Spanish Language and Literature

Also use Spanish Search Engines to find more Internet sites in Spanish.

See also:

Spanish Language Databases

Language

Spanish-English Dictionaries and Reference

Búscalo! (Look It Up) : A Quick Reference Guide to Spanish Grammar and Usage. REF PC4112 .C53 1998

Cassell's Contemporary Spanish : A Handbook of Grammar, Current Usage, and Word Power. REF PC4129.E5 P47 1993

The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish or Spanish-English)--via Oxford Reference Online (login required)

Diccionarios.com
http://www.diccionarios.com/
Online dictionary and thesaurus for Spanish language. Also includes translations for Spanish to English, Spanish to French, and Spanish to Catalán.

Latin-American Spanish Dictionary. REF PC4822 .G65 1997

Merriam-Webster's Spanish English Dictionary/ Diccionario español-inglés. REF PC4640 .M47 1998b

NTC's Dictionary of Spanish False Cognates. REF PC4593 .P7 1993

A New Pronouncing Dictionary of the Spanish and English Languages. REF PC4640 .V54 1943

The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish or Spanish-English)--via Oxford Reference Online (login requried)

The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Spanish and English Dictionary. REF PC4629 .O94 1995
Lists terms relating to grouped images. Provides many technical terms.

Oxford Spanish Desk Dictionary. REF PC4640 .O83 2001

Random House Latin American Spanish Dictionary : Spanish-English English-Spanish. REF PC4822 .G65 1997

Streetwise Spanish Dictionary/Thesaurus. REF PC4971. G55 2001

 

Spanish Language Dictionaries and Reference

Diccionario crítico etimológico de la lengua castellano. REF PC4761 .C81D v. 1-4

Enciclopedia del idioma. REF PC4667 .A4 v. 1-3
Standard Spanish language dictionary.

El Castellano
http://www.elcastellano.org/
Information in Spanish about the Spanish language. Includes language guides, dictionaries, word of the day, and a history of the Spanish language.

REACH
http://www.nflc.org/REACH/index.htm
A site for Spanish-speakers, Spanish teachers, and the general public.

Real Academia Española
http://www.rae.es/
The Royal Spanish Academy in Madrid. The purpose of the Academy, founded in 1713, is to maintain the official Spanish (Castilian) language. Includes a history of the Royal Spanish Academy, dictionary, and other language resources. In Spanish.

**Typing Spanish Language Characters on an English Keyboard
http://www.spanishnewyork.com/spanish-characters.html
A commercial website from www.spanishnewyork.com, this page gives the codes for Spanish characters for both Windows and Mac users.


Literature

Latin and South America

Artes e Historia México: Literatura
http://www.arts-history.mx/2001/literatura/
Resources for Spanish language literature information. In Spanish.

Dictionary of Literary Biography. REF PS21 .D5
~ v. 82 Chicano writers. 1st ser.
~v.113
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. 1st ser.
~v.117
20th Century Caribbean and Black African Writers. 1st ser.
~v.122
Chicano writers. 2nd ser.
~v.125
20th Century Caribbean and Black African Writers. 2nd ser.
~v.145
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. 2nd ser.
~v.209
Chicano writers. 3rd ser.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. REF PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Contains entries on writers, works, and topics relating to Latin American literature.

Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. REF PC4071 .W66 1997

Literatura Argentina Contemporánea
http://www.literatura.org/
Source for information on writers from Argentina. In Spanish.

Latin American Writers. REF PQ7081.A1 L37 1989
Includes essays on the life, work, and contribution of authors from Latin America's colonial period through the present.

Masterpieces of Latino Literature. REF PQ7081.A1 M29 1994
Contains plot summaries and critical analyses of 140 works of fiction and non-fiction written by Spanish American, Brazilian, and Chicano authors.

Sololiteratura.com
http://www.sololiteratura.com/
Latin American literature. Includes information on authors and countries. In Spanish.

Spanish American Women Writers : A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. REF PQ7081 .S6 1990

Spain

Dictionary of Literary Biography. REF PS21 .D5
~v.108
20th Century Spanish Poets. 1st ser.
~v.134
20th Century Spanish Poets. 2nd ser.

Enlaces de Literatura en General
http://parnaseo.uv.es/Webs/Literatura.htm
Links for Literature in Spanish. From the University of Valencia website: Parnaseo . Written in Spanish.

Iberian Language and Literature
http://www.library.yale.edu/wess
iberianlanglit.html

Portal for Spanish language web resources. Includes online texts, bibliographies, and language resources.

 

Instituto Cervantes
http://cvc.cervantes.es/
A organization of instructors in 25 cities in Spain. Includes a variety of information on Spanish culture, art, and language. Written in Spanish.

The Literature of Spain in English Translation : A Bibliography. REF PQ6044 .R83 1975
A bibliography of works of Spanish literature (stories and poetry) translated into English. This book was published in 1975, so please be aware that many works of more contemporary authors, or recent translations will not be included in this volume.

 



Spanish Search Engines

Brújula.net
http://www.brujula.com.ar/

Elcano
http://www.elcano.com/

Google español
http://www.google.com/intl/es/

Google Language Tools
http://www.google.com/language_tools?hl=en

Search in English for sites in Spanish. Use the online translator for text. Translate whole webpages.

Grippo
http://www.grippo.com.ar

Ozú
http://www.ozu.es/

Trovator
http://www.trovator.com/

Yahoo en español
http://espanol.yahoo.com/


Find More Books: CLICnet

CLICnet is the online catalog for St. Kate's and the other ACTC schools. You can search by keyword by entering your search terms in the box. You can connect terms using AND, OR, and NOT. Learn more about searching CLICnet. You can also search specific Subjects:

Suggested Subject Searches: Spanish drama Spanish literature
Mexican literature Nicaraguan poetry

Browse

You may want to browse the shelves for Spanish language and literature books just to see the range of books owned by the St. Kate's libraries.

  • Spanish language books can be found in the call numbers PC4001 through PC4977.
  • Spanish literature books can be found in the call numbers PQ6001 through PQ8929.

Works written in Spanish

If you want to find books written in Spanish, select Limit or Sort this search at the top of the results page in CLICnet.

Examples:

 

Search Subject: Spain History
Select Modify this search from the top of the page
Use the pull-down menu under Language to select Spanish
(This limits your previous list to those works under the topic Spain - History, written in Spanish.)