Libraries & Archives

May 01, 2017

Librarian Amy Mars won the ARLD Academic Innovator Award

Congrats, Amy

St. Catherine University Librarian Amy Mars just won the Minnesota Academic Innovators Award from the Academic & Research Libraries Division (ARLD) of the Minnesota Library Association. Congrats, Amy!

This award recognizes academic librarians who have made an outstanding recent contribution to advance the mission of an academic library in Minnesota through an innovative project, program or service.

Amy was nominated by a colleague for her work planning and organizing our campus One Read for Racial Justice.

Here is part of Amy's nomination showing why we're so proud of her and happy that ARLD also thinks what she did was worthy of this award:

After the murder of Philando Castile, my co-worker Amy Mars was incensed. Even though she was educated about racial injustice issues, she now felt she needed to do more to help enact change. Here at St. Kate’s we are very mission-driven and social justice plays a big part. On all degree levels, our mission emphasizes “intellectual inquiry and social teaching” in order to develop “ethical, reflective and socially responsible leaders.” If Amy was going to enact change, she knew she could begin in our St. Kate’s community.

Amy started a year-long initiative, One Read for Racial Justice, to open up conversations about race at St. Kate’s. Centering on the book A Good Time for the Truth: Race in Minnesota, Amy partnered with many people and departments on campus to create discussions around the book, encourage faculty to use it in their classes, design events, and bring in author speakers....Because of Amy’s efforts reaching out to faculty, staff, and students, this One Read has permeated our community, showcasing the library as a strong advocate for racial justice and an active partner in educating students.

Thank you, Amy! This award was well deserved and we appreciate all you do. Congrats!

For more information about the award, visit the ARLD Awards page on the Minnesota Library Association website. Amy's name will be added to the page soon as the 2017 recipient.