Citation Style Guides

 

Style Help Printable PDF Guides
Guide to APA 6th ed.
APA.org FAQ
Citing APA 6th ed.
Guide to MLA 7th ed.
FAQ About the 7th Edition
Citing MLA 7th ed.
Guides to other citation styles (ASA, AMA, CBE, Chicago, Turabian) Citing CSE
Citing Chicago Style
Citing AMA
Citing Turabian
Citing the Bible
in MLA, APA and Chicago
 
Avoiding Plagiarism Avoiding Plagiarism
More Citation Help
RefWorks (subscription citation builder) Annotated Bibliographies
General Online Citation Help ORLD 6200: Citations for the Leadership: Ethics & Leadership Antholgy
Online library database URLs Many citation styles (such as MLA) require the use of URLs for online Library Databases (such as Academic Search Premier).

 

Please be aware that the most authoritative information will come from the manual of style written for each style.
Consult the manual or your instructor for cases not discussed in the library's handouts.

Get help from the Librarians by stopping by or contacting us.


General Online Citation Help

Healthlinks from University of Washington
http://healthlinks.washington.edu/hsl/styleguides/
Style Guides for AMA, APA, Chicago, MLA, and NLM (National Library of Medicine) from the University of Washington.

Online! From Bedford St. Martin's
http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/citex.html
A source for citing all online material in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CBE styles.

OWL Online Writing Lab
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab. Get help on citing, documentation, formatting, grammar, spelling, punctuation.

Strunk's Elements of Style
http://www.bartleby.com/141/index.html
The complete text of the 1918 edition. While some of the information may be out of date, this source remains a classic handbook.

The Writing Center from UW-Madison: Citing References in Your Paper
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/Documentation.html
Get help with writing the citations for your paper. Includes style guidelines for APSA (American Political Science Association), APA, Chicago/Turabian, CBE, and MLA.

[Back to Top]


URLs for Selected Online Subscription Databases

Use these URLs in citation styles that require the exact web address for databases (such as for MLA style).
EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier, Health Source, and others) http://search.ebscohost.com
InfoTrac (Expanded Academic) http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/clic_stkateps
JSTOR http://www.jstor.org/search
LexisNexis http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic
ProQuest Newspapers and ProQuest Education Journals http://www.il.proquest.com/pqdauto
Project MUSE http://muse.jhu.edu/search
ScienceDirect http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/search/journal

last updated: 3/5/08