Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Linguistics

Linguistics is the scientific study of language. This guide provides a starting place for research in the area of linguistics. Please see a librarian for more assistance or call the reference desk at 651-690-6652.


Finding Articles

Suggested databases for linguistics topics

1. JSTOR
2. ProQuest Education Journals
3. EBSCO's Academic Search Premier
4. MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)

5. Communicatioin and Mass Media Complete

6. Project Muse

7. ERIC

Journals A to Z

Journals A to Z is a complete list of print and online journals at St. Kate's.

Print Journals

Print Journals at St. Kate's are shelved in alphabetical order at the St. Paul campus Library. Current three years are located in the Reference Room. Older issues are located in the Lower Level.

Argumentation and advocacy
Canadian Slavonic papers
Classical philology
College English
Comparative literature
English journal
French forum
French review
German quarterly
Hispania
Hispanic review
Human communication research
Journal of linguistics
Language arts
MLN
Modern language journal
Modern philology
Philological quarterly
PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
Review of English studies
Russian review
Semeia
Sign language & linguistics
Sign language studies
Studies in philology
TESOL quarterly

*Journals cannot be checked out. You may make photocopies for 10 cents a page.


Finding Books

Books you can check out

Search CLICnet for books on your topic.

Suggested searches:  
Subject
Linguistics
Keyword
bilingual

Books at St. Kate's are listed as St. Kate's (books you can check out from the St. Paul campus library have a location of St. Kate's Circ. Collection). Books not available at St. Kate's may be requested by clicking on the request button.

Selected Reference Books (located in the Reference Room unless otherwise indicated)

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics

P29 .I58 2003 (4 volumes)

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (available at Oxford Reference Online)

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics

P29 .C65 1997

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics [electronic resource]

Handbook of Semiotics [electronic resource]

 

A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics

P29 .T69 1997

Literary, Rhetorical, and Linguistics Terms Index

P29.5 .U72 1983

Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature

P121 .D45 1991

Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature [electronic resource]

The Atlas of Languages

P106 .L67 1996

Languages of the World [electronic resource]

P 371. K38 2002eb

 

* These reference books cannot be checked out.


Finding Websites

Center for Applied Linguistics
http://www.cal.org/

SIL International: Partners in Language Development
http://www.sil.org/

Linguitics Data Consortuim

http://www.ldc.upenn.edu

The Linguist List Directory of linguistics and language resources
http://www.linguistlist.org/

iLoveLanguages

http://ilovelanguages.com/

Meta-Index of Linguistics Resources

http://nlp.standford.edu/links/linguistics.html

National Association for Bilingual Education
http://www.nabe.org/

Noam Chomsky Archive Articles, lectures, interviews and more
http://www.zmag.org/chomsky/

Language Museum 2000 world languages
http://www.language-museum.com/

lexicool.com Directory of bilingual and multilingual dictionaries
http://www.lexicool.com/

Writing and Citing

Refworks link