Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Our Top Reference Sources for Music

Encyclopedias | Dictionaries of Terms | Biography | Periodical Indexes
Indexes to Anthologies and Collected Works | Song Indexes | Thematic Catalogs | Bibliographies

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, usually multi-volume sets, include extensive topical and biographical articles. Start here for an overview before diving into your literature search. Check the bibliography at the end of an article for leads on additional sources.

Location Title
Reference
ML100 .N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001).
International in scope. Focus is "mainstream" music history. Articles on composers usually feature a works list. This new edition includes an index.
(available at Oxford Reference Online) Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera.
Reference
ML102 .P66 G84 1998
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (1988).
3rd edition. 8 volumes.
Covers performers, songwriters, genres, organizations, record companies, etc. in pop, rock, metal, country, rhythm and blues, rap, reggae, jazz, ragtime, big band, Latin, folk, and gospel
Reference
ML102 .M88 G3 1994
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (1994).
Focus is on musicals (omits opera, musical film, and television).
Reference
ML100 .G16 1998
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
(1998- )
The first comprehensive encyclopedia for world music. Each volume focuses on a particular continent or region and is accompanied by an audio CD.
Reference
ML105 .I5 1999
International Dictionary of Black Composers (1999). 2 vols.
Reference
ML1100 .C63 1994
The Literature of Chamber Music (1997).
4 volumes.
Reference
ML101 .U6 N48 1986
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music (1986)
The principal reference work for American music.
Reference
ML102 .J3 N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002).
Reference
ML102 .I5 N48 1984
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments and Instrument Makers (1984).
Covers Western and non-Western, historical and modern instruments.
Reference
ML102 .O6 N5 1997
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1997).
4 volumes.
Covers composers, operas, singers, conductors, librettists, terms, history, and technical aspects of opera.
Reference
ML105 .N38 1995
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1995).
Includes about 900 women composers is classical and popular music born before 1959.
Reference
ML100 .S37 2002
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1995).
Includes about 900 women composers is classical and popular music born before 1959.

Reference
ML100 .S37 2002

(Online version available at Oxford Reference Online)

The Oxford Companion to Music (2002).
A single-volume reference to performers, composers, individual works, instruments, notation, forms & genres, and more.
Reference
ML82 .W625 2002
Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia (2002)
A two-volume set that covers prominent women in music, musical genres, gender issues, organizations, professions, and more.

Dictionaries of Musical Terms

Location Title
(available at Oxford Reference Online) The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Reference
ML100 .A64 2003
The Harvard Dictionary of Music (2003).
The standard reference work in English for nonbiographical information. Illustrated. A quick place to find original titles for use in searching CLICnet (e.g., "Magic Flute...See Zauberflöte, Die").
(available at NetLibrary) The NPR Classical Music Companion: Terms and Concepts from A to Z.
Reference
ML109 .F73 1996
Fradkin, Robert A.. The Well-Tempered Announcer: A Pronunciation Guide to Classical Music (1996).

Biography

These are all one-volume works. See also Encyclopedias above for more biographical sources.

Location Title
Reference
ML105 .B16 2001
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (Centennial ed., 2001).
One of the most authoritative sources for basic biographical information. Includes bibliographies and works lists. International in scope. Includes musicians from art music and popular music.
Reference
ML105 .S612 1997
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians (1997).
Reference
ML105 .C75 1992
Contemporary Composers (1992).
Selective biographical dictionary of 500 working composers.
Reference
ML105 .H38 1996
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music (1996).
Includes 5,500 entries for musicians in classical music and in jazz, blues, rock, and pop. Does not include extensive works lists.
Reference
ML106 .G7 W4
International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory (1994).
Includes entries for about 8,000 musicians, musicologists, music critics, managers, publishers, and others (all were living in 1994). Emphasis on Western art music.
http://library.wustl.edu/
units/music/necro/
Music Necrology File from Washington University in St. Louis
Lists death dates and bibliographical references to obituaries for people of interest in music who have died since about 1991.
Reference
ML102 .O6 W37 1992
Oxford Dictionary of Opera (1992).
A good source for concise information about people, places, terms, and works.
(available at Oxford Reference Online) Who's Who in Opera

>Indexes to Periodicals (printed and online)

Use these tools to locate journal articles by subject. See our list of music databases for additional online indexes.

Format Location Title
online EBSCOhost website Music Index Online.
paper Index shelves Music Index.

Indexes to Anthologies, Collected Editions, and Complete Works

Location Title
Reference
ML113 .H55 1997
Hill, George Robert. Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography (1997).
A guide to scholarly anthologies and collected works sets of major composers. Indexes by composer, editor, and title. Entries list contents of individual volumes of a set.
Reference
ML100 .N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001).
Use the works lists for composers to quickly track down which volume of a composer's complete works contain a particular piece.

Song Indexes

Additional song indexes are available on the Web.

Location Title
Reference
ML128.P63 G65 1995
Goodfellow, William. SongCite: An Index to Popular Songs (1995).
Reference
ML128.S3 H4
Havlice, Patricia. Popular Song Index (1975).
Reference
ML128.S3 L4 1989
Lax, Roger. The Great Song Thesaurus (2nd edition,1989)
Reference
ML128.S3 S31 1966
Sears, Minnie. Song Index (1966).

Thematic Catalogs

Ever wonder why radio announcers are always mentioning "Kershel"? See Köchel below. Thematic catalogs list and enumerate a composer's entire output, accompanied by incipits (a musical excerpt, usually the first few measures of the piece). The incipits are handy identifiers. For example, if you have an arrangement of an unknown Bach fugue for woodwind quintet, you could identify the original fugue by consulting a thematic catalog. Good thematic catalogs tell you when a piece was composed, where the autograph score is, and other important facts. Here are a few of our thematic catalogs.

Location Title
Reference
ML134 .B4 K5
Kinsky, Georg. Das Werk Beethovens: thematisch-bibliographisches Verzeichnis seiner sämtlichen vollendeten Kompositionen.
Reference
ML134 .H272 H6
Hoboken, Anthony van. Joseph Haydn: thematisch-bibliographisches Werkverzeichnis.
Reference
ML134 .M9 K55 1965
Köchel, Ludwig. Chronologisch-thematisches Verzeichnis sämtlicher Tonwerke Wolfgang Amade Mozarts.

Other Bibliographies

Location Title
Reference
ML113 .B3 1997
A Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings (1997).