Management Information
Systems Research Guide
Contents:
Web-based Indexes to journal articles,
newspapers and industries
Web databases & online reference
Print Indexes & Journals
CSC Business
Administration Department home page
The following are some basic resources in the field of Management
Information Systems and Information Management
Web-based Indexes to journal articles,
newspapers and industries
Business
Source Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,800 scholarly business journals, including
full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage
includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management,
economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. This
database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly
journals dating as far back as 1922. The database also includes other
sources of full-text information, such as country economic reports from
the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles
for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
Academic
Search Premier
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search
Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications,
including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage
spans virtually every area of academic study including social sciences,
humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry,
language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic
studies, and many more.
Coverage: 1975 to present
ScienceDirect
Includes indexing and some fulltext for information management and management
information systems topics.
Web databases & online reference
Business Plans Handbook (Online book) Click: Connect to St. Catherine Access
Ed. Lynn Pearce. Vol. 12. Detroit: Gale, 2007. Contains 20 actual business plans for various small businesses, as well as guidance, considerations and a template for those wishing to develop their own business plans.
FOLDOC Free Online Dictionary
of Computing http://nightflight.com/foldoc
A free searchable dictionary of jargon, programming languages, tools,
architecture, standards, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies,
projects, products, history, etc.
TechWeb http://www.techweb.com/encyclopedia/
Definitions of technology terms and concepts with an emphasis on computer-related
subjects.
Davis, Gordon. The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Management
Information Systems. 1999. CLIC Online Book.
Salehnia, Ali. Ethical Issues of Information Systems. CLIC
Online Book.
Print Indexes, Books & Journals
CLICNET has many books on Management Information Science & Information
Science.
MIS Quarterly: Management Information Systems CSC Periodicals
Publishes research "concerning both the management of information
technology and the use of information technology for managerial and organizational
purposes".
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology REF
Q121.M3
Science encyclopedia covers many aspects of computing and information
technology.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts REF Z 699.A1
D6
Covers the world's literature on information science - theoretical and
practical, technologies, laws, and industries.
Back to top
|