Contents:
Indexes to journal articles: Electronic | Print
Reference Resources:
About Reference Books | Acquisitions and Collection Development | Book Awards | Cataloging | Censorship | Children's resources | Copyright | Directories | Encyclopedias & dictionaries | Librarians' Favorites | Libraries & Librarians' Resources | Library Science Programs | Organizations | Reader's Advisory | Serials/Periodicals | Statistics
Use electronic or print indexes to identify journal articles. Once you have a citation, check Journals A to Z to see if St. Kate's owns the journal or has access to it from an online database. If St. Kate's does not own the journal, you can request a copy of the article through interlibrary loan. Please allow 1-2 weeks to process your request.
Print indexes
All print indexes are available in the stack area on the main floor of the St. Paul library.
Information Science Abstracts : (1966-1986) Z 699 .A1 D6
Library and Information Science Abstracts : (1969-1987) Z 671 .L6
Library Literature : (1921-1994) Z 666 .C211
ARBA : American reference books annual. Ref. Z1035.1 .A55
Provides reviews of reference booksGuide to reference books. 11th ed Ref. Z1035.1 .G89
Walford's Guide to Reference Material Ref. Z1035.1 .W33 1989
Acquisitions, Serials, and Collection Development: Departmental Contacts, Policies and Procedures from Infoworks Technology Company: Internet Library for Librarians. www.itcompany.com/inforetriever/acq_dept.htm
Best Books for Academic Libraries
AcqWeb : a directory of selected collection development policies. acqweb.library.vanderbilt.edu/
Choice's outstanding academic books, 1992-1997 : reviews of scholarly titles that every library should own. Ref. Z1035 .C55 1998
Collaborative collection development : a practical guide for your library
Z687.15 .B87 2004
Collection development for a new century in the school library media center
Z675 .S3 L8953 2002
Collection development policies : new directions for changing collections
Z687 .C646 2003
The collection program in schools : concepts, practices, and information sources
Z675 .S3 V334 2001
St. Catherine University Collection Development Policy
Developing an outstanding core collection : a guide for public libraries
Z687.2 .U6 A43 2002
Electronic collection management
Z692 .C65 E42 2000
Law library collection development in the digital age
Z675 .L2 L387 2002
Librarian's Yellow Pages : buyer's guide for purchasing audio-visual supplies, CD-ROMs and software, books and periodicals, library furniture, and more. www.librariansyellowpages.com/
Managing and analyzing your collection : a practical guide for small libraries and school media centers
Z687.2 .U6 D65 2002
Reference Books Bulletin Ref. Z1035 .B7246
The responsive public library: how to develop and market a winning collection
Z716.4 .B25 2002eb. This is an E-book you can read online. See Guide to Using NetLibrary.
Selecting books for the elementary school library media center : a complete guide
Z675 .S3 V336 2000
[Back to top]Children's Book Awards : A "comprehensive guide to English-language children's book awards on the Internet." Includes a complete list of Newbery and Caldecott metal winners. www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/awards.html
The National Book Awards : forty-one years of literary excellence : winners and finalists, 1950-1991. Lower level Z1227 .N38 1992
Cataloger's Reference Shelf
www.tlcdelivers.com/tlc/crs/crs0000.htmSt. Catherine University Libraries, Technical Services Department : links to resources on periodicals, cataloging and authority control, compiled by those who acquire and process materials for the St. Kate's libraries. www.stkate.edu/library/techserv/techserv.html
MIT Libraries Cataloging Oasis The MIT Cataloging Oasis page has been designed to provide many of the "little bits" of information catalogers need on a daily basis. Some of the information is MIT specific since MIT local practices have been documented wherever possible. macfadden.mit.edu:9500/colserv/cat
ALA: Office of Intellectual Freedom
ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights. The goal of the office is to educate librarians and the general public about the nature and importance of intellectual freedom in libraries. ww.ala.org/alaorg/oif/Banned Books Week: ALA
Librarians' quick and easy guide to banned books and Banned Books Week. www.ala.org/bbooksBanned in the U.S.A. : a reference guide to book censorship in schools and public libraries. Ref. Z658.U5 F64
Censorship in America : a reference handbook Ref. Z658.U5 H84 1999
The encyclopedia of censorship. Ref. Z657 .G73
Intellectual freedom : a reference handbook Ref. KF4770.Z9 H3 1992
Intellectual Freedom Manual Ref. Z711.4 .I57 2002
Best books for high school readers (grades 9-12) Ref. Z 1037 .G4816 2004
Children's authors and illustrators : an index to biographical dictionaries. 3rd ed. Ref. Z1037.A1 L2
Children's books in print. Subject guide. Ref. Z1037.A1 C53
The New Press guide to multicultural resources for young readers.
Ref. Z1037 .N57
Reference books for children's collections. Ref. Z1037.1 .R41 1996
Commonsense copyright : a guide for educators and librarians.
Ref. KF2994 .T36 1999Copyright and Intellectual Property: ARL
Association of Research Libraries' collection of documents related to copyright laws and intellectual property in libraries. http://arl.cni.org/scomm/copyright/copyright.htmlThe copyright handbook / How to protect and use written works. Ref. KF 2995 .F53
The copyright primer for librarians and educators Online through CLICnet and Ref. Z649.F35 B78 1995
Libraries and copyright: a guide to copyright laws in the 1990s.
Ref. KF 39030.1 .G37Technology and copyright law : a guidebook for the library, research, and teaching professions. Ref. KF3030.1 .B533 1999
American booktrade directory. 41st ed. Ref. Z 475 .A5
American library directory; a classified list of libraries in the United States and Canada, with personnel and statistical data. Ref. Z 731 .A53
Antiquarian, specialty, and used book sellers : a subject guide and directory : 1993 Ref. Z 286.A55 A57
Directory of special libraries and information centers. Ref. Z 731 .D56
Minnesota Library Directory : a cooperative project of Minnesota's 7 Multitype Library Systems. Search for any Minnesota public, special, academic or school library. Site includes up-to-date listings of job openings in Minnesota and some Wisconsin libraries. mnlibs.org/dir/index.cfm
World guide to libraries. 9th ed. Ref. Z 721 .I63
Encycplopedia of information science and technology. Ref. Z 1006 .E566 (2005)
Five volumes. Covers terms, issues and emerging technologies in entries written by an international team of scholars. An index and table of contents to the entire set is located in each of the five volumes.Encyclopedia of library and information science.
2nd edition, revised and expanded. Contains articles providing overviews of many topics in library and information science. International in scope.Harrod's Librarians' glossary : 9,000 terms used in information management, library science, publishing, the book trades, and archive management. 8th ed. Ref. Z 1006 .H32 1995
International encyclopedia of information and library science
Ref. Z1006 .I57 1997World encyclopedia of library and information services
Ref. Z1006 .W67 1993
Books in print
Available online on Firstsearch (password required)--use St. Paul logon, not the MLIS logon.
Subject and author access to titles currently available; includes publishers' prices. Additional volumes are publisher listing, and books out of print.Library of Congress subject headings / Subject Cataloging Division, Processing Department. 27th ed.
Ready Reference Z695 .L695 2004
Book reviews, title verification & ordering <www.stkate.edu/library/guides/book.html>
Listing prepared by St. Kate's Library staff. Books in Print may also be used for verification and prices.CLIC (Cooperating Libraries in Consortium) Libraries <www.clic.edu/>
Links to the homepages of the member libraries who, with St. Kate's, make up the consortium: Augsburg, Bethel, Concordia, Hamline, Macalester and St. Thomas.CLICnet : the online catalog shared by St. Kate's and 7 other private college libraries. Allows for author, title, and keyword searching. Also allows holds to be placed on books owned by libraries other than St. Kate's (if you are a St. Kate's student). www.stkate.edu/library/connect/catalogs.html
LIS News : News, trends, jobs, stories and commentary from the world of library and information science, but from alternative perspectives. Moderated by and some content written by a "librarian drop-out employed at a dot.com start-up." Worth a look. www.lisnews.com
Libdex <www.libdex.com>
Directory of links to library homepages, Web OPACs, Friends of the Libraries pages, and e-commerce affiliated links.Librarian.net <www.librarian.net>
Not-your-usual collection of resources and links.Library of Congress <www.loc.gov>
Connections to the catalog, Thomas (legislative information), American Memory, Copyright Office, special LOC programs and exhibitions.Metronet : a wealth in formation for librarians and about libraries, especially aimed at Minnesota -- job listings, links to library catalogs and services for children, Web design tools and tutorials, links to the programs and projects of the Minnesota Center for the Books (including a link to the Minnesota Book Awards), info on library listservs, and more. www.metronet.lib.mn.us/index.cfm
Minitex : a library information network program funded through the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (HESO). Its mission is to facilitate resource sharing among libraries in Minnesota, South Dakota and North Dakota. Services include document delivery, maintenance of MULS (the Minnesota Union List of Serials) and training opportunities for information professionals. kinglear.lib.umn.edu/
Minnesota State Law Library : links to the library catalog (PALS) and Minnesota Legal Periodical Index, Minnesota legislation and court opinions, more. www.lawlibrary.state.mn.us
St. Catherine University Master of Library and Information Science Department minerva.stkate.edu/offices/academic/mlis.nsfDirectory of Accredited LIS Programs www.ala.org/alaorg/oa/lisdir.html
Dominican University Graduate School of Library & Information Science, River Forest, IL www.dom.edu/gslis/
LIS Schools on the Internet - links to U.S. and international library science schools. www.itcs.com/topten/libschools.html
American Library Association (ALA) : Site includes membership info and application form, ALA news & announcements, job postings, conference and event info and registration, links to ALA's many units and divisions. www.ala.org
American Society of Information Science (ASIS) : A society for information professional from varied fields, including computer science, librarianship, linguists, management, law and education. Site includes membership and conference info, publications (JASIS), and links to their special interest groups (SIPs). www.asis.org
Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) : Another ALA division, focusing on issues and topics of interest to academic libraries. www.ala.org/acrl.
Minnesota Library Association (MLA) : Local organization; includes membership and conference info, calendar, news, jobs and Legislative updates. www.mnlibraryassociation.org
Public Library Association (PLA) : A division of the ALA. Site includes membership and continuing education info, links to Internet resources for public librarians. www.pla.org
Special Libraries Association (SLA) : A division of ALA that deals with special libraries. www.sla.org
The Reader's adviser. 10th ed. Ref. Z1035 .B7
50 years of notable books. Ref. Z1035.A1 A44
Fiction and nonfiction recommendations, 1944-1995.Reader's Advisory Sources from ALA www.ala.org/rusa/bestbooks.html
Ulrich's international periodicals directory. Ready Reference Z 6941 .U5
Useful for verifying titles, publishers, ISSNs; gives indexing and subscription informationMagazines for libraries. Ref. Z 6941 .M23
Recommendations of core journals by subjectThe serials directory : an international reference book. Ref. Z 6941 .S464
International directory of little magazines & small presses. Ref. Z 6944.L5 D5
ALA survey of librarian salaries 1998. Ref. Z 682.3 .A4
Bowker annual library and book trade almanac. Ref Z731 .A471
Statistical report 1997
Public Library Data Service / prepared by the Public Library Association, a division of the American Library Association. Ref. Z 731 .P937