Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Title

Health and Medicine -- Resources on the Web

Contents:

Web Site Directories and Metasites
Health Statistics Web Sites
Nursing Web Sites
Occupational and Physical Therapy Web Sites

Additional Reference Sources:
Journal Indexes
Print Reference Sources .. and more!
 

Site Directories and Metasites for Health Information Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources Subject oriented directory of health and medicine internet sites maintained by the University of Iowa's Hardin Health Sciences Library.

Health Finder Coordinated by the US Dept of Health and Human Services to assist consumers in locating reliable health information on the Internet.

Health Web Resources selected by librarians at academic medical centers in the Midwest. The site emphasizes quality information for health professionals and health consumers.

Medical Matrix Founded by a physician, the site selects and ranks resources that are useful in supporting clinical care efforts of health professional.

[Back to top]

Health Statistics Web Sources

Minnesota

MN Health Statistics Report from the MN Department of Health. Contains statewide data on births, abortions, fertility, mortality, marriage, divorce and population.

MN Health Profiles from the MN Department of Health. State and county data including demographics and vital statistics, morbidity, chemical health indicators, environmental health, maternal and child health.

United States

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the U.S. government's principal agency that collects and disseminates health statistics. Many files from NCHS are .pdf (Portable Document Format) files and require Adobe Acrobat Reader. Download the acrobat reader (free) from Adobe. Two very useful NCHS databases are:

Fastats A to Z, a subject index of online statistics.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is the U.S. government agency responsible for managing the Medicare, Medicaid, and Child Health Insurance programs. In addition, the CMS collects and provides data and statistics on health care expenditures, employment and costs. Data is provided in a comma delimited format and is best cut and pasted to a spreadsheet to be read.

Statistics about trends in health care spending, employment and prices

National Health Expenditure Projections presented by type of service delivered and by source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket spending, etc.).

SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results) from the National Cancer Institute provides incidence, survival and mortality data by type of cancer.

Health Statistics from Health Web is an exhaustive list of health statistics resources on the web.

International

Country Health Profiles (including Health Statistics Reports) from the Center for International Health Information provides health statistics for most countries in both text and .pdf formats.

[Back to top]


Alternative and Complementary Medicine Web Sites Alternative Medicine Homepage from the University of Pittsburgh provides internet resources and email discussion lists.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine part of the National Institutes of Health, provides information on alternative/complementary medicine.

[Back to Top]

Nursing Web Sites

Nursing Sites on the WWW a nursing site list compiled by SUNY Buffalo Health Sciences Library staff.

[Back to Top]

Occupational and Physical Therapy Web Sites

 Physical Therapy

APTA (American Physical Therapy Association) provides resources for professionals and students and maintains a list of internet sites.

Health Web-PT a thorough list of physical therapy links.

PTGlobal.net provides a good list of international resources and services for physical therapists/physiotherapists.

Occupational Therapy Resources for Occupational Therapy from St. Catherine University provides a thorough list of occupational therapy internet sites.[Back to top]

Electronic Publications

CancerNet is the National Cancer Institute's research and information service for consumers and health professionals. This site also provides access to the CANCERLIT database.

Health and Medicine in the News maintained by the University of Minnesota's Bio-Medical Library, allows you to search or browse for health related articles appearing in the Star Tribune from May, 1994 to the present.  A similar site at the University of Connecticut Health Center indexes articles from the  New York Times .

HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text) provides full text of AHCPR Clinical Practice Guidelines and NIH Clinical Studies.

Merck Manual Online a web version of the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.

[Back to Top]