Library Resources for Shakespeare Research
Doggerel himself |
Shakespeare
Bardsite |
Look for Shakespeare Resources on the Internet, find Shakespeare Reference Sources in St. Catherine University Library, or learn to search the MLA Bibliography. And always remember to walk unbraced and suck up the humours of the dank morning- Julius Caesar
The MLA database | Internet Links | Reference Books
The MLA Database
Use the MLA International Bibliography of Language and Literature to search for articles and books about Shakespeare and his works. Coverage begins in 1923.
Shakespeare Resources on the Internet
Here cometh a linke to yon website which shall get thee started on Shakespeare Research.
- Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
A guide to Shakespeare Resources on the Internet. Many interesting links, though some are not to be. Comprehensive.
Shakespeare.com
The best and worst of web Shakespeare. A search engine for any word in the complete works, pop-up ads, and a marketplace where you may purchase Shakespeare figurines.
Plays of William Shakespeare
The complete text of all of Willie's plays.
Sonnets and Long Poems of William Shakespeare
The complete text of Willie's sonnets and long poems
-
- Elizabethan Insult Generator
Folger.edu
The Folger Shakespeare library has largest collection of printed works of William Shakespeare in the world.
Bardweb.net/
The Shakespeare resource center is a place to look for Shakespeare links on the web. It has great list about the language of Shakespeare.
Digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.IllusShake
The Illustrated Shakespeare Collection from the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Reference Books on Shakespeare
-
Located in the Reference room of the St. Paul campus library:
- Readers Encyclopedia of Shakespeare
- A convenient reference to persons, places, literary works, and other subjects relevant to Shakespeare. Includes plot summary, stage history,and selected commentary and criticism for each play.
-
REF PR2892.C3 1966
- Shakespeare Companion 1564-1964 by F.E. Halliday
- Brief descriptions of characters from the plays, historical figures of the times, and the people who influenced the Shakespearean canon (e.g. printers, actors, editors, etc.).
- REF PR2892 .H15S 1964
-
- Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare by Marvin Spevack
- A concordance to the modern spelling text of the Riverside Shakespeare. Look up a word here to discover where it can be found in Shakespeare's works (play, act, scene, line). Demonstrates the word in context.
- REF PR2892 .S62 1973
- Shakespeare Concordance by Marvin Spevack
- This 6 volume set provides a separate concordance to each play and for each character.
- REF PR2892 .S6
- Shakespeare Lexicon: A Complete Dictionary by Alexander Schmidt
- Gives definitions and usages from Shakespeare's era for all the words used by Shakespeare, and locates them in his works.
- REF PR2892 .S4 1962
- Shakespeare: an Illustrated Dictionary by Stanley Wells
- Brief dictionary entries. Strong on names of theaters and actors. Has numerous illustrations and photographs.
- REF PR2892 .W4
- Dictionary of Sexual Language and Imagery in Shakespearean and Stuart Literature by Gordon Williams
A three volume set that focuses on the wide variety of sexual imagery in use in Shakespeare's day.
- REF PR2892 .W
- A Dictionary of Shakespeare
- Available at Oxford Reference Online
-
- The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
- Available at Oxford Reference Online
Shakespeare's theatre: a dictionary of his stage context Available online
Dictionary of Shakespeare Available online
Collections of Shakespearean Criticism at St. Catherine University
- The Critical Perspective (the Chelsea House library of Literary Criticism
- Volume 2 contains about 500 pages of articles selected by Harold Bloom as being the most significant 20th Century studies of Shakespeare. An easy place to find a few key articles on a play in a hurry.
- REF PR85.C76 1985 v.2
- Shakespeare Studies: An Annual gathering of Research, Criticism, and Reviews
- Each year the editorial board of this publication selects outstanding articles to reprint. It also provides reviews of significant new books.
- PR2885 .S64
- Shakespeare Survey: an Annual Survey of Shakespeare Studies and Production
- Each volume collects current essays on a particular theme. Recent years have included Shakespeare and politics, Shakespeare and sex, etc. Each volume also includes an essay on current Shakespeare research.
- PR2888 .C3
-
Note: The journal Shakespeare Quarterly publishes an annual World Shakespeare Bibliography which is the most comprehensive listing of articles, play reviews, translations, etc. about the Bard and his works.