| Databases and Indexes for articles |
Use CLICnet, the library's catalog, to find books, e-books, theses, and print journals at St. Kate's and other CLIC libraries. Search by title, author, Subject, or Keyword. Ask a librarian for further assistance. See the Guide to CLICnet for more help. Suggested searches:
| Subject: | women-united states; women studies; feminism |
| Keyword: | women and gender; women and international |
The following is a list of possible reference materials that may be useful for research in the area of women's studies. All titles are located in the reference collection and may not be checked out. Use CLICnet or ask a librarian to find more. Located at the St. Paul Campus Library unless otherwise indicated.
People | Gender Studies | History/Art/Lit | Health | Statistics | Race and Ethnicity | Religion | General
People
American Women: Who They Are and How They Live. REF HQ1421.A486 2006
The 100 Most Influential Women. REF CT3202 .F395 1996
Women's Firsts. REF CT3203 .W66 1996
Gender Studies
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender. REF HQ1115 .E52 2001
Battleground : women, gender, and sexuality REF HQ1115 .B38 2008 (MPLS campus)
History/Art/Literature
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory. REF PN98.W64 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America. REF HQ1410 .C85 1996
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art. REF N7793.W65 A66 1998
Oxford Encylcopedia of Women in World History REF HQ1121 .O93 2008
Womanwords: A Dictionary of Words About Women. REF HQ1115 .M546 1992
Health
Our Bodies, Ourselves for the New Century : A Book By and For Women. REF RA778 .N67 1998
The Harvard Guide to Women's Health. REF RA778 .C2163 1996
Statistics
Statistical Handbook on Women in America. REF HQ1420 .T34 1996
Statistical Record of Women Worldwide. REF HQ1150 .S73 1995
Religion
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art. REF N7793.W65 A66 2006
The Dictionary of Feminist Theologies. REF BT83.55 .D53 1996
Race and Ethnicity
Black Women in America REF E185.86 .B542 2005
Writing African American women : An encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color REF PS153.N5 W756 2006
General
Penguin Atlas of Women in the World REF G1046.E1 S4 2003
The Quotable Woman: the first 5,000 years. REF PN6081.5 .Q65 2001
The Woman's Atlas of the United States. REF G1201.E1 G5 1995
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. REF HQ1115 .W645 1989
Women's Studies: A Guide to Information Sources. REF HQ1206 .C37 1990
Listed below are some websites that may be of use for research in the area of Women's Studies. The Internet can be a good source of information, but be sure to check websites for accuracy, currency, and authority. Learn more about Evaluating Resources on the World Wide Web (pdf handout). See also St. Kate's's Women's Studies Department Homepage and the Abigail Quigley McCarthy Center for Women.
Many of the TRW Structured Controversy topics also touch on issues of interest to the area of Women's Studies (such as Women in Combat, Female Genital Mutilation, Glass Ceiling, etc.).