Libraries, Media Services, Archives
College of St. Catherine  
St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN   
Library Home Library Hours Ask Us FAQs Search our Site

 

 

Theology Resources

Contents:

Indexes to journal articles | World Wide Web Links
Electronic Reference Books
|
Reference Books


Indexes

About off-campus access

Recommended databases for Religion and Theology

(Restricted to use by St. Kates community members)

Electronic databases and indexes

Print indexes:

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. REF. A13 .C286
Covers 1930 to the present.

New Testament Abstracts. REF. BS410 .N35
Covers 1956 to the present

Old Testament Abstracts. REF. BS410 .O42
Covers 1978 to the present

Religious and Theological Abstracts. REF. BR1 .R286
Covers 1968 to the present


World Wide Web Links

The Internet Web sites listed below are launching points for exploring the huge variety of religious materials on the World Wide Web. All have links to additional sites. You can also search for specific topics using Google, or other search engines.

Don't forget that most recent scholarly religious material is only findable through the databases listed in the section above. Note that many of the sites below have a particular point of view, reflected in the sites to which they link. The list below is arranged to begin with the broad category of general religion, proceed through Christian-focused sites, and end with those most directly related to Roman Catholicism and Orthodoxy.

WWW Virtual Library: Religion Especially good on links to Buddhist Studies.

Yahoo: Religion Links

Over 40,000 links. Drill down in the typical Yahoo fashion.
 
A Guide to Christian Literature on the Net: Links to many texts, especially Bibles and older books discussing the Bible, plus additional biblical issues. Evangelical emphasis
 
Christus Rex: Handy set of links to a variety of Christianity-related web sites
 
Two Thousand Years of Catholic Writings: An excellent page for finding a wide variety of theological web sites

John Ireland Library Links Page : Another set of links to useful sites, arranged in three sections- from most Catholic, to more general theological topics

Notre Dame Universities Virtual Relgion Reference Desk

St. Pachomius Library Orthodox Documents: Key texts of the Orthodox Church

 

The Vatican

The Web Site of the Vatican


Electronic Reference Books

Oxford Reference Online: Religion & Philosophy
Here's a great place to find an overview of a subject, or to check a fact. This online, searchable collection of high-quality reference books from Oxford University Press includes titles like The Oxford Companion to the Bible, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, and A Dictionary of Buddhism.

Theological Reference Books at CSC

All located in the CSC Library Reference Room - arranged in order they are found on the shelf. The Reference Collection contains many more theological, religious, or biblical resources.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Excellent source of scholarly articles on Christian and non-Christian religions.
REF. BL31 .E46 1987
 
The HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion
Written for the general reader, this dictionary offers 3200 brief articles on aspects of many religious traditions, both ancient and contemporary.
REF. BL31 .H37 1995
 
Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Recent encyclopedia of Christian Antiquity.
REF. BR66.5 .D5813 1991
 
Corpus Dictionary of the Western Churches
 A dictionary with entries on the various denominations, their leaders, and their theological concepts.
REF. BR95 .C67 1970
 
Dictionary of Christianity
Brief entries on Christian concepts, theologians, leaders, saints, religious organizations, etc.
REF. BR95 .D48 1996
 
New Dictionary of Theology
A post-Vatican II dictionary of Catholic theology which takes stock of the theological changes brought about by Vatican II
. REF. BR95 .N3 1987
 
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Contains dictionary entries covering all time periods including the early church on theology, religious personalities and movements, history, etc.
REF. BR95 .O8 1997
(You can access an online version of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church at Oxford Reference Online.)

Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
Essays on most major of the central issues of today's Christian thought. A broad range of scholars attempt to present the issues in a balanced manner. REF. BR95 .O94 2000

Dictionary of Theology
Brief explanations, in alphabetical order, of the most important concepts of modern Catholic theology.
REF. BR95 .R313 1981
Sacramentum Mundi: An Encyclopedia of Theology
The central Roman Catholic encyclopedia of contemporary theological developments. Ecumenical treatments. REF. BR95 .S23
Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology
A comprehensive guide to the language of Christian theology, written by distinguished scholars from all Christian faiths.
REF. BR95 .W494 1983
 
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Persons, places, doctrines and practices are covered in layperson's language. Reflects recent scholarship.
REF. BR162.2 .E53 1990
 
Sacramentum Verbi
A Roman Catholic Guide to the Bible and the "truths of faith in their biblical form".

REF. BS440 .B4313 1970

Dictionary of Feminist Theologies                                                                              Defines theological terms as they relate to feminism(s). Provides avenues to further reading.   REF. BT83.55 .D53 1996

Decrees of the Ecumenical Councils
The text of all the decrees of all 21 councils from Nicaea I to Vatican II
. REF. BX825 .A 1990
 
HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism
 A one volume encyclopedia of over 4000 brief articles on significant aspects of Catholicism
.
REF. BX841 .H37 1995
 
Modern Catholic Encyclopedia
Another recent collection of articles on Catholic doctrine, faith, and institutions
. REF. BX841 .M63 1994
 
Encyclicals of John Paul II
Texts of the encyclicals plus a commentary on each
. REF. BX860 1978 .A213
 
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Massive coverage of the teachings, history, organization and activities of the Catholic Church, and on all developments affecting the Church from its beginning to the present
. REF. BX841 .N44 2003
 
Handbook of Catholic Theology
Meaning and significance of the central teachings of the Catholic Church. A recent contribution.

REF. BX1745.5 .L4913 1995
 
New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought
Dictionary covering central themes of current Catholic social thought, especially in connection with the modern social encyclicals
. REF. BX1753 .N497 1994

New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality
A wide-ranging look at the spiritual issues of our times. Authors of the entries are leaders in contemporary spirituality. REF. BX2350.65 .N49 1993


If you have comments or suggestions, send e-mail to Jim Newsome ( jmnewsome@stkate.edu )

[Top of Page]