St. Catherine University/University of St. Thomas Website for the School of Social Work |
This page is intended to help you locate information related to Social Work in St. Catherine University Library and on the
World Wide Web. Please ask a Reference Librarian if you need assistance with any aspect of library research.
The graduate and undergraduate Social Work programs are offered jointly by St. Catherine University and University of St. Thomas. Students are welcome to use the library facilities of either or both campus, and are provided campus computer accounts from both colleges.
The St. Kate's library's liaison for Social Work is Kathi Rickert. Feel free to contact her by phone (651-690-8738) or e-mail
(kdrickert@stkate.edu) if you have questions or need assistance. You can also use the chat box above.
For assistance at UST's O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library, please contact Jan Orf by phone (651-962-5007) or e-mail
(jmorf@stthomas.edu). Jan also maintains a Web page of Selected Sources for Social Work.
Logging into resources St. Kate's from off-campusAll MSW students are issued campus computer accounts (also called KateWay accounts). These enable access to Library resources from off-campus as well as email accounts and storage on the campus network. Account information can be obtained from the St. Kate's IT Help Desk: phone 651-690-6402 or by email: helpdesk@stkate.edu Whenever prompted to login, use your KateWay username and password. Alternatively, some logins allow MSW students to enter their last name and the barcode from their joint UST/SCU ID card (begins 20516......). For problems using the barcode login, contact Amy Shaw, Systems Librarian, at: amshaw@stkate.edu |
1. First, use a journal index to search for and identify articles that may be useful for your topic. Print a list of the citations you would like.
3. If St. Kate's doesn't own the journal you need, check the holdings of St. Thomas, since you have access to their collections. You can do a search for the title you need right from this page.
3. If neither library owns the title and date you need, you can request it through interlibrary loan, or ILL. Allow 3 to 7 days for
delivery. Online forms are available -- Graduate Social Work students should use the form indicated for them. You can also set up an account and make requests through UST's ILL.
4. If you have a citation and want to find out if we own it, use Journals A to Z. Be sure to compare the dates of issues
available to those that you need.
For help determining which database to use, or for finding the articles once you have the citations,
please consult a reference librarian (651-690-6652).
The Internet sites listed below are launching points for exploring the World Wide Web in the field of Social Work. Most of these
pages have links to many additional sites. You also can use a search engine, such as Google, to search for a topic.
National Association of Social Workers
http://www.naswdc.org/
Official home page of the NASW. Here you'll find the Code of Ethics and other official NASW business.
Minnesota Board of Social Work
http://www.socialwork.state.mn.us/
Website for the board governing social work practice in the state.
University of Minnesota School of Social Work
http://ssw.che.umn.edu/
Links to Web resources
SWAN (Social Work Access Network)
http://www.sc.edu/swan
Collection of links to Internet-based resources for Social Work. SWAN is one of the oldest Social Work sites on the Web, and
still one of the most useful.
Social Work World by Liz Mitchell
http://pages.prodigy.net/lizmitchell/volksware/socialwork.htm
Social worker Mitchell has compiled an interesting collection of links, including products and books, job listing, "just for fun",
balancing life and work, international organizations, more.
George Warren Brown School of Social Work, Washington University, St. Louis, MO
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/websites.html
Fairly impressive set of links to topics of interest to social workers. Site also includes a job listing.
Social Work Sources on the Web by Laura Boyer, California State University/Stanislaus
http://www.library.csustan.edu/lboyer/socwork/contents.htm
Boyer provides a well organized list of links to social work resources and related sites on topics of interest.
Searchable databases
National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information (1965 - )
http://nccanch.acf.hhs.gov/index.cfm
Includes an index to journal articles, legislation, and other materials relating to child abuse and neglect. Includes statistics,
state statutes and prevention advocation.
Web Search
Yahoo! Social Work directory. Yahoo! list of social work sites, including discussion groups and online journals.
Use CLICnet, the online catalog of St. Catherine's and the other CLIC libraries, to find books and audiovisual material on your topic.
Use the Subject or Keyword search options.
If you don't find what you need in CLICnet, try the catalogs of larger research libraries, such as the University of Minnesota.
Our listing of library catalogs contains the U's MnCat and many others.
Reference books provide statistics, biographical information, or short authoritative summaries of topics. Selected reference books for
social work research include the following sources, found in the Reference Room at the St. Kate's St. Paul campus library:
American Social Leaders and Activists. Ref. HV 27 .H345 (2002).
Profiles of about 230 leaders of American social movements (including abolition, voting rights, civil rights, war protesters, consumer and environmental rights, etc.)
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America. Ref. HV 27 .B57 (1986).
Lengthy articles on persons past and provide information of life and contributions to the field of social work.
Child Proverty in America Today. Ref. HV 741 .C4875 (2007). 4 vols.
Essays and statistical data on various aspects of child poverty.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare. Ref. HV 40 .C635 (2008). 4 vols.
Comprehensive source on the profession and practice of social work.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. Ref. HV 12 . E497 (2005).
Covers U.S., Canada and Mexico. Issues include government and social welfare policies and programs, poverty, crime, housing, familiies, health and mental health, race relations, education and social service, labor and employment, more.
Encyclopedia of Social Work. Ref. HV 35 .S6 (2008). 4 vols. (Note: this source is available online through UST)
Provides concise reviews of topics related to the field of social work. Also includes a short biography sections and a guide to directories in social welfare. The St. Kate's Library has the 17-20th editions.
Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ref. HM 17 .E5 (1991). Current sociology encyclopedia is an excellent source for placing terms in the
conceptual framework of past and present society.
Handbook of Social Work Direct Practice. Ref. HV 40 .H2827 (2000). Presents issues and conceptual frameworks of practice as
well as professional concerns such as ethics, education and financial support.
Social Work Almanac. Ref. HV 90 .G53 (1995). Statistical almanac presents data on children, education, crime and delinquency,
health, the elderly, and public welfare issues.
Social Work Dictionary. Ref. HV 12 .B37 (1987) . Short, concise definitions to terms and phrases.
Social Workers' Desk Reference. Ref. HV 40 .S6464 (2002). Extremely useful source for theoretical base, practice skills,
protocols, guidelines, assessment instruments and therapeutic techniques.
Study Guide for ACSW Certification. 5th ed., rev. Ref. HV 11.5 .S88 (2004). 4 vols.
Includes Bachelors, Masters, Advanced Generalist and Clinical Examination booklets.