Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Mathematics: a library resource guide

pyrimid prism

Indexes to journal articles

Please use our mathematics databases page to connect to journal indexes.

 

E-Journals

There are numerous online journals in the fields of mathematics and statistics, too many to list here accurately. Those few listed are free publications, with no subscription or fees required.

Electronic Journal of Probability/Electronic Communications in Probability (covers 1996 to the present).
Published by the University of Washington.

Electronic Transactions on Numerical Analysis (covers 1993 to the present). Published at Kent State University.

Journal of Statistics Education (covers 1993 to the present).
Published by the American Statistical Assn-SIAM Series on Statistics and Applied Probability.


World Wide Web sites

Organizations

American Mathematical Society
Association for Women in Mathmatics
Canadian Mathematical Society
The Mathematical Association of America

College and University Math Departments

Mathematics Virtual Library (Department of Mathematics/ Florida State University) :  links to the Web servers of hundreds of U.S. and international math departments.

Biography and History

Women in Math Web Project:  Extensive site from the University of Oregon, including biographies, publications, statistics, and a wide range of information and opportunities for women in math.

The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive: Published at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.

Biographies of Women Mathematicians:  Compiled at the Agnes Scott College in Atlanta.

Mathematicians of the African Diaspora: African American mathematicians. Created by the Mathematics Department of the State University of New York at Buffalo.

The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences: African Americans in sciences and engineering. Compiled by the Louisiana State University Libraries.

Teaching and Learning Math

Math Archives: includes teaching materials, lesson plans, info about software, and a searchable, full-text database. Award winning site, published at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

The Math Forum: Internet resources, lesson plans, discussion groups; searchable by subject and grade level. Includes the fun Ask Dr. Math resources for teaching K-12 math.

A+ Math: site designed to "help students improve their math skills interactively." Includes a homework helper, game room, worksheets and flash cards that students can create.

Just for Fun

The Grey Labyrinth: Check out the puzzles section.

Native American Geometry: fascinating designs comprised of combinations of geometric shapes.

[Top of Page]


Reference Books

Reference books for mathematics include encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and tables and formulae.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics, 2nd ed. Kiyosi Ito, ed. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1987.  Four volumes. REF. QA 5 .I8313 1987

CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences, 6th ed. William H. Beyer, ed. Boca Raton, FA: CRC Press, 1987.  REF. QA 47 .H324 1987

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae, 30th ed. Daniel Zwillinger, ed. Boca Raton, FA: CRC Press, 1996. REF. QA 47 .M315 1996

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics (via Oxford Reference Online)

A Dictionary of Statistics (via Oxford Reference Online)

A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units (via Oxford Reference Online)

Notable Mathematicians/ From Ancient Times to the Present. Robyn V. Young, ed. Detroit: Gale, 1998. REF. QA 28.N66 1998

Notable Women in Mathematics/ A Biographical Dictionary. Charlene Morrow and Teri Perl, eds. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.  REF. QA 28 .N68  1998


Books

You may want to browse the shelves for math books just to see the range of books owned by St. Catherine Library. The circulating collection is located in the lower level of the library. Books are shelved in Library of Congress call number order. Math books can be found in the QA call number area (see below).

You can also browse the shelves of the CLIC libraries all at once by using the LC Call Number menu in CLICnet. Choose this menu, then type in a call number within the range listed above. The resulting screens will list materials in call number order. This is not an efficient way to find a specific author or title or topic, but it is a good way to get an idea of the selection of materials available to you.

Library of Congress Classifications for Mathematics

QA
5                        Dictionaries and encyclopedias
21-27                 History of mathematics
27.5                   Women in mathematics
71-99                 Instruments & machines (incl. Computers & software)
101-166             Elementary math (incl. basic math concepts for elementary grades)
166.16-274        Algebra
274.42-274.8     Probabilities
275-280             Statistics
297-299             Numerical analysis
297-433             Analysis
440-699             Geometry
801-939             Analytic mechanics
[Top of Page]