Sales & Marketing Research
Guide
Contents:
Web-based Indexes to journal articles and business
and industry profiles
Websites - Socioeconomic Statistics
Other useful websites
Company Information
Industry Information (Competition & Product)
Includes websites
Reference Books
CSC Business Administration
Department home page
The following points out some of the basic resources in the field of
Sales & Marketing both in the CSC Library and on the World Wide Web
About
off-campus access
Web-based Indexes to journals, newspapers and
trade magazines
Please see our listing of Business
Indexes and Databases
Statistics and Demographics
Twin Cities data: http://www.mnplan.state.mn.us
The demography page of this website provides Minnesota statistics and
links to U.S. Census Bureau.
Minnesota
Household Income for Cities and Counties: http://seta.iastate.edu/county/county.aspx?FIPS=27053&state=MN
Iowa State University Department of Economics Minnesota Profiles
Minnesota
Cities Demographic Profiles: http://govpubs.lib.umn.edu/census/profile_city.phtml
Standard Industrial
Classification Manual Ref HF1042.A55 1987
http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html
Governmental classification of establishments (manufacturing, business,
service, etc.) by type of activity.
Replaced by the NAICS, but still used by a number of publications.
North American
Industry Classification Ref HF1042.N67 1997
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicstab.htm
NAICS codes replaced SIC codes & are used in many research tools as
an access point.
Demographics USA: County Edition REF HF5415.1 D46 2002
Socioeconomic demographics by county with four "Buying Power Indexes"
in retail sales and product sales.
The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics REF HA203 .S66
2003
Demographics for population, households, families, race, income and *spending
potential with projections for 2003/2008 for all U.S. zipcode areas. Excellent
source for income data.
Statistical Abstract
Ref HA202 (latest shelved behind the Reference Desk)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Basic number one compilation of economic, industrial, demographic, etc.
data. Electronic version provides a 'statistics in brief' set of tables.
Census 2000 http://factfinder.census.gov
Demographics data gathered in the 2000 national census.
Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
County and City
Data Book Ref HA202.A36
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html (PDF file - 642 pages)
An extensive collection of county and city data - best place for quick
statistics on specific places in the U.S. Includes entries on demographics,
wages, unemployment, and workers' compensation.
County Business
Patterns Ref HC 107 .M6 U54a
http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html (PDF file)
Annual statistics on the number and size of business establishments by
state, county, industry (NAICS code). Used to analyze market potential,
etc.
State and Metropolitan
Area Data Book Ref HA202.A36
http://www.census.gov/stab/www/smadb.html (PDF file)
Supplement to the Statistical Abstract and a source of data on states
and cities.
Useful websites
American Demographics Online
http://www.demographics.com
Print subscription in the Library. Online version requires login &
password. Magazine for market analysts.
Thomas Register of American Manufactures
(also in print at Ref T12.T6)
http://www.thomasregister.com
Directory of products and services, company profiles and products catalog.
Value Line Investment Survey
Industries and company profiles, history and investment ratings.
Industry Information (Competition &
Product Information)
Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios Ref HF 5681 .R25
T68 1999
Measures of operating performance, liquidity, debt servicing ability,
profitability, etc. by SIC
RMA Annual Statement Studies Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58
Composite financial data organized by SIC
Market Share Reporter Ref HF5410.M35
Annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products,
and services. Search by SIC or product. Sources are listed towards the
back of the volume.
Rand McNally ... Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide Ref
HF1023.R18
Annual publication providing statistics and interpretation of business
data in maps, tables, and charts. Includes transportation and communications
of the world, business activity for states, counties, MSAs and largest
corporations. MSA population projections are given. Newest table is for
Zipcode areas - # households, income, auto registrations, shopping sales
etc.
Mergent Industry Surveys Ref HG4961.M68
Key financial information, operational data and ratios on approximately
6,000 companies arranged by industry. Allows comparison to each other
and measurement against industry standards.
Minnesota Business-to-Business: Sales & Marketing Directory
Ref HC107.M6 M613
Businesses by city, yellow page category; Manufacturers by SIC & City
Minnesota Directory of Manufacturers Ref HF5065.M6H37
Geographic, alphabetical and product listings.
Service Industries U.S.A Ref HD9981.1.S47
Switchboard http://www.switchboard.com
Click on the "find businesses"icon and search for listings of
over 10 million companies in the U.S. Searches can be limited by city
or state.
U.S.Industry & Trade Outlook Ref HC101.U54
U.S. Market Trends & Forecasts Ref 5415.1 .U7
Offers market analysis and forecasting reports on aggregated statistical
data. Lots of charts and graphs.
Ward's Business Directory Ref HG 4057 .A575
8 Volumes. Company profiles for private and public. Organized by SIC,
zipcode, geography and name.
General Reference Books
2002 Working Press of the Nation REF Z 6951 .W6 2002
3 volumes giving information on local newspapers, TV and radio, and newspapers.
American Business Climate & Economic Profiles Ref HC106.8
.A433 1994
Selected MSAs in states, e.g. Minnesota includes Minneapolis-St. Paul,
MN-WI (MSA) population profiles and MSA rankings
Business Organizations, Agencies, and Publications Directory
Ref HF3010.B86
Encyclopedia of Associations REF AS22.E5
Comprehensive guide to U.S. organizations. (An international set also
is held behind the reference desk).
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance REF HF1001 .E467 2001
Alphabetical encyclopedia of business, including marketing
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media REF
Z6951 .A97 2003
5 volume set for media -local newspapers, radio, cable and broadcast.
Includes rates, circulation, local programming, and arbitron markets.
Profiles of America REF HT 123 .P7624 (2003)
3 volume set providing statistical data from the 2000 Census on "every
populated place" in the United States.
Small Business Sourcebook Ref HD2346.U5 S66 1998
Small business profiles including start-up information, associations,
conventions, state listings of small business assistance agencies, etc.
Provides SIC codes for small businesses.
State Rankings Ref HA203.U17
527 tables of state comparisons
Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
Ref HC 110 .C6 1999
Consumption data at the macro level.
To search for books on Sales in CLICNET - The preferred subject heading
in CLICNET is Selling, not Sales. Selling - HF5438 - HF 5439; Marketing
is broader term in CLICNET.
|