The SEC was established in 1934 as an independent regulatory agency charged
with administering the federal security laws. The web site provides background
information on the agency's rulemaking and enforcement activities, as
well as forms and the Edgar database.
Reference Sources
The Handbook of Financial Instruments (Reference HF 5681 .F84
H35 2002)
Explores the features of each instrument and explains the risk characteristics,
and the markets in which they trade.
Handbook of Financial Markets (Reference HG 4527 .H25 1986)
Covers the mechanics, market psychology, price behavior market regulation,
etc.
International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market (Reference HG 4551
.I528 1999)
Provides definitions of some 2,000 terms relating to regional and world
stock market practice in current use. Describes the economies and stock
markets of the world.
Investment and Securities Dictionary (Reference HG 4513 .T48 1986)
Summary of terms used in the investment world.
Mergent (Reference HG)
Formerly Moody's. Several series providing extensive and detailed listings
of more than 10,000 U.S. publicly traded companies. Includes Industrial
Manual, Banking & Finance Manual, Bond Record, Industry Surveys, etc.
Mergent's Handbook of Common Stocks (Reference HG4501 .M59 2002)
Basic financial and business information on 950 stocks with high investor
interest.
Morningstar Mutual Funds (Reference HG4530 .M8)
Rating service for mutual funds.
Mutual Fund Factbook (Reference HG 4930 .M85)
Annual publication giving overview of the investment company industry.
Includes features of a mutual fund, regulation and taxation, etc. Published
by Investment Company Industry.
Pocket Investor (Reference HG 4527 .R9 1998)
Essays on investing; A-Z definition of terms used in investing; and appendices
with tables of stock market returns & performances, and investment
formulas.
SEC Annual Report (Reference HG 4556 .U5 A2 yr) Earlier editions
are in the stacks.
Activities and accomplishments of the Securities and Exchange Commission.
Social Investment Almanac (Reference HG 4527 .K525 1992)
Socially responsible investing from the professional's point of view.
Wall Street Words (Reference HG 4513 .S37 1997)
Lexicon of financial products, services and techniques.
Videos
Audiovisual Services, St. Paul campus has the following videos.
Investment Basics CSC AV HG179.I58 1996
Introduces and defines in laymen's terms the many investment options open
to individual investors.
Financial Planning for Women CSC AV HG 179 .F56 1996
Provides financial information for women, including getting started in
investing, finding an advisor, finance terms.
Books
Books on investing can be found on CLICnet
and are shelved in the HG4501-HG5993 area of the collection.
|