Maps & Atlases
|
These Web sites offer
a wealth of physical, political, geographic & historical maps
of the U.S and the World. Some sites also include facts and figures
about countries.
Physical & Political
| Historical & Antique |
 |
Physical
& Political
Atlapedia
Online
<http://www.altapedia.com>
Provides full color physical and political maps of countries of the world,
although maps are not as detailed as in other sources. A more useful feature
may be the "Countries A to Z," containing data on geography,
climate, history, religion, and economy.
Google
Maps
<
http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&tab=wl >
See
maps of specific locations and get directions.
Very similar to Mapquest, allowing
you to create custom maps and driving directions. You also have
the ability to locate places of interest, both general ("cafe in
St. Paul") and specific ("Brewberry's in St Paul").
Google
Earth
<
http://earth.google.com/ >
Fun,
free interactive program that lets you view satellite images of anywhere
on earth. You can save locations and create tags for others to see
and use.
MapQuest
<http://www.mapquest.com>
Features world and U.S. maps plus maps-by-request and driving directions
to destinations of your choice, a trip planner, information on National
parks and scenic drives, topographic and weather maps, and other useful
tools.
Map
Machine @ National Geographic
<http://www.nationalgeographic.com/maps>
Uses interactive windows to present detail of world and theme maps. The
Flags and Facts section has country info. You may also link to NG feature
stories. Looking for a country map to download for a project? Go to Get
More, then Printer Friendly Maps. (Worth a visit,
but be prepared to wait for graphic-intensive page to load.)
MasterFILE
Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database
provides full text for more than 2,050 general periodicals To find Maps,
select the tab for Images, then click the box for Maps.
National
Atlas (Highly recommended!)
<http://www.nationalatlas.gov>
From the U.S. Department of the Interior. Cool interactive site. Build
your own map, downloadle maps, wallmaps to order, plus articles on many
topics (such as environment, climate, people, government, mapping, transportation,
more).
Oxford
Reference Online: World Maps
More than 475 maps, including physical and political maps for each country
Twin
Cities University of Minnesota Campus <http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/>
Pick a spot on either campus and view a map showing its location.
Historical
and Antique Maps
David
Rumsey Map Collection < http://www.davidrumsey.com>
Collection
of 18 th and 19 th century maps covering both North and Sound America.
Minnesota
Historical Society Maps Collection <http://www.mnhs.org/collections/digitalmaps/index.htm>
Historical
maps from the Minnesota Historical Society and the Office of the Secretary
of State, including original land survey maps and atlases.
Library
of Congress: Map Collections 1544-1996 <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html>
Military, environmental and birds-eye views that record the evolution
of American cities. Browse the collections or search the sections by keyword.
Antiquarian
Maps at Reed College <http://web.reed.edu/resources/library/maps>
Historical maps of the U.S. dating back to the 14th and 15th centuries.
|