Music research guide
Contents:
- Music databases
- Books, music scores, & sound recordings
- Websites
- Choral & vocal music
- Compact disc reviews
- Ethnomusicology
- Jazz
- Music education
- Music history & musicology
- Opera
- Organizations & associations
- Reference tools
- St. Paul/Minneapolis music scene
Song indexes
- Women in music
- Indexes to music-related websites
See also the St. Kate's Music Department home page.
Books, music scores, & sound recordings
Search CLICnet, our online catalog
Find Sound Recordings
An Introduction to Uniform Titles for Music
Websites
Choral & vocal music
- American Choral Directors Association
- ChoralNet
- From the International Federation for Choral Music
- The Lied and Song Texts Page
- An archive of public-domain texts of art songs. Includes some translations of texts.
Recordings
- allmusic (AMG All-Music Guide)
- Biographies, reviews, recording credits, and essays on classical and popular music
- Gramophone: The Classical Music Website
- Live Music Archive
- Provides recordings high-quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly noncommercial, both for access here and for any further distribution.
Ethnomusicology
Society for Ethnomusicology
Jazz
- The Red Hot Jazz Archive
- A history of jazz before 1930, with streaming audio
- WNUR-FM JazzWeb
- Satchmo.net
- The official site of the Louis Armstrong House and Archives
Music education
- American Orff-Schulwerk Association
- K-12 Resources for Music Educators
- MENC (Music Educators National Conference)
Organization of American Kodály Educators
- Technology Institute for Music Educators
Music history & musicology
- American Memory Collections: Performing Arts at the Library of Congress
- American Music Resource
- Contains bibliographies, lists, Internet links and text files covering all styles of American music
- American Musicological Society
- Classical Net
- Provides information about composers and their works, a classical CD buying guide, bibliographies, sound recording reviews, and more.
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project at UC-Santa Barbara
- Dismuke's Virtual Talking Machine
- This site is devoted to vintage music from the early decades of the 20th Century. All recordings have been transcribed into streaming Real Audio from a collection of 78 RPM discs.
- Golden Pages for Musicologists
- Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection at Johns Hopkins University
- The Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia: Music, Theater and Dance
- A performing arts digital library, formerly known as "I Hear America Singing," featuring scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials at the Library of Congress
- Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digital Mozart Edition
- The musical text and the critical commentary of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausga made freely available to the public for personal study and for educational and classroom use by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum
Opera
- Aria Database
- Provides basic information about more than 1,200 operatic arias, including voice range, synopsis, translations, and MIDI files.
- Operabase
- The Opera Glass
- An opera information server, including performance histories, synopses, libretti, discographies, and pictures.
- Operissimo Concertissimo
- A searchable database of operas, performers, composers, and opera houses
Organizations & associations
- American Choral Directors Association
- American Federation of Musicians
- American Musicological Society
- American Orff-Schulwerk Association
- ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers)
- BMI
- BMI is a music performing rights organization representing more than 100,000 songwriters and composers and 50,000 music publishers with a repertoire of over 2,500,000 works. Includes a song title database and information about music business.
- International Choral Federation
- Music Educators National Conference
- Music Library Association
- Music Publishers Association
- Includes a directory of music publishers and information about copyright
- Organization of American Kodaly Educators
- Society for Ethnomusicology
Reference tools
- Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
- Copyright for Music Librarians from the Music Library Association
- Music Necrology File at Washington University in St. Louis
- Lists death dates and bibliographical references to obituaries for people of interest in music who have died since about 1991
Music in Minneapolis & St. Paul
- American Composers Forum (formerly the Minnesota Composers Forum)
- Chamber Music Society of Minnesota
- Dale Warland Singers
Irish Music and Dance Association
- Minnesota Orchestra
- The Ordway Center for the Performing Arts
- Pepper of Minneapolis
- The division of J.W. Pepper, music distributors, located in Hopkins
- Minnesota Bluegrass and Old Time Music Association
- The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
- The Schubert Club
- Twin Cities Jazz Society
-
Song Indexes
Anoka County Library Songbook Index
Digital Tradition Folk Song Database on the Mudcat Cafe
Index to Arias and Art Songs in Collections (University of Washington)
University of Tennessee's Song Index
An index to songs in our over 1400 song anthologies.
Song Index (Arizona State University)
Women in music
- Women Song Composers: A Listing of Songs Published in the United States and England, ca. 1890-1930
- Includes more than 5,000 titles
- International Alliance for Women in Music
- Society of Music Theory's Committee on the Status of Women
- Women Composers and Women's Music list at Indiana University Music Library
Indexes to music-related websites
- Internet Public Library: Music
-
- Online Resources for Music Scholars from Harvard University
- Worldwide Internet Music Resources from the IU Music Library
- Sibelius Academy
- WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists from the American Musicological Society
- Yahoo