Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Title

Fabric and Textiles

Library and Information Sources

Contents: Journal Indexes | Web Sources | Reference Books

Return to FCNS page | Fashion and Design | Costume | Food and Nutrition


World Wide Web Sources

The Web is a rich source of information about this topic. Below are some selected sites -- try using an Internet search engine to find other sites in your interest area.

Metasites

Textiles.com
http://www.textiles.com/
Comprehensive collection of links on fabric, manufacturers, fashion, handspinning and crocheting, quilting and sewing and (for some reason) plastics.

Fabrics

Asian and Indian Traditional Textiles
http://www.traditionaltextiles.com/
Although limited to one collection, this site offers useful text and images. Use the "Select below" pull-down menu at the top of the page.

Fabriclink.com
http://www.fabriclink.com/
Extensive site with educational and consumer info on fabric and fabric care, apparel and home furnishings.

Fabrics.net
http://www.fabrics.net/
Information, resource and referral network. Includes bulletin boards, newsletter and articles, much more. Fun, well-organized site.

Textile Industry

Emerging Textiles.com
http://www.emergingtextiles.com/
"EmergingTextiles.com delivers statistical reports on global textile and apparel trade. Our data are compiled from official sources with additional comments from our editorial staff. We cover fiber prices, textile and apparel markets and trade rules and negotiations" (from the site homepage).

European Apparel and Textile Organisation (EURATEX)
http://www.euratex.org/
Website for information and promotion of the European clothing and textile industry.

The Harvard Center for Textile and Apparel Research (HCTAR)
http://www.hctar.org/
The center "is focused on the the competitive dynamics of the retail-apparel-textile channel -- in particular, how technological innovations are transforming the way retailers plan and order merchandise, and in turn, the way manufacturers forecast demand, plan production, and manufacture and distribute apparel products" (from the site homepage). Includes downloadable research publications.

TextileWorld.com
http://www.textileworld.com/
Business and industry news and events with articles about products, technology and manufacturing.

U.S. Government info

U.S. Department of Commerce Office of Textiles and Apparel (OTEXA)
Statistics and information about exporting and trade in fabrics and apparel.

Quilting

Minnesota Quilters
http://www.mnquilt.org/
Local news and events are featured.

Quilt History
http://www.quilthistory.com/
A project to collection information about dating and preserving quilts, plus bulletin boards and chat. Check out "Member Links" for more quilting Websites.


Reference Books:

These reference sources are found in the Reference Room of St. Kate's St. Paul campus Library.

All About Cotton REF. TS 1582 .P37 (1991)

All About Wool REF. TS 1625 .P37 (1996)

All About Silk REF. TS 1665 .P37 (1992)

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion 3 vols.

Ref. GT 507 .E53 2005

Fabric Glossary REF. TS 1445 .H84 (1996)

Fabric Reference REF. TS 1445 .H85 (2000)

Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles, 7th ed. REF. TS 1309 .F34 (1996)

Textiles in America 1650-1870 REF. TS 1767 .M66 (1984)

Understanding Textiles, 6th ed. REF. TS 1445 .C585 (2001)